State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company Employee Reviews in Tempe, AZ

Found 308 reviews matching the search See all 8,813 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun well structured work place
Claims Specialist (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZDecember 10, 2018
This job was awesome. The people hired were great most of the managers were amazing at their jobs. State Farm as a company really focuses on their values and make sure their workers are in line with those values.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee morale at an all time low
ScrumMaster (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZDecember 8, 2018
Company Policies and Values are not consistent from department to department, especially for Military members.

Benefits are nothing special. Don't expect to take a vacation in the first year. Paid Time Off (PTO) (includes sick time) is accrued at 5.96 hours per pay period for the first 5 years. Employee concerns with PTO are considered a "communication gap" from the CEO.

No work from home allowed on a regular basis, only allowed once and a while. Telework policy was abolished in 2017.

More management work pushed down to employees along with consolidation of roles, but no compensation increase to accommodate for the shift in work.
Pros
Cons can be resolved, but there is not a desire to.
Cons
No Work from Home, PTO policy, Work/Life balance is a thing of the past.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center Redundancy
Claims Associate (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZDecember 2, 2018
State Farm is a good place to work if insurance is your thing. I took this job because California was too expensive. Working in a call center things get redundant. You take the calls and file the claims. Read the same word track etc. It's gets a bit old day after day and it can be hard to consistently be empathetic and on point in customer service. Pay is better than most entry jobs in PHX valley but much lower than other insurance companies. The training is pretty good but it's textbook training and differs greatly than what you're expected to do on the floor. Promotions are spotlighted in training like they give them out like cookies, but that's far from the truth. I would love to have more variety in my work or at least get paid more to deal with the boringness of it. Benefits are good, and there's a good culture there. I just need more money and am looking elsewhere.
Pros
Job culture, can work 4 10s, good PTO
Cons
low pay compared to competitors, redundant work, feel robotic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Career Opportunity
Underwriting Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZDecember 1, 2018
Overall, State Farm provides a wonderful working atmosphere that is fairly relaxed and genuinely interested in assisting its employees achieve their potential, both in work and life. For the right person, there is plenty of career opportunity and management is dedicated to helping employees grow within the company if they wish.
Pros
Relaxed work environment
Cons
Strict time-management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great company to work for, management style and culture is very different.
Fire Underwriter (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZNovember 15, 2018
The job itself was stressful, very demanding and seemed like production numbers are priority over quality. Management is kind of control, I joined as they were offering work from home in the near future and later decided not to offer.
Pros
job security
Cons
stressful environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Representative
Customer Sales/Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZNovember 9, 2018
you take inbound calls from existing and new customers, help set up policies for auto and home/renters.

take payments

make policy changes

you have to be licensed but SF licenses you

strict schedule adherence
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State Farm is a healthy and great organization
Human Resource Manager (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZNovember 9, 2018
The majority of my HR career was with State Farm and I am very thankful for the time spent developing me into the professional I am today. I was provided multiple opportunities to stretch my skill set and learn new areas of HR.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team environment, wonderful managers
Claims Associate - Auto ILR (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZNovember 7, 2018
I have had a great experience with state farm, they are always looking for ways to help you improve and enhance your career. Great perks and benefits.
Pros
great environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but not working full hours
Claims Associate/ Auto ILR (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZOctober 29, 2018
It was a great place to work at until hours started to get cut due to too much growth in the position that I was in. Very fast paced job getting calls back to back. Great location due to it being new buildings
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NOOT the worst term ever
Claims Specialist (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZOctober 25, 2018
NON OPTIONAL OVERTIME FOR OVER A YEAR.. Terrible management. No plans to get you to advance.

No claim stewardship in the complex property. Team environment leads to a culture of kicking the can to the next person down the road.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance
Specialist-Medical Resources (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZOctober 23, 2018
Over the recent years State Farm has taken away a generous bank of sick time from their employees. Now employees only have a limited bank of PTO to use for sick time and vacation time. This to me is unrealistic if the company wants to attract loyal employees. It is almost impossible for parents of small children to build up a decent bank of PTO. This is just one of many changes the company has made in the 5 years I have worked here. Sadly, the company is more worried about metrics than they are about the wellbeing of their employees.
Pros
Opportunities for development
Cons
Metric driven environment, no permanent telecommute offerings, no onsite daycare despite ample space
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
ILR Associate (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZOctober 18, 2018
State Farm will take care of their employees. Always making sure they are okay, positive place to work . Great Experience . I would recommend this place to anyone
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly productive fast paced work environment with great benefits and good pay.
Bank Response Representative (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZOctober 16, 2018
State farm is more a corporate job most all jobs are call center based so if you enjoy a fast paced micro managed environment and communicating with other people constantly on a regular basis this may be the job for you.
Pros
Competitive pay, Pension, 401K, and benifits
Cons
micro managed, office job, and very corporate
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management, great office and opportunities
Auto Claims Specialist (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZOctober 13, 2018
Was great until the CEO changed and culture changed. Work life balance became hard to maintain with mandatory overtime and impossible to reach metrics
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Personal Injury Claim Associate (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZOctober 8, 2018
great place to work. I wish i could have stayed at this job. I learned alot through this company and felt very financially stable working here. I appreciate this company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
CCC Sales Rep (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZSeptember 26, 2018
Love the company and comradery. Great positions for students, night owls and earlier birds. Beautiful campus with a great location. College courses and tuition reimbursement offered.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There are a lot of good people who work for State Farm
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZSeptember 26, 2018
Overall I enjoyed my time with State Farm. The work was fast paced and complex. Opportunities for development were readily available.

Company as a hole is currently going through significant change which has created a stressful and at times difficult environment to work in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay to get your feet wet
Claims Adjuster Bodily Injury Complex (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZSeptember 25, 2018
This company is great to get you the experience you need to get into insurance, but besides that, prepare to not see your family. You are just a number to this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful People
Multiple Positions (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZSeptember 24, 2018
Wonderful co-workers and management. I enjoyed the virtual team environment which allowed me to work with teams across the country and collaborate with talented, experienced people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extensive training and lots of room for growth
Claims-Associate Express (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZSeptember 23, 2018
Statefarm is truly a place that cares for its employees. Depending on the position, the training is extended and gives you a full knowledge of how insurance works. In addition, the benefits are high above standard. Sick pay, paid time off, a special interest banking system is all benefits someone can enjoy when joining Statefarm. In addition, the campus is beautiful and contains many additional extras, such as coffee shops, a gym, lunch/breakfast are all a plus. The standard job can be repetitive since it is a call-center environment, but the room for growth is completely open.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 8,816 reviews
53.3K
42.5K
31.8K
2688
1520

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score
TOP50%
In the Top 50% of similar size companies

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company.

Powered by Comparably