State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company Employee Reviews for Receptionist/Secretary

Found 26 reviews matching the search See all 9,537 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great compensation and benefits.
Secretary/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Rock Hill, SCJanuary 24, 2019
The company has gone through a lot of changes recently, jobs were lost, people had to relocate, retire, or were terminated. Lots of tenured employees are gone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Environment
Secretary/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Chadron, NESeptember 4, 2018
Handle walk-in and answer phones
On the job training
Good management
Workplace had a productive work environment
A lot of computer time
Working with customers
Pros
Laid back work environment
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was productive and not stressful.
Secretary/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  San Angelo, TXAugust 29, 2018
It was a calm and enjoyable work environment. My coworkers treated me with respect and kindness. I was not overwhelmed nor stressed out while working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work soace
Receptionist/Secretary (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 1, 2018
I enjoyed my time at State Farm but I don’t think it’s for anyone other than people wanting to peruse their career in insurance. It’s a lot of work and tests to take in order to work their and be successful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced job, but paid really well.
Receptionist/Secretary (Former Employee) –  Crockett, TXJuly 12, 2018
Was asked it I was interested in being trained as an agent, I was, but was not given the chance. Only wanted me for 6 months until a new agent was trained and purchased the franchise for Crockett. The agent that was temporary did not care about whether I had future employment with the new owner or not. However, was a nice place to work while it lasted. I knew the customers and enjoyed being there to serve them.a
Pros
good pay
Cons
did not last long enough
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like working here
Secretary/Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Akron, OHJanuary 5, 2018
Working here was very easy, I walk in log onto my computer and see the people I needed to call. After I called them I had to write notes that I made a phone call to them. Then I would answer the phones if they rang.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Secretary/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Graham, TXAugust 30, 2017
I loved working at State Farm and the people I worked with! The days flew by and the work was challenging, yet exciting to learn about! I learned a lot at State Farm that I could carry into my adult life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working for State Farm.
Secretary/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Brighton, COAugust 19, 2017
I enjoyed my time working at State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance company. In my time there I learned a lot about insurance and different types of insurance there is.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Secretary/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Winnsboro, TXAugust 7, 2017
The job itself was very laid back and enjoyable. However, the owner and one other agent did not get along. There was a lot of miscommunication which caused a lot of issues with clients and in office workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Secretary/Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 28, 2017
A typical day at work is very smooth not to stressful
I learned banking,filing, etc
Management amazing very helpful
The culture is very diverse
Fun
Pros
Learning new skills
Cons
No time off paid, no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy but sometimes stressful
Receptionist/Secretary (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJanuary 10, 2017
As a receptionist, you don't have much responsibility as long as you come to work every day and stay on task. I only had problems with the agents doing things at the last minute and making my job a little bit harder. Although you don't do a ton of work, you are still busy all day along making sure notes and clients are ready for the agents to take over.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved dealing with the public
Receptionist/Secretary/Loan Officer (Former Employee) –  DeRidder, LADecember 25, 2016
While working for them it was repetitious, no a lot of business, no room for advancement nor were there any benefits with the job. I liked my coworkers and manager. The hours were good.
Pros
Enjoyed the work
Cons
No benefits, not enough pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed learning how to quote insurance rates.
Secretary/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Bridgeton, MODecember 6, 2016
I enjoyed this job for six months when the Federal Government called to offer me a bett paying job. I loved the new learning experience though.
Pros
Learn new job duties.
Cons
I was getting a foundation of this job when I left for a better paying job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable work place with great coworkers
Secretary/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Hollidaysburg, PAAugust 9, 2016
Answer phone calls, take payments, greet customers, bank deposits
Everyone is fantastic to work with, really want to help you grow as a person and help you learn new things.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRoductive, very easy to wrok with
Secretary/receptionist (Former Employee) –  McAlester, OK 74501April 19, 2016
I had a wonderful experience with State Farm, it was a awesome environment, and hands on working. I loved having the customers come in and feel so welcome and loved working with them helping with their needs, and know that I was taking care of their needs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mundane. not alot of challenge.
SECRETARY/RECEPTIONIST (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHNovember 21, 2015
This was a part-time position. My manager was new and unsure of himself. The other employee was great working with!
Enjoyed learning the details of the job, but it was repetitive work, with no challenge
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Not challenging
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place
Receptionist/Secretary (Former Employee) –  Cape Coral, FLSeptember 10, 2015
Typical day , answer phone calls and greetings costumers.

learning a lot ,

very nice ,

not hard time at this job.

Love every minute the work here before
Pros
free lunch
Cons
Not short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment/workplace
Receptionist/Secretary (Former Employee) –  KSAugust 26, 2015
I enjoyed working here, learning basic skills, being around the public. How to interact socially with people when answering phone calls and how to take messages to transfer and get the customer what they needed.
Pros
Meeting people daily.
Cons
Having an unhappy customer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State Farm
Clerical Receptionist / Secretary (Former Employee) –  Elkhart, INMarch 3, 2015
Decided to go to college. Agent needed a full time employee. I liked working there and occasionally I still do fill in when someone is sick.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place wonderful people, everyone works as a team
Secretary/Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCDecember 15, 2014
Come in begin, beginning of day, once finished with that we begin following up on other things that need to be done such as mailing and filing letter.
I have become more efficient in multitasking.
The management is easy going, and makes the work environment but still expects work to be done in a correctly and timely manner.
My co-workers are joyful and makes the work environment enjoyable.
The hardest part of the job is having to continuously "tracking" down customer to receive payments. the most enjoyable part of the job is being surrounded by a people that work as a team and enjoy their and are happy.
Pros
not having to work weekends.
Cons
only being part time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 9,537 reviews
53.5K
42.7K
32K
2756
1599

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company.

Powered by Comparably

State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company Reviews by Location