State of Arizona Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once monthly goals were achieved, then would start on future month
Collector II Specialist (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 18, 2018
While working for the State of Arizona and only goals were to find 8 accounts that qualified to be sued for non-payment of benfits, it could take a week or 3 weeks goals were acheived.
Pros
the benefits were great
Cons
furlow days & layoffs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad if you stay under the radar
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Glendale, AZApril 16, 2018
All upper-management are buddy buddy with each other. You have to get into the "club" or your ignored/messed with. If you can just do your job, and stay under the radar you can have a good career, if not you need to kiss butt.
Pros
benefits
Cons
everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn new things daily, friendly people, tough job
DCS Specialist IV (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 7, 2018
I love this job; however, it takes a toll on a person. Child abuse is a disturbing thing. Even more disturbing is a company that cares more about their numbers and not helping the children.
Pros
Use of company car, tablet, and work cell phone
Cons
cut medical benefits while they raised premiums.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for the State of Arizona
Case Manager II (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 6, 2018
A typical day was going to appointments and making sure all your clients had all the correct services needed. I really enjoyed meeting all the families and the kids were great yet you did have some parents who you did not even want to talk to on the phone because they were just so bothersome. The hardest part of the job was driving every day and going past 5 pm and then trying to flex that time the next day and if you do not flex in the same week you lose that time because they did not pay overtime. The most enjoyable part of the job is when the families said "Thank You" and how the appreciated all your hard work.
Pros
meeting the families
Cons
heavy case load and lots of paperwork
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and challenging place to work
Eligibility Worker (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 5, 2018
I worked for the state as an Eligibility worker for just over a year. The training and job are both very challenging. The supervisors are some of the most positive and supportive people I have ever worked with. I would and have recommended this job to many people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
warehouse worker (keefe)
Teacher Aide (Former Employee) –  Buckeye, AZApril 5, 2018
I would help unload the truck make sure we had the right things that were need to be passed out to the customers. i would help clean the shop in make sure it was clean in safe work place
Pros
a job that you can enjoy doing.
Cons
hard on your back in feet.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workdays
Executive Secretary II to Deputy Director (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 3, 2018
I worked in the Department of Economic Security. Days were very busy, with many phone calls from the public. My coworkers were good to work with, and supervisor was supportive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Human Services (Current Employee) –  Tucson, AZApril 3, 2018
Great Place to Work. Very flexible. The benefits are great. There is plenty of support from upper management. I would recommend anyone to work for the State of Arizona.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfactory
Senior Benefits Specialist (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZApril 2, 2018
I have good co-workers and management is fair. I have worked for two government jobs. The current agency I work for is probably the best or one of the best agencies to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
limited advancement opportunities
Program Service Evaluator III (Current Employee) –  Peoria, AZMarch 29, 2018
Very stressful, poor training, must enjoy working with people and able to learn quickly with minimal assistance, must be knowledgeable with computers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job itself was very easy however, new changed continue to be implemented
Human Service Specialist II/Case Manager (Current Employee) –  ArizonaMarch 27, 2018
State continues to ask so much from employees with the same pay. Job is easy but it can be challenging at moments to meet the criteria whether if it's in our job description and/or clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Tucson, AZMarch 24, 2018
Fast paced environment. High volume of customer transactions. Great benefits and retirement. Good training for new employees. A lot of research and data and sensitive information.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Support System for AZ State Employees
Department of Child Safety Case Manager (Current Employee) –  ArizonaMarch 23, 2018
Not a very good review for the State. Very long work hours without compensation as management looked the other way. Because of the workload you are set up to fail. The State will not hire additional people in their respective depatments even though the work load is so heavy and the expectations are very high.
Pros
Good Benefits
Cons
Management at least in my department would not work with the unit
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Long Term Employment
Legal Secretary II to the Attorney General (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMarch 17, 2018
Worked with a great group of people and in a good division. Feel like we accomplished a lot and did right by your average citizen for the tax dollar.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working with a team
Stationary Engineer II, State Capital Complex (Former Employee) –  Phoenix ArizonaMarch 10, 2018
Clean environment with flexible management freedom to move about to accomplish job takings. Ability to prioritize work schedules and work with a great bunch of people.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
expensive healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Secretary (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMarch 9, 2018
working for the state of Arizona assisting families with a solution to their situations was very rewarding. To see the smiles on the kids involved in the cases made my day.
Pros
Helping families
Cons
Not enough resources
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
waste
Facilities Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZMarch 9, 2018
A sentence of imprisonment constitutes only a deprivation of the basic right to liberty. It does not entail the restriction of other human rights, with the exception of those which are naturally restricted by the very fact of being in prison. Prison reform is necessary to ensure that this principle is respected, the human rights of prisoners protected and their prospects for social reintegration increased, in compliance with relevant international standards and norms.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional
Program Service Evaluator (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMarch 7, 2018
Working for the State of AZ was a learning and humbling experience. I learned the process necessary for public assistance, the patience and hard work eligibility workers go through to feed Arizonians. The hardest part of working for the state was finding the necessary documents for approval. Answers are not always in the policy book and families have different backgrounds and stories. I enjoyed learning the diverse cultures and back stories of the public.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Instructional Specialist (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMarch 6, 2018
Work is in unique environment with at risk youth. Can be difficult at times.
Culture is good and collaboration between departments has made great improvements.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
Program Service Evaluator III (Former Employee) –  Home BasedMarch 6, 2018
I was unhappy with the management and its structure. management never stayed on the same page. it seemed working from home is less communication between supervisor and employee.
Pros
worked at home
Cons
on the phone all day
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at State of Arizona. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 603 reviews
5191
4158
3148
248
158

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.8

2.6Personal Development

3.0Career Opportunities

2.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight