State of Hawaii Employee Reviews

Found 251 reviews matching the search See all 252 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not your average work environment
Utility Worker (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIFebruary 20, 2019
Do not work for them! The pay is not good, along with everything else. No sense of accomplishment present. You're more of a number than an employee. Maybe this will be based on who you know.
Pros
Employment
Cons
Days seem worthless
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and busy.... stressful
Adult Correctional Officer III (Former Employee) –  Kailua, HIJanuary 28, 2019
Management sucks. The State of Hawai'i is all about politics and people who you know. Management lies and try to cover up things. Never trust anyone. Just concentrate on yourself always write reports and always dot your I's and cross your T's.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
No breaks at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
once in a lifetime opportunity
RN Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Kalaupapa Peninsula, HIJanuary 25, 2019
-8 hour day in facility and out in Pt homes in comunity
-learned an amazing amount of history from persons with first hand experience
-union involvement sometimes prohibitive
Pros
amazing environment/
Cons
no ER or urgent care in the settlement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy work place
Warehouse Assistant (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIJanuary 25, 2019
for pretty much the whole day you stay busy hardly get to rest things are always coming in or going out. also sometimes it gets very hostile if people come to work in a bad mood
Pros
free lunch, drinks etc...
Cons
always being yelled at
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours
Janitor and Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIJanuary 11, 2019
Work for them for a short period of time. The management style was cohesive and easy to understand job duties and protocol.
You are expected to work hard for low pay.
You are allowed to create better ways of completing task and input was appreciated in regards to efficiency.
Pros
flexible
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed Atmosphere
Economic Development Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIJanuary 8, 2019
Great place to work. Everyone is very friendly and easy to work with. Location is great - right downtown. Parking is always challenging in Hawaii. Love the department I worked in. I feel like they were really trying to make a difference and a positive environment for small businesses in Hawaii that are wanting to export their products internationally.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Pay and benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working climate, great people
IT, Computer Technician, (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HawaiiJanuary 3, 2019
Awesome place to work, with great people, work came in sporadic increments so there was enough to do most of the time, without being overwhelmed and again the people were wonderful
Pros
good working hours, good breaks, decent work pace
Cons
No benefits due to temp positioning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
judiciary ICSS/HOPE (female)
Judiciary Court Social Services Assistant (Current Employee) –  Honolulu, HIDecember 18, 2018
Working at the Judiciary court has been a wonderful experience. My supervisors as well as fellow co-workers are very nice and supportive, everyone is willing to help and teach you if you don't know. The environment is a very positive one and there is a lot of room for job advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome leadership
Education Specialist IV (Current Employee) –  Honolulu, HIDecember 13, 2018
I've been a part of many organizations (private and public sectors) and I must say--the leadership of this government organization is a step above the rest.

What I find most impressive is the commitment of all leaders who make it a priority to lead and inspire those that they oversee to do the best that they can.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Things are status quo..not much changes...sometimes too political.
Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  ‘Aiea, HIDecember 2, 2018
Have to be self motivated,don’t expect great or new thing to happen. Basically I answer and transfer calls to supervisors to answer public’s questions, enter new establishments into database, process and update renewals for existing establishments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Environment Provided You Pay Attention to Work Politics and Do Not Make Any Waves
IT Support Technician (Current Employee) –  Honolulu, HINovember 27, 2018
Management does not seem interested in making the smart choices. They seem to be content at making their own choices no matter the cost. A lot of the decisions made seem to be based on what serves a small select group of individuals instead of what would help the larger group as a whole.
Pros
Good Stability and Health Benefits
Cons
Other duties as required tends to take over and overshadow main duties
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work schedule
Programmer Analyst (Current Employee) –  Honolulu, HINovember 24, 2018
You have little control of your work schedule from one year to the next. Working three different shifts over a three year period including weekends and holidays.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very entry level secretrial work
Secretary III (Former Employee) –  Honolulu District, HINovember 21, 2018
Work days varied on where assistance was needed.
I learned that everyone has their place and does just that.
Hardest part of the job was being an 89-day hire and unable to stay on full-time, permanent status. Lots of red tape to be recruited for state positions.
Pros
Working as an 89-day hire is helpful to interview for other state positions.
Cons
Work hours not flexible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment!
Legislative Attorney (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HINovember 11, 2018
Enjoy being part of the law-making process in Hawaii. The areas you get exposed to are vast and varied. It crosses all the different types of issues that are coming before the legislature, from water safety, to labor laws, to right to die.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Landscaper/Baker/Cook (Former Employee) –  Oahu Island, HIOctober 11, 2018
Good Character building Room for growth. Supervisors helped everyone reach their full potential.
Good team work from co workers. Need update on tools and machinery.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needed to work overtime to pay all my bills. Overtime was available.
clinical RN 111 (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIOctober 6, 2018
my co-workers that I worked with was the most enjoyable part of my job. The hardest part of my job was not getting enough sleep. A typical noc shift was not all that easy making my clients comfortable during the noc. I felt that I needed more time in my shift to get all the nursing assessments completed before my shift was over.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job is not for everyone. But, if you can handle it, then it's a great fit.
Adult Corrections Officer IV - Sergeant (Former Employee) –  ‘Aiea, HI 96701October 3, 2018
I will always be grateful for my 16 years of experience working at Halawa Correctional Facility. This position forced me to grow in ways that I never imagined. The last seven years of my career were spent as a Sergeant, supervising inmates and ACOs. There is a deep strength that comes from dealing with and managing felons on a daily basis.
Pros
Skill set broadened
Cons
Inmates pose an iminate threat on a daily basis.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Must be able to work independently.
Behavior Health Specialist IV (Current Employee) –  Waipahu, HISeptember 25, 2018
Typical day at work. Checking on students, observations, attending iep's , meetings, consultation, training. Assessments and summaries on student's. Develops and implements behavior goals and objectives in their iep. Work with students k-12.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
40+ Hours/week
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job coach
ASL Job Coach Trainer (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HISeptember 19, 2018
Help deaf people get used to there new job duties by explaining and translating what the boss says to them, helping with easy ways to work instead of making it harder on themselves
Pros
Money
Cons
Frustrating at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant place to work at
Clerk III (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HISeptember 18, 2018
Experienced alot of Traffic terminology, and Court terminology. Very interesting and if I had the chance to go back, I most definitely would. Nice people I've meet and worked with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at State of Hawaii. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 252 reviews
5119
468
348
211
16

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

3.8InHerSight Score

3.4Personal Development

4.3Career Opportunities

3.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight