State of Hawaii Employee Reviews

4.2
Overall rating
Based on 234 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5115
465
341
29
14
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 234 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's Hawai'i
Legislative Aide (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIJune 17, 2018
This Capitol is a beautiful place to work. The building is open air and it makes office life a lot more tolerable. The Legislature itself, not so appealing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cross Train
ACCOUNTANT V (Current Employee) –  Honolulu, HIJune 16, 2018
I learn alot working at State of Hawaii people are very knowledgeable of their jobs.

Our management team model is to make sure everybody is cross train and I find that is very helpful and promotes team work.
Pros
Team work is exellent in our Accounting Department
Cons
I gain too much weigh since we have great pot luck
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment with lots of books.
Library Assistant (Current Employee) –  Keaau, HIJune 10, 2018
Was a fun place to work. Unfortunately I'm not able to continue there. But loved the experience. I will miss some of my coworkers and the perks of working at the library.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Start
Clerical Officer (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIJune 6, 2018
I enjoyed my time with the State as a session worker. My boss was very detailed orientated and set a standard of little to no mistake. It was hard work and very challenging. At first, it was difficult but with extensive training and proper preparation, it was smooth sailing throughout the whole experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting employement and opportunties
Human Service Professional III (Former Employee) –  Wailuku, HIJune 4, 2018
The position allowed and encouraged collaborative and cooperative case management of children and their families. The hardest part of the job was the occasional child deaths.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced work environment
Legislative Aide (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIJune 1, 2018
Work at the Legislature can be overwhelming and stressful but the results of the efforts made in the positions are duly noted and can change the State's future and condition permanently.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging assignments
Probation Officer (Current Employee) –  Kailua-Kona, HIMay 28, 2018
Through time, gained comfortable and professional rapport with management.

Able to maintain professional rapport and respect from the Court system within the Judiciary.
Pros
Able to build rapport with Courts.
Cons
Low ratio of defendants to Probation Officers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Office Assistant IV (Current Employee) –  Honolulu, HIMay 25, 2018
Professional environment and people to work with, always a happy place to come to work on a daily bases. Everyone is fun and respectful to one another.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my coworkers. The public could be dangerous at times.
Income Maintenance Caseworker (Former Employee) –  Hilo, HIMay 23, 2018
Workload was sometimes stressful. Everyone needs to carry a load
equally.
Interviewing clients with mental issues can be challenging. Sometimes the clients would make threats just to have their way.
Pros
Loved the people I worked with.
Cons
Sometimes dangerous environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the pay is not good enough for what they require
Personnel Clerk III (Former Employee) –  Hilo, HIMay 20, 2018
I enjoyed working with the people at the airport and they became like a family to me. The managers in charge were the ones who were unfair and selfish.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport

Want to know more about State of Hawaii?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really chill and cool place to work
Acquisitions Student Helper (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIMay 14, 2018
My friend told me about the opening and I got the job pretty easily, it's a working situation for students in college and high school so it's very flexible. The people that work there are really nice and it's cool to be able to go through the entire library since it's a old building. There are a lot of weird spots.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very manual intensive paper processes. They are slowly trying to change by using more technology. Great vacation and holiday benefits.
Organizational Change Manager (Current Employee) –  Honolulu, HIMay 12, 2018
Learned so much being with the State of Hawaii. Worked with some of the most innovative and motivated people. Love the challenges we faced daily as am always determined to find a solution. I appreciate the importance of working with people that add value to the workplace.
Pros
12 holidays and 13 holidays during election year
Cons
workplace culture is still in the 70's, they love paper - slowly understanding technology can be your friend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely productive with true team work
Legal Document Clerk (Former Employee) –  Wailuku, HIMay 10, 2018
That was the best experience I have ever had. Extremely hands on, team work was amazing. I would accept employment with the State of Hawaii again simplly due to the phenominal experience I gained.
Pros
Fabulous people, excellent benifits, team work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and creative environment working with children
GROUP LEADER (Former Employee) –  Lihue, HIMay 2, 2018
· Responsible for setting the tone for the facility, managing the curriculum, overseeing physical facilities and managing the overall image of the center. While ensuring compliance with all local and federal laws governing child care, both in regard to the physical environment and the staff. I loved being able to help children with their homework and setting up large groups of games for them to play.
Pros
Flexibility with creativeness in activities
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On Big Island
Legal Clerk (Current Employee) –  Kailua-Kona, HI 96740April 30, 2018
Workplace culture is excellent. Time off is the best benefit, but cost of living exceeds the salary. On outer islands, the advancement opportunities are low.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity for advancement
Administrative Support/Secretary II (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIApril 29, 2018
Working for the State, gives you the opportunity to move up the ladder to success. You gain experience and skills for other job opportunity within the State.
Pros
Promotion
Cons
Salary is low in pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great but difficult living.
Senior Project Manager, Lanai Builders (Current Employee) –  Lanai City, HIApril 9, 2018
Quiet place with a difficult and shortage of options for housing and lifestyle choices. Schools are only basic with little prep for advanced learning. Cost is high for what youget.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked with wonderful loving people
Educational Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wailuku, HIApril 4, 2018
The most enjoyable part of the job is the children and co workers. They have so much aloha and working with children and watching them grow daily is heartwarming. Knowing you are helping shape young minds.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
experience
Legislative Aide (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIMarch 27, 2018
great to learn and get experience on how state government is run and the behind the scenes experience.

Makes good connections and felt part of the process in drafting bills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Chemist (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIMarch 22, 2018
great job, great staff and management. great location. low salary.

This is a great place to work. Great staff and management. They have new instruments and technology in the lab that helps a lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at State of Hawaii. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

4.1InHerSight Score

4.0Personal Development

4.2Career Opportunities

4.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight