State of Illinois Employee Reviews

Found 524 reviews matching the search See all 525 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Personal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 13, 2018
Great place to work, was in charge of taking care of client and making sure to help her in all her need like bathing, cooking, eating, changing, and laundry. Client was very nice and always respectful. Much flexibility in the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Personal Care Assistant (PCA) (Former Employee) –  Hennepin, ILAugust 13, 2018
I had short shift, they were always enjoyable. I had an amazing boss and I loved going into work. I never had to work a late night which I really loved. I learned a lot and only wish I could have stayed longer than I had.
Pros
Amazing co-workers
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run
Human Services Caseworker (Former Employee) –  RockfordAugust 11, 2018
Stressful working environment where you are micromanaged and treated like a child. Socializing is frowned upon. You’re expected to sit at your desk and work all day
Pros
Money
Cons
Management, work environment, no room for growth if you’re seniority is low
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast pace employer
Data Entry Clerk (Current Employee) –  Springfield, ILAugust 10, 2018
This was great place to work and very interesting I learned a lot about livestock and how they are raised and breed I also learn how to use the system that events use for state fair
Pros
Discounts
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont work for the state
State Worker (Current Employee) –  SprongfieldAugust 10, 2018
If you want to be promised raises that you wont get, work for the State.
If you want to work for a Governor/boss that hates state workers, work for the state.
If you like to work with incompetent bosses and layers of management that are unqualified political hires; who otherwise would be useless, work for the state
If you want a promised (with empty hands) unsolvemt pension fund that wont be there when you want to retire, work for the state.

If you want to work for the same salary regardless of how hard you work or don't, work for the state.
If you don't like to kiss butt to get promoted, don't work for the State.
If you want to have 6 bosses for 1 worker, work for the State.
Basically if you want a thankless job, WORK FOR THE STATE!!!
Pros
None
Cons
Read the above
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun work place
Clerical (Former Employee) –  Springfield, ILAugust 9, 2018
Greet client and place them in their case workers queue
• Use postage meter machine to stamp and distribute mail
• Open/ stamp mail and disseminate to appropriate case worker
• Transfer of cases in and out of Sangamon county
• Pulled files for overpayment
Pros
advantage of learning things from many different departments.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Union protection
Office Coordinator (Former Employee) –  variousAugust 8, 2018
Many people stay with the state because they fall back on the union to protect them from basic job performance issues. These are the individuals who most likely could not keep a civilian side job.
Pros
stable
Cons
advancement based primarly on senority vs deserving
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's not what you know it's who you know
Human Services Caseworker (Current Employee) –  Hillsboro, ILAugust 3, 2018
I've worked for the state for 25 years. It's very stressful but rewarding. However, poor management allows for people to be singled out and punished for any wrong doings.
Pros
I can help people who need help
Cons
Not what you know - it's who you know
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Legislative Affairs Liaison - DSUPR (Current Employee) –  DHSAugust 1, 2018
The job is high-paced, especially during times when the General Assembly is in session. Work can be rewarding especially when you are helpful in getting a bill sponsored and passed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, low pay
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Aurora, ILJuly 31, 2018
Great benefits, great people, low pay. Dont expect a raise ever because you wont get one. I have worked at IMSA for 3 years now and haven't received a raise yet. Time off is all pro rated and given up front which is awesome.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comment
Human Resources Specialist (Current Employee) –  Aurora, ILJuly 31, 2018
I prefer not to comment at this time other than I was employed with the state of Illinois for 8 years as an HR Specialist primarily performing as a Labor Relations Administrator.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and Productive
IL State Comptroller - Homemaker (Current Employee) –  Springfield, ILJuly 30, 2018
I am a preferred caregiver to someon with medical disabilities and I get paid from the State. I am able to make my own schedule at anytime of any day and my client is not hard to accommodate. Sometimes I wish he can be granted more hours so that I can be around more but I have to work another job to be able to provide for my own family.
I still appreciate being able to be there fro my client when I can.
Pros
Make my own schedule
Cons
not enough paid hours granted.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personal assistant
Home Health Aide (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 29, 2018
It was a really good experience and career training. It was a lot of hard work and requires a lot of attention. Loved working with the clients. They were very pleasant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job Good pay hourly rate increased raises were good.
Caregiver/Personal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago Heights, ILJuly 29, 2018
I loved working as a caregiver/ personal assistant the pay was good. I have no complaints if I didnt have to relocate due to unforseen circumstances I would still be getting paid.
Pros
Good Pay
Cons
Program not offered in Oklahoma
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rigid Atmosphere
Revenue Tax Specialist Trainee (Current Employee) –  Springfield, ILJuly 19, 2018
A typical day at work is very predictable. I've learned a lot via training. Management is mostly friendly. Workplace culture tends to be a bit cold. The hardest part of the job is feeling like you can be let go at any point for any small thing, until you are certified. The most enjoyable part is always knowing exactly what your schedule is.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
HIGHWAY MAINTAINER (Current Employee) –  Milan, ILJuly 15, 2018
The State needs to hire folks who know how to manage people. You have to have people skills in order to be a manager in my opinion.
A person can have years of knowledge on equipment and the various jobs we accomplish, that does not make you a good leader. It is important to know each job we do but one must also be a communicator and follow through.
Pros
Great Bebefits
Cons
Bad managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
child care provider
child care provider (Current Employee) –  Berwyn, ILJuly 14, 2018
i worked for low income families and the illinois state comptroller payed me monthly and the majority of the time payments were 1-2 weeks late due to the budget
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
not enough pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Deputy Director (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 11, 2018
Great benefits and a chance to improve services of the state. personnel and management work well together (for the most part), but heavy union presence creates advantages based heavily on seniority rather than performance. Many of the management positions are outside of the union, but far more vulnerable when new administrations come in (elections - party change).
Pros
Serve People
Cons
Strong employee unions that hamper managerment and the state at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Private home, one resident in apartment.
Caregiver/Personal Assistant (Current Employee) –  Woodstock, ILJuly 10, 2018
Start my work day at 7:30 am and leave when I'm finished with expected and unexpected duties. I am proud of the fact that I am extremely efficient and organized. The hardest part of my job is the heavy lifting and bending that are starting to take a toll on me. My client and I are so familiar with each other, after having been together for 10 years, we work well together. On average, I would say it takes me about 4-5 hours to complete a day. I have learned a long list of medical knowledge in this time.
Pros
The feeling of accomplishment and satisfaction, having helped someone in need.
Cons
The Job is taking a toll on me physically. Getting harder to handle.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Division of Child Welfare for the State of Illinois
Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 7, 2018
Excellent opportunity to provide Mental Health and other Social Services for the families of Illinois. Job advancement and socially responsible work towards making sure that families and kids remain safe. Great salary advancement and benefits.
Pros
Benefits, Schooling and Promotion to Management
Cons
Working with at risk situations and clients
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at State of Illinois. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 525 reviews
5202
4151
3111
230
131

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

3.1InHerSight Score

2.8Personal Development

3.7Career Opportunities

3.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight