State of Illinois Employee Reviews

Found 399 reviews matching the search See all 400 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State of Illinois Job
Revenue Auditor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 13, 2018
The training is inadequate in Springfield Illinois for you to apply the knowledge to the real life field audit that you are assigned to. You are really left alone with your mentor to figure things out and sometimes if you have a good mentor, things could work out for you. The hardest part of the job is that the State does not consider where you live when assigning the audits. The audit can be on average 40 miles or even 100 plus miles away where you live where you are left to struggle to commute to these places. If you have a manager who doesn't care with your struggle then your life gets even harder.
Pros
You do get a lot of resources and information to learn about
Cons
Don't give a consideration about where you live when assigning the audits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supervise inmates
Correctional Officer (Current Employee) –  Kewanee, ILOctober 2, 2018
I supervised inmates on a daily basis.I would have to respond to any fights that happened, I would stay with the inmates all shift. Once in a while I would take inmates to court.
Pros
benefits
Cons
risk of getting hurt
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent working conditions
Live-in caregiver (Current Employee) –  Aviston, ILSeptember 25, 2018
I work for a quadriplegic gentleman as a personal care assistant. I bathe, dress, and groom him. I cook, clean, do laundry and run errands for him. He a is such kind and compassionate man, and an inspiration. He has become one of my best friends.
Pros
Live-in care giver
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Human Resources Specialist (Former Employee) –  Springfield, ILSeptember 19, 2018
Worked a 8.5 hour day off every Friday. Graded application and evaluating applicants qualifications for position applied. Spent time corresponding with applicants who were deemed not qualified...explaining the qualification and experience that they were lacking. Worked with all agencies helping them get qualified applicants.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
highway maintenance and repair. A GREAT CAREER!!!
Highway Maintainer (Snowbird) (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 19, 2018
Maintenance, cleaning and repairs of Illinois roadways. Snow removal and bridge and overpass maintenance. A lot of great coworkers and machinery to work with.
Pros
Driving the trucks, snow removal and working on the expressways
Cons
no offers for full time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like the idea of taking care of people I do it all the time I have 2 boys ages 27 and 14
Personal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 17, 2018
It gives you a great sense of pride that you are person that has to care for some one in need the person I was careing for was heavily medicated all the time and when I left they didn’t help to get another job besides that I love the job I hope to do it again when u care for someone else you can appreciate that life isn’t that bad in my life so caring for someone makes you humble
Pros
Helping
Cons
No security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Mental Health Technician (Former Employee) –  Forest Park, ILSeptember 7, 2018
Some days are more challenging than others. It is a great place to work when trying to support families. The benefits offered are motivational. The hardest part of the job is being mandated to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive equal pay for male and female
Bank Examiner, Trust (Former Employee) –  Springfield, ILSeptember 5, 2018
Working after hours to assure doing the best job. I discovered that you can learn a lot by research and teaching yourself. Having a to do list to document your task is a huge advantage.
Pros
Plenty of work
Cons
Staff shortage
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very attentive and Conscientious environment
Caregiver (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 29, 2018
• Home health care of elderly person,
• Provided assistance with daily needs as well as monitoring health related issues
• Administered all medicines as dictated by Physicians
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personal Assistant
Personal Assistant/CNA (Current Employee) –  Pekin ILAugust 25, 2018
It is a fantastic place to work for.. I loved working everyday. I truly loved going to work. I learned a Lot from my consumers. I taught them a lot as well. The benefits were amazing . The tuition reimbursement is great, as well.
Pros
Benefits, flexible schedules.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Politically Charged Environment
Quality Control Reviewer (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 14, 2018
The benefits and paid holidays are great. However, the environment is politically charged, it is who you know and not what you know. The state of Illinois has incompetent leadership in many of its department. Also, the environment is very cliquish and unprofessional. The hardest part is the subordinates are not held to learning and performing their job prior to certification. A typical day is the subordinates are allowed to dictate to managers whether they will or not comply with direct orders, and are backed up by upper management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Personal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 13, 2018
Great place to work, was in charge of taking care of client and making sure to help her in all her need like bathing, cooking, eating, changing, and laundry. Client was very nice and always respectful. Much flexibility in the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Personal Care Assistant (PCA) (Former Employee) –  Hennepin, ILAugust 13, 2018
I had short shift, they were always enjoyable. I had an amazing boss and I loved going into work. I never had to work a late night which I really loved. I learned a lot and only wish I could have stayed longer than I had.
Pros
Amazing co-workers
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run
Human Services Caseworker (Former Employee) –  RockfordAugust 11, 2018
Stressful working environment where you are micromanaged and treated like a child. Socializing is frowned upon. You’re expected to sit at your desk and work all day
Pros
Money
Cons
Management, work environment, no room for growth if you’re seniority is low
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast pace employer
Data Entry Clerk (Current Employee) –  Springfield, ILAugust 10, 2018
This was great place to work and very interesting I learned a lot about livestock and how they are raised and breed I also learn how to use the system that events use for state fair
Pros
Discounts
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont work for the state
State Worker (Current Employee) –  SprongfieldAugust 10, 2018
If you want to be promised raises that you wont get, work for the State.
If you want to work for a Governor/boss that hates state workers, work for the state.
If you like to work with incompetent bosses and layers of management that are unqualified political hires; who otherwise would be useless, work for the state
If you want a promised (with empty hands) unsolvemt pension fund that wont be there when you want to retire, work for the state.

If you want to work for the same salary regardless of how hard you work or don't, work for the state.
If you don't like to kiss butt to get promoted, don't work for the State.
If you want to have 6 bosses for 1 worker, work for the State.
Basically if you want a thankless job, WORK FOR THE STATE!!!
Pros
None
Cons
Read the above
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun work place
Clerical (Former Employee) –  Springfield, ILAugust 9, 2018
Greet client and place them in their case workers queue
• Use postage meter machine to stamp and distribute mail
• Open/ stamp mail and disseminate to appropriate case worker
• Transfer of cases in and out of Sangamon county
• Pulled files for overpayment
Pros
advantage of learning things from many different departments.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Union protection
Office Coordinator (Former Employee) –  variousAugust 8, 2018
Many people stay with the state because they fall back on the union to protect them from basic job performance issues. These are the individuals who most likely could not keep a civilian side job.
Pros
stable
Cons
advancement based primarly on senority vs deserving
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's not what you know it's who you know
Human Services Caseworker (Current Employee) –  Hillsboro, ILAugust 3, 2018
I've worked for the state for 25 years. It's very stressful but rewarding. However, poor management allows for people to be singled out and punished for any wrong doings.
Pros
I can help people who need help
Cons
Not what you know - it's who you know
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Legislative Affairs Liaison - DSUPR (Current Employee) –  DHSAugust 1, 2018
The job is high-paced, especially during times when the General Assembly is in session. Work can be rewarding especially when you are helpful in getting a bill sponsored and passed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at State of Illinois. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 400 reviews
5148
4116
390
224
122

See reviews about

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Women's ratings

4.0Fairygodboss Score

100%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

100%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss