State of Michigan Employee Reviews

Found 1,119 reviews matching the search See all 1,121 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
every busy
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Ypsilanti, MIJanuary 15, 2019
I would at the state prison as a janitor .working with the public and being around other prisoners. very fast pase, and always doing something to stay busy
Pros
being with the prublic
Cons
stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
Corrections officer (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MIJanuary 8, 2019
Highly stressful environment. Was once a coveted job but not anymore. The pay and benefits aren't what they once were but are still better than most for now but the state is steadily taking away all incentives to work for the mdoc.
Pros
paid lunch
Cons
negitive atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SOS Iron Mountain
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Iron Mountain, MIJanuary 7, 2019
Terrible place to work, we're not nice to the customer, we're not nice to me. I learned the job faster than many others and was treated bad because I wasn't stuck up towards the public.
Pros
It was a job
Cons
The way they treat people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
in home health care
In Home Health Care (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MIJanuary 7, 2019
I took care of my dad as an in home health care attendant.. not much interactions with the company as a whole. Very hard to reach any one on the phone.
Pros
no actually person to report to
Cons
hard to reach someone in authority/ in the know
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, stressful, but great supervision
Protective Services Worker (Former Employee) –  Battle Creek, MIJanuary 5, 2019
Very fast paced. Must be able to work independently for the most part. Job is stressful, but rewarding. Supervision is helpful and willing to work with you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A workplace that demanded officers and supervisors working together.
Corrections Officer (Former Employee) –  Ionia, MIJanuary 5, 2019
Daily overseeing hundreds of inmates. Learned to work with and sometimes depend on fellow workers and supervisors. Workplace could become intense. Hardest part of the job was dealing with unruly inmates. Best part of the job was the friendships developed with coworkers.
Pros
Steady employment
Cons
Constantly being in contact with convicted felons
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a job for someone who really wants to work hard.
Secretary of State (Former Employee) –  Jackson, MIJanuary 3, 2019
All business. Worked to serve customers and make sure they were able to transact their business as quickly as possible. Processed transactions for driver licenses as well as vehicle title and registrations and other related business. Processed paperwork for car dealers as well.
Pros
Good hourly pay rate and benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay in your lane
Michigan Department of Corrections (Current Employee) –  Adrian, MIJanuary 2, 2019
Do your job, mind your own business and don't falsify anything. This is a good job but the integrity of officers is constantly questioned in regards to that of inmates. We are not the bad guys.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Driving Distance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Care for terminal parents,
Direct care Staff (Former Employee) –  Coldwater, MIJanuary 2, 2019
FAIR, but GOOD home CARE FOR terminal ill PARENTS,
WAGES were min wage or lower,
position was monitored THRU the -MI. Dept. Of Human Serv. -ADULT SERVICES office.
Pros
Family orentated
Cons
Wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Whatever
Family Independence Specialist (Current Employee) –  Wayne, MIJanuary 1, 2019
There are many changes that have come about with working with the SOM which will greatly impact state employees. I don't care to say anything more about working with the SOM.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Unemployment Insurance Examiner (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MIDecember 27, 2018
Good place to work for. Had no problems with this company at all. Somewhat stressful environment though. Paid holidays and time off which was very nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Regular work duties dealing with large group
Housing Unit Porter (Former Employee) –  Kingsley, MIDecember 26, 2018
Work schedule was regular although some overtime was available when openings were not filled as quickly as they materialized. Was given the opportunity to become responsible for cleaning supplies and their being available when needed. Learned that when necessary to step-up for a better result due to another's failing to do their job, I was appreciated outwardly by my supervisor and moved to a position of responsibility.
Pros
Ability to move up and obtain authority within the facility.
Cons
Pay was set by the state many years ago and not altered to growing need.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and Productive
In-home Caregiver (Former Employee) –  Leslie, MIDecember 23, 2018
When I worked as a Caregiver, my supervisor and the one I took care of he made sure that I needed anything at any time while I was employed with him during my time there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ocf
Employment Counselor (Former Employee) –  Marenisco, MIDecember 19, 2018
Ojibway Correctional Facility (OCF) was a wonderful place to work. The staff I worked with, were unbelievable and I miss them very much. The MDOC administration however, is not greatest. Other than the administration, the MDOC is not a bad company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relax take your time with clients
Home Care Attendant (Current Employee) –  Pontiac, MIDecember 17, 2018
Make your own hours. You get paid a salary a month .Get as many clients you want. Start your own company if you want to have employees. Meet three to four days a week four to five hours a day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my workday
Unemployment Insurance Examiner (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIDecember 17, 2018
process restitution and fraud cases, work Mon - Fri from 9am - 5:30pm, no weekends. Wage Crossmatch and New Hire Crossmatch Cases. Identity verification cases.
Pros
weekday schedule/paid holidays
Cons
no schedule flexibility
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent benefits.
Eligibility Worker (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIDecember 16, 2018
With only a high school diploma, an excellent training ground for public service, human service, services for assistance programs for the State of Michigan's needy.
Pros
Health benefits.
Cons
Too many cases!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic Job
Unemployment Insurance Analyst (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIDecember 11, 2018
The State is a good place to work if you want a low risk job with security. There aren't many opportunities for advancement. The benefits are the best perk of the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive staff, inclusive environment
Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  Jackson, MIDecember 10, 2018
We often hold staff parties or charity events. Everyone in my area works incredibly well with one another. I reccomend starting as a student assistant with the state. There is a lot of room for vertical movement within the career
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, some off-curricular activities.
Programmer/Analyst (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MIDecember 10, 2018
It was a nice place to work with the ability to coordinate will any team member including the primary customer and the technical support team. Would like the opportunity to work there again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at State of Michigan. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,122 reviews
5422
4326
3251
261
162

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.2Personal Development

3.3Career Opportunities

2.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight