State of Ohio Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard place to work!
Corrections Officer (Former Employee) –  Chillicothe, OHApril 15, 2018
This job is not for the weak minded or weak hearted. It puts a strain on your family life and drains you mentally. It is where I got my start in corrections but would not recommend it to someone straight out of high school.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Hours, stress, and lifestyle
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its alright
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHApril 11, 2018
Its an ok environment, you just have to keep your eyes open and don't be stupid. Do your 8 and hit the gate. Don't let anybody get to you and just try to have thick skin.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Intern
Intern (Former Employee) –  Pike County, OHApril 7, 2018
Worked for the Division of forestry for a summer, and had wonderful experience with a variety of opportunities. Paid competitively for a summer job for a college student.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was the whole department so I liked it.
Inventory Control Specilist 2 (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHApril 6, 2018
I enjoyed the work at the bureau, the politics I could live without. This review is typical of a day at the BWC. You can't just answer the question you have to enter a certain amount of bullcrap in order to meet the minimum qualls.
Pros
Worked at my own pace
Cons
Unqualified superviors
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience, Low Wages
Budget Management Analyst (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHApril 4, 2018
Working for the state has offered tremendous learning opportunities and has greatly enhanced my skillset. Wages are low and not competitive with private sector counterparts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job was an opportunity to grow and improve myself. work enviorment was stressful at times but all jobs can be.it was a pleasure to work for the state
Cook/Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  London, OHMarch 29, 2018
the state of ohio gave me an opportunity to improve myself ,and to learn and grow.i learned how to prepare meals from scratch,and to operate all phases of a kitchen.maintanence was a great learning tool,learning how tom do various things.
Pros
free food
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of leadership
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Toledo, OHMarch 28, 2018
There are a lot of workers that do barely enough work to get by and also there are some management staff that do the same as well. There is a union however it seems like the longer someone works there, the lazier they are. The treat new hires like they are nothing and pawn all the work off of them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Longterm contracts improvising life for the Ohio residents and stakeholders
QA Architect - Sr. Consultant (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHMarch 28, 2018
Though state works on little older versions of software not on par with private organizations, I got to work with direct clients and customers as part of UAT. The applications I worked on have direct impact to the Ohio residents and/or Policy holders, with high visibility to the State Governor.

Very value adding roles with State of Ohio as a QA Architect/QA Lead.
Pros
High impacting and satisfying roles
Cons
Older versions of software not in par with the latest in the IT field.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Engineer (Current Employee) –  Cleveland OhioMarch 26, 2018
Good
Manufacturing Processes
Management was able to teach and guide
Fun and educating
The hours and Travel
The landing of new jobs and the people I worked with
Pros
Learning new skills
Cons
Politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed my time as an intern
Intern (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMarch 26, 2018
Conducted interviews of criminal offenders and wrote detail Pre-sentence reports to criminal court. Participated in all aspects of community control and supervision. Performed detailed background investigations on offenders.
Pros
investigation offenders
Cons
It was just an intership
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report

Want to know more about State of Ohio?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunity
Assistant Director of Communications (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHMarch 26, 2018
Great opportunity for a public relations professional. This job offers any communications expert a chance to work closely with leadership, legal and legislative teams to get your message out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my job
Employment Professional (Former Employee) –  Parma, OHMarch 21, 2018
I would have never left if I did not relocate. Loved every aspect of my job. Things constantly changed, some for the good some not so good. It was stability and a good work environment
Pros
Great people to work with
Cons
Hire up need to listen to employees doing the work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no comment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  employment divisonMarch 20, 2018
no comment worked in the employment filed at the call center taken application for the unemployed worker on the phones all day basically working on your own there was a supervisor on site to assist with issues work at your own pace each claimant has different issues your trained to process the application it the first step to filling for your unemployment
Pros
benefits
Cons
no comment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very negative
Disability Claims Adjudicator (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHMarch 12, 2018
The environment is fast paced, extremely negative, you plateau quickly.

The work is very interesting, but never stops. You are assigned work even on days off, coverage is poor.
Pros
great benefits, good time off
Cons
negative work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Audit
Assistant Auditor (Former Employee) –  Athens, OHMarch 12, 2018
The job as an Auditor for the State of Ohio is stressful. There are budgeted hours that seems to be decreasing annually creating difficult working conditions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Classroom teachers are always helpful to the substitutes.
Substitute Teacher - Life Sciences (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHMarch 11, 2018
Classroom teachers are always willing to help. Educational aides are very helpful also.
The most enjoyable part of the job are the interactions with the students who want to learn.
Pros
choose days to work
Cons
low salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Please move on from this entry
Infrastructure Specialist (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHIOMarch 9, 2018
I decline to answer this. It puts former employees at risk, and it is a poor marketing Idea. It puts anyone at risk of retaliation and is not a good way to review an employer.
Pros
Time off
Cons
Political
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay but too much forced OT
RN nurse 1 for Prison (Former Employee) –  Prison systemMarch 6, 2018
I WAS a RN nurse 1 for a prison. The hours were awful, I was "froze" all the time and mandated to work 16 hours at least twice a week abdnofteb mandated to come in one of my 2 days off due to chronic short staffing. The pay was great, as were benefits but my quality of life outside work suffered. It was not worth the $$.
Pros
Great benefits and pay
Cons
Mandated overtime, was at prison more than with my family
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved how we worked as a team.
Real Estate Specialist (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHFebruary 27, 2018
I enjoyed the workplace culture. The assigned projects where very interesting. The projects ranged from negotiating lease renewals to relocating entire state agencies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Correction Officer (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHFebruary 26, 2018
The culture of this involved correctional and medical staff working together to provide living assistance to criminals with mental health issues. The hardest part of this job was the unexpected overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at State of Ohio. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 489 reviews
5197
4143
3100
227
122

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.7

2.3Personal Development

3.1Career Opportunities

2.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight