State of Vermont Employee Reviews

Showing all 124 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, state cares more about money than the workers
Custodian II (Current Employee) –  Montpelier, VTJanuary 7, 2019
Hours were alright, but doesn't give much time in the morning or night for free time. Poor management and advancement. Very little consideration for peoples feelings, everyone had to walk on eggshells. I did learn a lot about cleaning and the dos and don'ts of chemicals, some floor stripping, what pads to use when buffing. But the management is more concerned with saving money than their employee's
Pros
3 breaks a day
Cons
Asking for help is frowned upon
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A political nightmare with abusive and incompetent management
Worker (Former Employee) –  Rutland, VTJanuary 4, 2019
There is so much government waste that I witnessed while working for the State of Vermont. So many employees I encountered sat back doing as little as possible just to collect their salary and benefits. And the worst part is that because of the union it is nearly impossible to get rid of bad employees unless there is an egregious offense like sleeping with a client, and even then I’ve seen people be hired back after it happening more than once.
Pros
Salary and benefits
Cons
Explained below
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Processing Applications for families and individuals in Vermont
Program Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  Waterbury, VTNovember 20, 2018
Processed incoming mail and application packets involving opening and sorting 3squares, WIIC, catamount and ESD applications. Slow paced relaxed environment with good benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
eh
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Montpelier, VTNovember 10, 2018
i dont have great things to say about working for the state beyond the fact that the benefits are decent and that you can apply and get preference for other state jobs once you are employed with the state
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay was good. They will keep you as a temp officer if you arent in the "circle" of officers. Very rude and inconsistent management. No holiday pay
Temp officer (Former Employee) –  Rutland, VTOctober 24, 2018
Pros:
Hourly pay
Advancement towards a future career.( stepping stone)

Cons:
- Inconsistent supervisors
-Rules keep changing
-Supervisors watch cameras to see what officers do more than what inmates are doing
-Supervisors and co workers play on Facebook and internet all day in the u its and offices
-Temps will stay temps if you dont suck up to supervisors
-shund if you dont or cant do overtime
-they expect temps to work 3,2,1 shifts then take overtime.
-called in on days off every time
-corrupt COs
-poor maintenance within the facility
-DR's never get heard, just thrown behind the desk
-supervisors will complain that you're not writing enough DRs even if you are or if you never have issues within your unit.

Dont work in the Rutland facility.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding career ladder choices.
Disability Examiner (Former Employee) –  Waterbury, VTOctober 20, 2018
I loved working for the State of VT. I only left because we moved to Maine. I was eligible to retire (30 years) so I did. I retired with full benefits, therefore, I already have heathcare (BCBC). However, I am not ready to stop working.
Pros
Benefits, good pay, job security, enjoyable work.
Cons
Sitting all the time. I like to stay moving.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Program Services Clerk (Former Employee) –  Montpelier, VTOctober 19, 2018
Offer weekday schedules within business hours, little overtime requested dependent upon position. 40 hours is typical weekly schedule, unless requested to work additional hours during peak season.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work work life balance
Custodial Worker (Current Employee) –  Waterbury, VTOctober 2, 2018
work life balance is great good opportunity to move in other places lots ofoppurtunityies to learn and take on more , lots of cross training and meeting new people
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not Work at the State of Vermont
IT Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Montpelier, VTOctober 2, 2018
State government does not recognize profit and loss or competitive advantage in the decision making process; which changes the fundamental business approach to measure success.
-Talented IT professionals - beware!
-Difficult place to work; very slow decision making processes.
-Uneducated middle management.
-Be prepared to be exploited, under utilized and under valued.
-Inconsistent and unethical union work practices.
-The worst experience of my professional career.
Pros
Excellent (but expensive) healthcare benefits
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It took 10 years of my life away, I can't get back.
Mental Health Specialist (Former Employee) –  VTSeptember 24, 2018
Worked at the "hospital", drained me of life essence till I burnt out. I can give no insight as to the rest of the state, could not get anywhere else, even after 10 years.
Pros
None what so ever.
Cons
Everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working for the Health dept.
Health District Office Clerk (Current Employee) –  Barre, VTSeptember 13, 2018
I work with a wonderful group of people and we work well together. We have one of the best offices in the State. I love the work I do helping out the public.
Pros
Working with my co-workers
Cons
Not make enough to only work one job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job review
Benefits Program Assistant Administrator (Former Employee) –  Essex, VTSeptember 12, 2018
I like the challenge of my work. I learn new skills every week.
Communication with management can be a challenge. But I enjoy my co-workers and our freedom to interact.
Pros
Good compensation and benefits
Cons
Frustrating work at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You can make a lot of money, but you have no personal life
Correctional Officer II (Former Employee) –  Swanton, VTSeptember 9, 2018
The State of Vermont is always hiring Correctional Officers. It may be the right career for you. Upside, you will make a lot of money and have a decent health insurance plan. Downside, you are subject to mandatory last minute overtime - which makes having a personal life difficult.
Pros
Meals included, paid breaks
Cons
Mandatory overtime, Prison environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place!
Digital Printing Technician I (Former Employee) –  Middlesex, VTAugust 21, 2018
Management is very understandable, and likes to check in with you. Your coworkers are willing to help you learn more about your job in a friendly manner.
Pros
Kitchen/break room, friendly enviroment
Cons
Sometimes called in on the weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Travel ambasssator (Current Employee) –  Fair Haven, VTAugust 18, 2018
Would not be searching for new position if hours had not been cut so drastically
I have meet people from every state, territory and commonwealth of the U.S.and every province, territory of Canada, along with 20+ foreign countries . Most comfortable setting and job I have ever had .
Cons
can be boring during off seasons
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional, busy, multi-cultural
Career Resource Specialist (Former Employee) –  Burlington, VTAugust 8, 2018
At the beginning I felt the company was interested in my best interest, but quickly, I was mislead by the manager of the building. This left a bad taste and feeling with me about any of State employment positions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Technician (Former Employee) –  Berlin, VTAugust 6, 2018
I loved working for the state of vermont at the time I was only a temp and I would still love to get into the state full time. Plenty of growth with the state.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workday Summary
Data Analyst (Current Employee) –  Montpelier, VTJuly 19, 2018
Everyday is a day to learn something new. Easy to determine your own direction and work towards it with little supervision. Pay grades and salaries are well defined but actual salary is well below the industry standard.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
Probation and Parole Officer (Current Employee) –  Morrisville, VTJuly 17, 2018
Lack of support by management. Stressful enviroment with little supervision. Must be able to work in fast paced, stressful office enviroment where lunch and bathroom breaks are infrequent if at all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overtime and wokr hours
Correctional Officer (Current Employee) –  Swanton, VTJuly 5, 2018
the hours that you work are stressful someday the staff is where you will have the most conflicts on your daily basis but for the most part is a big team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at State of Vermont. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 124 reviews
543
444
318
28
111

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

3.1InHerSight Score

2.5Personal Development

4.0Career Opportunities

2.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight