Steak N Shake Employee Reviews

Found 4,299 reviews matching the search See all 4,323 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor poor company
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INFebruary 23, 2019
if this company keeps on being ran the way it is and the constant change in management and supervisors the company will be out of business by 2021 is my guess they overwork the managers there is no incentive for the employee but a 40% discount shameful
Pros
none
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
usually understaffed, you need to know how to work under stress and pressure.
Management (Operations Supervisor) (Current Employee) –  Columbus, OHFebruary 21, 2019
Being completely honest, I love and hate Steak n Shake. I will miss the people, and the fact that i knew everything, working there is easy. Management is stressful, associates also receive a lot of the stress when we are understaffed. Turnover is really bad. People constantly are leaving.
Pros
40% off meals
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Overland Park, KSFebruary 21, 2019
It was fun to make shakes and interact with different people, my location had mice and terrible managment that did nothing to address or fix the issue.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
daily drama
Server (Former Employee) –  Richmond, INFebruary 21, 2019
always off long after end of shift no one did side work shift depended on who you worked with as to how it went made it hard on those that did their work
Pros
some good workers
Cons
drama, lazy people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
steak n shake associate (Former Employee) –  Norristown, PAFebruary 21, 2019
It can get very busy it does allow you to be trained in multiple areas for the job you can move up very fast at this job if your willing to put in work on your end
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s a great day at Steak ‘n Shake unless the store/general manager is having a bad day then it’s awful for everyone
Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  Barboursville, WVFebruary 21, 2019
Honestly I would not recommend going there in search of employment because the old gm found new employment and we technically do not have a active gm and the person who in charge is only doing what helps her not what’s best for the team. Henseforth the reason I’m in search for new employment.
Pros
Free lunch, double time on thanksgiving and Christmas
Cons
Short/ no breaks, only consider thanksgiving and christmas holidays, also will forget to give you your year raise and quarterly bonus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Help needed
Operations supervisor (Former Employee) –  Florissant, MOFebruary 21, 2019
This is a good job for high school kids who just want some money in their pocket. I can't speak for all locations but majority of those that i have seen and worked at are poorly managed and worked by people with poor attitudes.
Pros
Loyal customers
Cons
poor management, poor employee choices, lack of advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its A Good Place To Work At People Are Friendly
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Bourbonnais, ILFebruary 21, 2019
Its Stressful But The Workers Were Nice To Me And Help Me When Needed And Its Too Fast Paced And The Way I Get Past That Is To Nicely Talk To My Manager Into Quiting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional management
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MIFebruary 20, 2019
Half of the managers were more lenient with new workers because they understand the struggles of a new job. The other half criticized the working crew on not working hard enough, or meeting the minimum standards they wouldn’t even be capable of completing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its an amazing workplace and great people
Drive Thru Operator (Former Employee) –  Hoffman Estates, ILFebruary 20, 2019
They workers are great and nice to be with. Management are always there to help and make sure you aren't lost in what you are doing. It's a safe place and great start for a job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Steak N Shake?

Ask a question
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mediocre
Service Trainer (Former Employee) –  ohioFebruary 20, 2019
I enjoyed working here as a teenager but not something i would recommend for an adult. Minimum pay and long hours. Customers were often difficult and tipping was minimal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers were nice and on their game, but fellow workers were lazy and threw work on others
Drive Thru Cashier and Drive Thru (Former Employee) –  Southaven, MSFebruary 19, 2019
The job was not hard, but at the beginning I was set up with a fellow employee and they trained me for 1 day and expected me to know it then and there. Managers were lenient with my schedule due to my position in Horn Lake Marching Band and helped me accordingly. Other than lazy co-workers, the job was not hard and slightly enjoyable.
Pros
Job Experience
Cons
Lazy co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough hours and doesn’t support my life style.
Drive Thru Operator (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ILFebruary 19, 2019
There were too many people being hired and not enough hours to give out. My checks weren’t enough to afford my bills such as rent,car payment and food. The general manager is disrespectful.
Pros
The co-workers were nice
Cons
A lot of cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth it.
Server/Cashier/Hostess (Current Employee) –  Moline, ILFebruary 19, 2019
Be prepared to be hired as a server but do the jobs of a host/cashier, server and shake maker. The pay is not worth what they are expecting you to do since they can not keep employees. The sections are not even close to being equal. You will be stuck with a bad section which has the worst side work while the people who have been there awhile relax and watch. The seasoned servers will not help run food so you are doing 10 times the work for way less money. Management doesnt care and plays favorites.
Pros
Tips
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ceo constantly changes his mind resulting in poor culture.
District Manager (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHFebruary 19, 2019
I was there for six months and in six months the CEO went from a District manager per two stores to a district manager with 4 - 6 stores to six weeks later an elimination of the District manager completely. You cannnot plan your future under his leadership.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, hectic
Manager (Current Employee) –  Ellisville, MOFebruary 18, 2019
I was able to learn how to handle new and different tasks. The best part of working for my last employer is that I was able to work closely with others who had the same goal for the company. I had support from the other manager and we shared ideas and information on how to maintain and improve our store. This experience improved my ability to communicate effectively with the employees. I was able to help my coworkers and employees to form a great team. Ther most difficult part of my job was that I did not have any time for a personal life. We struggled with starting issues but we worked together to improve the situation by trying to hire employees and cross- training the current employees.
Pros
Free lunch, advancement opportunities
Cons
No personal life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Production Grill Cook (Current Employee) –  Boynton Beach, FLFebruary 18, 2019
I enjoy steak and shake, very friendly co workers and the atmosphere is fast pace but manageable, communication is a prime key to working at steak and shake
Pros
Breaks
Cons
Sometimes you wont get a break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Muy bueno
Shakes (Former Employee) –  Rockford,ilFebruary 17, 2019
Mi experiencia en steak n shake fui muy buena.....
Pros
Horarios excelentes
Cons
Ninguna
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Preparer (Former Employee) –  Columbus, GAFebruary 17, 2019
I was there just for 7 hours training... the pay is to low than just can pay the UBER ride, they need be honest and said how much will be the hourly rate pay before ask for buy clothes and shoes to work is no fear spent lot of money for it. I did my trining starting 2019 and not receive my training payment. Does somebody know how long time they need for write a check...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None productive
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Southaven, MSFebruary 17, 2019
Terrible environment . the people where rude . the mangers where rude and affall treated there employs terribly. The employs throw food . the bath rooms are nasty . they don't wear hair nets
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Steak N Shake. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 4,323 reviews
5818
41.1K
31.3K
2585
1575

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
2.6Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.0Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score
TOP25%
In the Top 25% of similar size companies

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Steak N Shake.

Powered by Comparably