Sterling National Bank Employee Reviews

Showing all 95 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Branch
Senior Client Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Nyack, NYJuly 9, 2018
Extremely poor management! They bend rules when convenient for them and they do not treat their staff with respect. When someone speaks up about any concerns or wrong doing of management, they retaliate and punish you. Often times transfers are done over the phone for select customers without signatures and tellers are forced to do them even if they don't feel comfortable. This branch has gone through 3 different lead tellers in less than 9 months. It is a very hostile environment working at this branch and the managers pretend to be friendly with you and customers.
Pros
The customers are very nice!
Cons
Management is horrible!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transition
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 14, 2018
When I started working here we started as Astoria federal savings bank that valued their employees with opportunity to advance and stock options for retirement which motivated you to stay and making a positive contribution. Now those positive benefits have been taken away.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PB Review
Personal Banker (Current Employee) –  Elmont, NYJune 11, 2018
Position does not allow me to apply my abilities from my education and past work experience. This position is more of a customer-service role. The inconsistent hours of employment make it challenging to impossible to schedule any after work commitments. Commission structure of this position is extremely low.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
VP, Senior Underwriter and NJ Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 11, 2018
Bank in transition
Very poor senior management
Very insecure senior management
Need leadership training
Public company run like a private company
Lies and deceitful management
Pros
None
Cons
Rude condescending management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work environment, always something to do.
Office Maintenance Assistant (Current Employee) –  Yonkers, NYMay 21, 2018
There is an extreme overload of work for one to do in all departments and the expectations are well beyond unreasonable to meet. Clarifications with duties are unclear per management. I feel as though that if the President/CEO of the bank would have knowledge of how things were conducted he would be appalled to know that a lot of managers do not abide by Sterling National Bank's Policies or five core values.
Pros
Helathcare/Benefits
Cons
Lunch hour is the only break given and most times cut short.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Licensed Banker (Current Employee) –  Williston Park, NYMay 14, 2018
not the greatest work life balance/ management is not that great/ bank technology needs a lot of improvement, having issues with some health benefits and coverage on medication tried looking for help but really got no where. tried to apply to different position in bank and although i am very qualified fo it was turned down.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Happy with Management
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Mount Vernon, NYMay 3, 2018
There is not enough encouragement or Support from Management. Thisjob is more like you are self employeed. You need your own BOB and handle all your sales your self all the way to the end that includes all lending.
Pros
Self motivating
Cons
No support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and a very busy workplace
Teller, Present (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYApril 24, 2018
it is a very busy branch and most of the time heavy workload. I love the work and the people . The comparing to the other banks pay is very low and not enough incentive for the hard work everyone doing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Rewarding
Held Various Titles (Former Employee) –  Montebello, NYApril 12, 2018
Fair to their employees. Holds all individuals accountable for their responsibilities. Relocated to be closer to family otherwise I would still be working for Sterling National Bank.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace
Director of Post Closing/Warehouse Collateral AVP (Former Employee) –  Great Neck, NYApril 3, 2018
lots of responsibility, accountability in a fast paced environment. good team of people to work with but the bank sold their mortgage division shortly after i relocated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Acquisition
Client Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Montebello, NYMarch 21, 2018
After Sterling Acquired Astoria Federal Bank they laid off the entire department that was stationed in Montebello NY. The corporate office was closed down and the "acquired bank" took over
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place To Work
AVP Call Center (Current Employee) –  New York StateMarch 20, 2018
I love it here but they are moving the Call Center to Long Island.That is way to far for me to travel daily. But the people and job is outstanding. The work life balance is amazing.
Pros
Great People To Work With
Cons
Relocating
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great bank to work for
Managing Director, Specialty Finance (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 25, 2018
Dynamic culture, good strategic focus. Bank's top management is excellent, understand its strategic position and the challenges of the NY banking market.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
ASSISTANT CLIENT SERVICE SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Suffern, NYFebruary 22, 2018
It can be quick paced and busy at times. Each department works as a team to get work done by the end of the day. Everyone helps each other in any way that they can.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sterling National Bank
Vice President - Relationship Manager (Former Employee) –  Woodbury, NYFebruary 20, 2018
A typical day at work includes getting into work an hour early and planning an agenda.
I've learned how to satisfy clients needs and requirements while maintaining satisfactory relationships with my associates.
Pros
Majority of associates were professional.
Cons
Changes in Senior Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful Environment
Lead Data Center & Field Technician (Current Employee) –  Lake Success, NYFebruary 6, 2018
- Stressful/demanding
- Learned project management Techniques
- Management - No comment
- Modern Culture
- Dealing with new management
- Close to home
Pros
Back office/Data Center 10 minutes away from where I live.
Cons
No job security
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Licensed Personal Banker (Current Employee) –  Jericho, NYFebruary 2, 2018
This is a great place to work. The benefits are great. Co-workers treat you like an extended family. When you do your job the management does not micro manage you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of communication
Back Office Associate (Current Employee) –  Westchester County, NYFebruary 1, 2018
Way to aggressive with mergers. Unhappy employees. Lack of communication. Procedures on line never updated, Needs a complete overhaul. Still has names of previous banks that were taken over. Some departments only have one expert in that field.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was stressful to work.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 30, 2018
Working at Sterling National Bank was very stressful place to work. I would make my hours to leave early and they would complain. I sometimes worked for free and didn't get paid.
Pros
I love my hours.
Cons
They didn't communicate or gave you raises.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place
Business Operations Analyst (Current Employee) –  Lake Success, NYJanuary 27, 2018
Nice place to work overall, managers are always understanding and fun.
Although advancement in the workplace is something that is a bit of an issue. Just about to have layoffs in a few weeks...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sterling National Bank. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 95 reviews
515
428
327
212
113

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.0Culture

Ratings from women

2.2InHerSight Score

2.1Personal Development

2.7Career Opportunities

2.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight