Stifel Nicolaus Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hands on experience
Summer Intern (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 16, 2018
It was my first time dealing with portfolio management. I was able to understand why Stifel would invest in certain companies and how things were evaluated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive payouts
Financial Advisor (Former Employee) –  Daytona Beach, FLJuly 1, 2018
Working Here was like having your own business with an unlimited earning potential. I was free to come and go as I please which made me very comfortable to work at my own pace and be as productive as possible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience here
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNApril 19, 2018
- Temporary position
- I covered maternity leave
- Had an awesome manager (Branch Manager)
- Great location in the heart of downtown Minneapolis
- Would definitely work there again if given the right opportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good advancement opportunities
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMarch 7, 2018
Stifel Nicolas was a company with many advancement opportunities but the management was not fair and very prejudice. The atmosphere was stressful but the salary and benefits were good and the experience was the best.
Pros
Wonderful Christmas bonuses
Cons
Stressful and prejudice atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Comment
Senior Specialist (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOFebruary 17, 2018
Verify for client accounts to third parties for clients for various reasons. Also provide verification of certificates in the vault for clients for the firm/
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day in the life of a corporate finance intern
IRA/ Tax Operations Internship (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MO 63102January 29, 2018
I was paid very well but that was balanced by the repetitive tedious task I was assigned to do. The atmosphere was fun to talk with other workers but also lonely for a young adult working with older more expereinced workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Firm Now
VICE PRESIDENT (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 31, 2017
This firm changed so much since I worked at Sterne Agee that I really cannot comment much on the firm now. It has very strong potential and is one of the largest regional dealers out there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced growth
Senior Vice President, Investments (Former Employee) –  Kimberly, WIOctober 24, 2017
company is concerned about growth at the expense of it current Financial Advisors. Firm is in a rapid expansion mode, and if you dont like the culture leave and they take hundreds of thousand dollars of your defered comp plan filling the pockets of senior management
Pros
stock price
Cons
no job securitiy as an existing advisor numerous comp changes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive Experience/Would Recommend to Friend
Intern (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 22, 2017
Laid back but challenging work environment where interdepartmental associates share cordial relationships and appear generally satisfied with their work. Hands off management style allows for autonomy in own projects and discretion to resolve issues according to employee's own strengths.
Pros
Free lunches for meetings
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Position
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oil City, PAOctober 7, 2017
I worked for Stifel as a paid internship for college and it was a great learning experience within the financial world. This job also taught me basic life skills when it came to time management and organizational skills. I also got a lot of experience working with CRM systems.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
disappointed in the management .
SR. COMPENSATION ANALYST (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOSeptember 24, 2017
The environment is toxic and no direction.. Management is into bullying and using intimidating tactics as a form of getting work completed. Management was not about goal setting. Fly by the seat of your pants kind of culture.
Pros
great location
Cons
Lack of direction ; unquailified manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Redding, CAAugust 16, 2017
Reception: Phones, greeting clients, clerical. Great place to learn something everyday; 401k plans, IRAs, etc. My branch manager is the best boss in the world. Culture is fun and casual. Hardest part of the job is an unpredictable market. Loved the team-work environment!
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office is very stressful
Associate Vice President (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMay 16, 2017
the office in extremely stressful
lack of management
last minute no planning
flexible hours and time
not much room for advancement
understaffed for daily functions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management
Managing Director (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHApril 9, 2017
OK to work there. Good pay but bad mgmt.
I worked there for 17 years and felt that it wqs fair but highly political. Merit was not necessarily considered.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Financial Advisor/ - Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Quincy, ILApril 7, 2017
The main manager of operations was a jerk who did not honor his word. He made promises he did not keep, unprofessional conduct was often exhibited. He went off on me for something my sales assistant did in frustration.
Sent me on wild goose chases for promised promotions that did not come to be.
Pros
company back office efficient, benefits great
Cons
one of the three top managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Order Room Trade Support (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMarch 25, 2017
Great Company, But have to start at the bottom and doesn't seem to have a good job growth/time ratio. However, good work relationships and learning experience with comfortable setting
Pros
Great Experience
Cons
Low Pay, can get boring
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Experince
Internship (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALFebruary 22, 2017
This was my first real job experince even thoughit was an internship. I learned basic stoke broker perspectives and woking habits. Overall one of my favorite places I was at.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, high energy environment
Client Service Associate (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 21, 2017
I had little experience in this industry when I started. I love how I grew into this role and I am eager to keep learning and keep growing in finance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
VP Equity Research
Vice President (Former Employee) –  BaltimoreSeptember 12, 2016
Prepare and publish financial research on publicly traded companies with market caps ranging from $85 million to $43 billion for institutional and retail investors across the industrial sector. Lead the data gathering, analysis, publication and presentations of both industry and company specific reports. Interact with clients and senior level executives and members of Investors Relations on a daily basis to understand the latest trends. Update financial and economic models for the publicly available data and news relevant to the companies under coverage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
employee focused
Financial Advisor, CFP (Former Employee) –  Golden Valley, MNSeptember 8, 2016
Good corporate culture let the advisors work at what they wanted to meet the employee and corporate goals. Employees had goals that they wanted to meet and the company enabled ollowed them the space to meet those goals in the fashion that worked for each employee.

Typical work day was 8:30 to 4
Management was encouraging
They provided the resources you needed to bring value to the clients.
Pros
Very nice people
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Stifel Nicolaus. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 40 reviews
514
412
39
24
11

See reviews about

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture