Stripes Convenience Stores Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay but hectic
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Mission, TXApril 17, 2018
Great place to learn a little bit from everything but was a hectic job since most of the time it was only one cashier and one cook. Always have a million things to do at the same time so expect to multitask. You will deal with every different kind of customer out there so be prepared! The pay wasn't the great for the amount of things you are expected to preform on your own. Good starter job maybe if you're in college on your own in need of some cash but definitely not a job for a family or head of household.
Pros
Experience a faced paced setting, managment
Cons
pay, benefits, work load
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its about what you think it would be.
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Lubbock, TXApril 14, 2018
Working overnights is cool although you don't have time for much else. Coworkers are typically friendly and easy to work with although they will hire just about anyone so some coworkers aren't as good as others.
Pros
Breaks, fast paced, friendly coworkers
Cons
Stressful, rude customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people are nothing more than numbers
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Lubbock, TXApril 12, 2018
They talk about taking care of the people that keep the doors open but the culture of Stripes has degraded rapidly over the last few years. Sunoco destroyed the reputation the Sussers developed at Stripes.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very fun place to work if you don't mind working hard.
Assistant Manger (Former Employee) –  Alpine, TXApril 12, 2018
Work was paced throughout the day with regular rushes. I leaned about how to manage my time to get the most done in stressful situations. Management works very closely with the rest of the staff and the team is strong. Hardest part of the job was sometimes having to work a shift alone for graveyard. Best part of the job was when the store was empty so you can stalk the shelves.
Pros
Free refills of Fountain drinks and cofee
Cons
Very busy rushes and having to pick up trash.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Edinburg, TXApril 11, 2018
It is a good company to work for but the pay is too low. The work is a very fast pace environment. Overall a good place to work in i have no complaines.
Pros
Na
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a very fast paced enviroment i enjoyed not being sitting down it made my day go by quick.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Pecos, TXApril 9, 2018
This is a good first time job to start working , it provides growth and development you learn and grow within the company . It has its ups and downs but that's how customer service is all about . You get to communicate with the customers make them have a nice day with a smile so they could go about there day and always come back .
Pros
free drinks
Cons
not enough pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fast paced environment with good customer service
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 6, 2018
Fast paced environment. Not your typical cashier job. Its more to it than standing up at the register all day.be able to pick up at least 40to 50 pounds a day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Texas Cashier (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXApril 3, 2018
working at Stripes was always something different. It was always something new everyday. I worked grave yard for about three years and i always saw some exiting things at night.
Pros
fast paced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very fast paced
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXApril 1, 2018
Very fast paced workplace haave to handle money as a sales associate also have to clean the whole store includes outside windows and restrooms. Restock most of the items that need restocking or replacing also have to interact with costumers all day.
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bronte, TXMarch 28, 2018
Stripes in Bronte, TX is a good place to work. They have a good pay rate and they will work with your schedule. They have good and friendly employees.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average place to work but nice people
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Porter, TXMarch 25, 2018
While management was okay as well as the customers, this company does not offer discounts to its workers, only free fountain drink refill's while on the clock.
Pros
Free fountain drink refill's
Cons
No benefits if you are not full time, no set breaks, no discounts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXMarch 24, 2018
1st get in the morning and get my finances done and money deposited
2nd Check in my vendors and get what is needed for the store and not bombarded with unneeded merchandize
3rd Made my schedule for my employees 3 weeks out.
I made sure to cover important dates and gave requested time off when possible
4th I made the work place a fun and enjoyable place to work
5th The hardest part of my job was when employees called in on holidays and black out dates.
6th The most enjoyable part of my job was my customers. They made my day
Pros
Fun Place to work
Cons
Health care was expinsive. No days off on Black out days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  San Angelo, TXMarch 23, 2018
Loved working for stripes. Always stayed super busy and had something to do. Customers were friendly and co-workers were awesome. Training was great and benefits were good as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy summer job with horrible management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Angleton, TXMarch 22, 2018
the job itself was an easy one, checking people out and setting pumps for gas. But the over all management was horrible. The district manager was so rude/psychotic that I would get anxiety attacks. That was just in my area and its been a while since ive worked there, if they had different higher management I would recommend them.
Pros
easy job, flexible hours
Cons
Bad management (3 years ago) no actual breaks, store gets very busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mission, TXMarch 17, 2018
sometimes a job is just a job. you do what you need to do, get paid &that is that. when management is poor though, that is where it gets ugly, hard &stressful.
Pros
having a job
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed Paced Job
Cashier (Current Employee) –  McAllen, TXMarch 15, 2018
A slow paced job, not demanding, I liked the atmosphere of the workplace. I disliked how the schedule would change often. A typical day at work involves cleaning, restocking, and interacting with the same individuals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
needed better hours and pay
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mission Bend, TXMarch 9, 2018
good place to work just needed better pay and better hours. the atmosphere was good and no head butting at work coworkers were nice and friendly. I just would have liked better pay for what I was doing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, too many changes
General Manager/Retail Trainer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 7, 2018
Company that constantly changes, shows too many favorites. Play too political games with people that are really their to do a job and earn a career. Promote people out desperation.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
No career advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXMarch 5, 2018
Handling the register, counting and stocking. taking inventory, Cleaning and maintaining a clean work space to customers satisfaction. The most enjoyable part at Stipes was making my customers happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store had bad management
Cashier (Former Employee) –  San Juan, TXFebruary 28, 2018
the store wasnt that great the managment wasnt that great thats why I left they didnt train me i had to train myself and the employees werent ever on time so i had to work hours that werent requested.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Stripes Convenience Stores. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 655 reviews
5187
4170
3183
252
163

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.5

2.2Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

2.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight