Suffolk Construction Employee Reviews

Showing all 42 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall average
Superintendent (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLSeptember 6, 2018
A typical day at work is getting together with subcontractors throughout the jobsite and making sure they have manpower and resources to perform correctly.

I learned enough to perform at a higher level in big scale projects
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company!
Project Coordinator/ Administrator (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 29, 2018
I wouldn't ever leave, but I MUST relocate. Florida isn't for me or my children! The company is super caring, fair with paid time off, and always willing to lend a hand in your time of need. If Suffolk ever goes to GA I'd work for them again!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Project Coordinator (Promotion) (Current Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLMay 18, 2018
Excellent! Good place to work! Friendly environment! Work life balance is excellent! Great compensation! Excellent benefits! The culture is very family oriented!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut throat and unsupportive
Cost Engineer (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 14, 2018
Very unsupportive culture and no room to explore other career paths.

Management was very impatient and unwilling to properly help train and prepare those just starting their careers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great intentions to become a smart company.
PE-APM (Current Employee) –  FloridaFebruary 22, 2018
There is a lot of work and expect long hours every day. Many meetings and reports. You will work more than 60 hrs a week and include some Saturdays ( it is a construction company as any other one) you are allowed to report maximum 40 hrs every week regardless.
Promises about bonuses, but projects are always loosing money.
Respect on the PM side to certain point. (More than other construction companies)
No effort recognition.
Selfishness predomine among some teams.

Manny people invest more time on making good relationships than getting a good professional result.

Good benefits. 401k is partially vested.

You end specializing on doing just one thing, poor development. Unless you have friends to help you go where you would like.

Good company to get some experience and move forward.
Pros
Vacation benefit and days off.
Cons
Very long hours every day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very connected at Hip to All mayors
Superintendent (Former Employee) –  MulltiFebruary 3, 2018
Expect to work long hours and when things get tight they have big Layoffs
They had trouble finding sub contractors to work for them and made all of management attend a mandatory Dale Cargenie schooling
To learn the art of being nice ? to subcontractors
Pros
Good pay
Cons
No supprt for field operations you are on your own
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dead beat company
sub contractor (Former Employee) –  Sarasota, FLJanuary 30, 2018
Company is unable to meet its obligations and is in constant litigation for failure to meet its obligations to sub contractors. Management are complete morons and ill suited to run any project
Pros
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced and very
Project Management Intern (Former Employee) –  Roxbury, MAJanuary 17, 2018
This is a very Fast Paced job so be prepared to work to work hard and fast.You Must be prepared to work with teams because this is a major focus at Suffolk especially with the new building layout.
Pros
Gym, Cafe, New expansion
Cons
Main Branch Location
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate structure
Field Engineer (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 2, 2018
the corporate structure at Suffolk was very rigid and regimented. Superintendents were overloaded with paperwork and reports, we spent more time filling out reports than running the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to be employed
Project Administrator (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 20, 2017
enjoyed my time working at Suffolk Construction. Their community out reach - great. Enjoyed the options to relocate to several options around the country.

Work life balance - half or every other Friday off during the Summer. h
Pros
Everything
Cons
cannot think of any
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Suffolk Construction?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Scheduler / Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  Miami-Dade County, FLAugust 23, 2017
The working environment is very professional. The team bonding is very important and we all help each other. Upper management are always reaching out to everyone making sure employees are happy. The company provides any tools needed to perform work accordingly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 14, 2017
very good working experience and learned a lot from the corporate level about accounting. Like to work with co-workers and learned a lot from them as well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working for Suffolk
PROJECT ADMINISTRATOR (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 25, 2017
It is a great company, with work/life balance. Company has alot to offer its employees, which includes growth and training opportunities. The company has alot of benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a great place to work.
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 22, 2017
I learned a great deal from the General Counsel. He was by far the best boss I have had in my career. The workload was large, but the community of co-workers made it achievable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  CAFebruary 15, 2017
no review available for this company. long days, dress code is quiet ridiculous, no bonuses, some good people, managers are hard workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not well organized and poor sub selection
Commercial Superintendent (Former Employee) –  LosAngelesFebruary 10, 2017
Disconnect between sr management and field staff, its hard to keep a schedule when the sub field is low budget. Not made to feel welcome when transferred to new projects
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Friendly Environment
Intern (Former Employee) –  Boston, MADecember 30, 2016
Employees are friendly and helpful. Everyone will help each other out regardless of which department they are in. Environment is productive making you want to get work done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of The Best Places to Work in Boston!!
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Boston, MADecember 26, 2016
I worked at Suffolk Construction for 8 years. I loved working there, and enjoyed the relationships I made with my co workers. If only I could go back, I would in a heart beat!
Pros
Employees relationships
Cons
No e
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Suffolk Construction
Corporate Recruiter (Current Employee) –  Boston, MANovember 17, 2016
Great company to work for. Great benefits and they treat you very well. Flexible hours, get to know so many people and my co workers are all super nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a nice place to work Bridges everybody got along everybody
Lead Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale FloridaNovember 11, 2016
get a lot of work done hot but enjoyable, if something was needed it was there ASAP but until I got there they were other things to be accomplished
Pros
good people to work with
Cons
very short breaks if any
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Suffolk Construction. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 42 reviews
519
45
315
21
12

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture

Suffolk Construction Reviews by Location