Sumitomo Drive Technologies Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great experience
Employee (Former Employee) –  Chesapeake, VADecember 8, 2017
This establishment was a great place to work for. I started working here when I was fresh into the field. At first, I wasn't sure what I wanted to do with my career, but now that I reflect on the opportunity that I had to excel with the company, I slightly regret leaving, but everything happens for a reason therefore I was honored to be a part of the team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Painter/Laborer (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GADecember 6, 2017
Very nice people, more of an family environment. Short hours and not much overtime so its hard to make a decent living. The pay is not very good but overall its a great company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
District Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 26, 2017
In sales all they care about is the bottom line, nothing else matters. Don't try take more than a week vacation at a time as it's not permitted.

When on vacation you are expected to have your laptop, phone, IPad on you at all times.
Pros
Great Products
Cons
If you don't hit the numbers chances are you are gone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work in manufacturing
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Chesapeake, VAAugust 8, 2017
Good manufacturing.
Wide experience.
Walk around shop floor
Strict culture. Highly disciplined. Good for people who like to structure.
Great mentoring from senior level engineers.
Pros
Machine shop experience
Cons
Nothing really
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starts off great...ends horrible
Human Resources Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chesapeake, VAJune 9, 2017
Beware when you speak to management of your department or HR officers as ALL business is everyone's business. They have closed door meeting only to openly discuss your information among their friends and executive colleagues. While the benefits are great, there is too much red tape to receive them. When you separate from the company they make life miserable.
Pros
nothing
Cons
No career advancement, lack of confidentiality, no support
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great products, great team, very experienced leadership...
Manufacturing Engineer / CNC Programmer (Current Employee) –  Chesapeake, VA 23323April 6, 2017
Recent major investments in new equipment, tooling and training for personnel...

Good culture of continuace improvement. A little slow in promoting a total quality approach to mfg...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad place
Welder/Fabricator (Former Employee) –  Chesapeake, VAJanuary 3, 2017
i worked here for 3 years. i have no complaints other than one manager who no longer works there. I would work there again if the opportunity was available
Pros
great benefits
Cons
had a bad manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Painter/Prep (Current Employee) –  Glendale Heights, ILAugust 9, 2016
I was judge because i was not a certain race. Job duties were not shared equally
i was always forced to choose job before my family
.
Pros
great benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hostile work environment.
Welder/leadman (Former Employee) –  Chesapeake, VAJune 9, 2016
It was a good place to work at in the beginning, but a change in work philosophy made it extremely miserable. The belief in having degrees instead of years of experience made it hard.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Pleasant Workplace
Quality Specialist (Current Employee) –  Chesapeake, VADecember 16, 2014
Primarily responsible for Customer incidents related to the Quality of Sumitomo products.
Pros
Great People
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reliable Product
District Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Denver, CoDecember 10, 2014
Built around the Cyclo technology, great product. Little known market share. Worked remote and covered large geographical territory. Great co-workers also working remote.
Pros
Account and Territory Management
Cons
Unknown product.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active Fun Great place to Work
Shipper and Receiver (Current Employee) –  Suffolk, VASeptember 1, 2013
A typical day at work is me picking orders for our other facilities and getting everything ready for shipment at the end of the day. I learn something new everyday anything as simple as how to find certain products to making bills for the truck drivers. Management is good but not where I would like to be I think that is main reason I'm trying to seek new employment. My co-workers are the best everyone gets along and it makes the day go by. Their really is no hard part of my job but the best part would have to completing everything I got assigned by the end of the day.
Pros
Bonuses
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gear reducer manufacturer
Corporate Industry Manager (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJune 24, 2013
Capable of manufacturing high quality gearing parts. Unfortunately, Sumitomo began manufacturing much of the product in China and product quality suffered substantially
Pros
Good benifits
Cons
Sub par management style
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production driven enviornment deticated to service of customers and stategic company success
Receiving Associate/Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Chesapeake, VAOctober 9, 2012
A typical day would consist of the recieving and storage of all products used n the production of all sumitomo products.Invertory control as well interaction with shipping dept to coordinate outgoing orders and expidite requisition request. The most dificult aspect of position was implimentaing space for incoming freight. Receiving dock was rather small. Under direction of management i was properly trained n multiple jurisdictions as well trained to operate multiple machines
Pros
excellent care of employees, embraced community fullfillment, and deticated itself to employee and company progression
Cons
placed on layoff status
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good experience.
Material Planner (Current Employee) –  Chesapeake, VAAugust 4, 2012
Good product.
Helpful Engineers.
Poor computer system.
Micro-managing.
Low morale.
Cons
very numerous
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 4Report

See more Sumitomo Drive Technologies reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sumitomo Drive Technologies. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 26 reviews
58
48
35
23
12

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.6Culture

Sumitomo Drive Technologies Reviews by Location