Summa Health Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The office I work for is an upbeat office
Clinical Medical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Akron, OHMay 25, 2018
The office I work for is AMAZING! I have been with the doctors quite a while and feel like it is my second family. We have excellent team work and promote patient safety and care.
Cons
In the position I work currently, there is no advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great work environment
Patient Access Liaison (Current Employee) –  Akron, OHMay 3, 2018
In my department, management is great! Environment is wonderful to work at. The job can be stressful at times but what job isn't, right? The job has taught me to be precise and to pay attention to details because this determines an estimate of what insurance will cover and how much patient would have to pay out of pocket.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a wonderful company to work for
System Director (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHApril 27, 2018
Working conditions and amount of work were reasonable. Peers and teams were cohesive and teams were easy to form and work with.

The hardest part of the job was the instability. Reductions occur about every 90-120 days. Makes every employee sit on pins and needles.
Pros
Great benefits, competitive salary, great co workers
Cons
Instability of company
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full Time
Radiologic Technologist (Current Employee) –  Akron, OHApril 10, 2018
This is my current full time position. For a large hospital the overall atmosphere is average; however, I am not getting the personal satisfaction of having a meaningful job. I currently feel overwork and unfulfilled.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unless you are perfect and don't make mistakes not a good place to work.
Medical Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Barberton, OHApril 8, 2018
Did not feel like I was trained properly or given enough time to learn. Management created a stressful environment with impossible expectations. They set up unreasonable expectations and make you feel inadequate when you can't meet them.
Pros
Working with the patients
Cons
Management sets up impossible expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not friendly to other employees
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Women's Health CenterMarch 28, 2018
Employees were not treated fairly at this company. It was a lot of bullying and put downs here. They treated people of non American culture unfair. It was a very uncomfortable environment to work in. Many of the girls were young and very childish. They didn't provide a healthy work environment.
Pros
Learning about the Centering Groups
Cons
Not knowing when you would be fired
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
At one time I felt secure in having a job.
PHYSICAL THERAPIST ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Akron, OHMarch 14, 2018
Future employment an uncertainty. Many changes have taken place and I feel more are to come not necessarily for the better. Other than for the aforementioned uncertainty the over-all compensation package was good. Direct management was good. The accruement of PTO was good. My co-workers were a pleasure to work with and I have made long-term friends as a result of my employment.
Pros
Good PTO package
Cons
Questionable job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing to really say about this company
EKG TECH, PCT (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHMarch 14, 2018
When I was at Summa everything was fine, but than I transferred to St Thomas and it went down hill from there. I should have never went there, it's not a nice place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
Nurse Triage- Full Time RN (Current Employee) –  Akron, OHMarch 3, 2018
I feel I have learned a lot during my time with Summa. I have been with them for 11 years, and I have gained so much from working with them. Currently my job is a great way to gain experience about all different aspects of nursing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Patient Access Representative (Current Employee) –  Akron, OHFebruary 28, 2018
I work at one of the satellite offices for Summa Health. My management team is great and I love my coworkers. Our department is paid the lowest in the area.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too Much Competition
Radiology Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHFebruary 26, 2018
Everyone was in everyone's business. Instead of working on what they had to do as far as a job they nit picked on each other. And did a lot of tattle telling. Yeah it is ok to socialize, but when it interferes with you job and feeding your family then that is another issue.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Captain (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHFebruary 23, 2018
Fun work environment with great people working around you read to help if you need it.

Supervisors are great and willing to sit and talk if you have a concern, question and help you learn.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent work environment
Captain (Current Employee) –  Akron, OHFebruary 21, 2018
This is truly one of the best places I've ever worked and I'd encourage anyone interested to apply. We have a Great Management team and my co-workers are more like family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management creates to much conflict
Medical Office Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Akron, OHFebruary 12, 2018
A manager does not seem to like when the staff gets along. When this happens she will create conflict in on the office to stir the pot.

Too much micromanagement. The manager plays staff against coordinators. Will not allow the coordinator to do their job when asked to do tasks involving subordinates.
Pros
Decent benefits
Cons
Micromanagement
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed patient contact
COMMUNITY COORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHFebruary 10, 2018
Interaction with discharge planners and social work to discharge patients with all resources needed to return to pre-hospital baseline. Education to assist patient and family improve health and well being to keep patient healthy
Pros
Able to use nursing judgment in decisions regarding patient discharge needs
Cons
May not get a break to eat lunch if days are very busy
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summa is a great place to work
Patient Liaison (Former Employee) –  Medina, OHFebruary 9, 2018
Summa Health is a great place to work. The co-workers are wonderful. It's a happy environment to be in. The supervisors and managers care about their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful environment, always fear of losing your job.
Clerical (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHFebruary 8, 2018
No job security, when they are done with you, they dismiss you without any notice and do not value your years of service. If you need to follow up after they let you go. No one returns your call. There are some good managers but my department was poorly managed. If you are looking for work until you retire, don't go to Summa Health System.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
No job security and poor administration
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Environmental Services Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHFebruary 3, 2018
My favorite parts of my last job included the ability to work independently & the people I worked with. It’s great to work with people that care about their company and doing a good job. It’s hard to find that environment today because so many people just don’t care about honesty, hard work & integrity.
Pros
Great Pay
Cons
Short Breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management makes it very difficult to do you job
Paralegal/Legal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHJanuary 29, 2018
Loved the departments and people I directly worked for. They made it very easy to come to work everyday. I was very busy and enjoyed the work I did. The hardest part of the job was dealing with management.
Pros
The people I worked with
Cons
Salary ranges are very low
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall employee morale is low
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHJanuary 16, 2018
Workplace culture needs improvement.
Senior leadership needs improvement.
Hardest part of job is dealing with senior leadership
Good employees
Not a loyal company to employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Summa Health. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 178 reviews
552
445
347
215
119

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.4

2.5Personal Development

2.6Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight