Summa Health Employee Reviews

Found 291 reviews matching the search See all 293 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Office Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Akron, OHMarch 6, 2019
Loved working with the providers. Great hours and staff. Learned a lot.
Hardest part about the job is trying to get things done without the needed staff.
Pros
great providers
Cons
under staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Summa Homecare as a case manager (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHFebruary 14, 2019
Worked as case manager in field. Had a certain area that I travelled in. Loved the autonomy, and my managers because they were out in the field as well. On call at times and picked up extra visit.
Pros
great place to work
Cons
driving in inclement weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work with very affordable health coverage
EVS Aide II (Current Employee) –  Akron, OHFebruary 4, 2019
Ok place to work with very affordable health coverage. No longer want to work 2nd shift and prefer days. Semi-retired now and on an Medicare Advantage plan and no longer need employer health coverage.
Pros
Good PTO
Cons
2nd shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Techs
Behavioral Health Associate (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHJanuary 23, 2019
Dangerous job and underpaid. This was a poor environment. This job is dangerous, their training is poor and they do not pay enough for the danger you are put in. I cannot take my phlebotomy skills anywhere else.
Pros
Experience
Cons
Can use certifications outside of Summa
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An often busy and fulfilling job.
Environmental Aide (Current Employee) –  Barberton, OHJanuary 23, 2019
I have had to do many things and learn many ways to clean things while working here. Although the work can be fast paced and tedious, people are typically willing to lend a hand if needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive with wonderful staff and alot of fear induced from management
Referral Coordinator/Office Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHJanuary 14, 2019
great busy work for low pay and no management support or training
self taught my job with very little clinical back round and with no training manuals provided
wonderful hardworking coworkers that were very supportive.
very little management engagement with staff.
Pros
self taught alot of clinical process that were previously unknown
Cons
non supportive management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment great culture
Access Center Call Center Manager (Former Employee) –  OhioJanuary 10, 2019
A great environment to work.
Lots of growth opportunities.
The management team was helpful an encouraging.
The culture was warm and friendly
Working with individuals who did not have the vision of the organization.
The friendships made with staff.
Pros
celebrations with the team, food, parties, luncheons
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Patient Access Representative II (Current Employee) –  Akron, OHDecember 21, 2018
Management not a huge presence. Plenty of politics. Come in do the job and all is well. My department did not have much room for advancement. Recommendation working here is decent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
MLT (ASCP) (Current Employee) –  Akron, OHDecember 5, 2018
Fast to slow paced. Pretty laid back. Family oriented in the lab. PTO are usually always granted. Pay is decent. Most enjoyable is when you have coworkers that are upbeat and uplifting to one another.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Nursing Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Barberton, OHNovember 19, 2018
I enjoy working at Summa. Summa offers competitive benefits, paid time off, and tuition reimbursement. The people who work at Summa are committed to providing quality care to all patients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People and business with good management
Health Care Consultant (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHNovember 11, 2018
Fair and equitable pay. Good management. Collaborative environment. Focus on people and business to help provide the best care to the community they serve.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Summa
Unit Secretary (Current Employee) –  Akron, OHNovember 10, 2018
Typical work day would be coming in and trying to figure out what has been going on from earlier in the day. I learned a lot of medical things and how things are run at the hospital. Management was ok at the start but became stressful because of my disability situation. Things weren't made to accommodate me. Which resulted in points against me that were uncalled for. The hardest part about my job was struggling to learn and find things out on my own. The most enjoyable thing about my job was always putting a smile on patients faces and helping out as much as I can.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace enviroment
Certified Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHOctober 28, 2018
some of the managers were AMAZING, and I loved working there. However, there are too many chiefs and not enough indians. Managers had their pick and if you werent the pick then the other employees were able to rule the roost. And when i decided to bully the bully i was terminated
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The employees are great
Patient Financial Counselor (Current Employee) –  Akron, OHOctober 25, 2018
The people I work with are great. Management needs a TON of improvement. It is very stressful and you have to be versatile to work in Patient Access
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Painter (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHOctober 24, 2018
Offered a variety of ways to apply different skills to the day to day operations, and created an environment to add opportunity for growth. Required you to learn and apply social skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
culture issues, good experience
Occupational Therapist (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHOctober 8, 2018
High variety of patient's with a lot of opportunity to learn. General negativity about direction of organization. Management has little understanding of the daily tasks of employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, knowledgeable employees in all departments
SENIOR ADMINISTRATIVE SECRETARY (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHOctober 4, 2018
Summa Health is an amazing place to work. The employees are extremely friendly, compassionate, and well trained to provide excellent service/care to patients and families.
Pros
An environment of teamwork
Cons
Employee parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Akron, OHSeptember 21, 2018
Your Co-Workers are wonderful. Usually a great manager that will work with you. A typical day usually starts out a little chaotic, but can usually be turned around rather quickly. If you are as lucky as I you will find yourself on a floor with a bunch of team players and that makes the night go much smoother.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfair conditions
Medical Office Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Akron, OHSeptember 9, 2018
Management plays favorites with staff - some are able to do what they want and come and go as they please while others have to follow policy and procedures. Seems the harder your work the less you are appreciated.
Pros
hours
Cons
lack of advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
OR Registered Nurse (RN) (Current Employee) –  Akron, OHAugust 13, 2018
Work is very busy, time flies by quick. Staff are very friendly and very supportive of each other. It is a place of change- I learn something new everyday, catching up is not easy but its for a better.
Pros
free coffee and crackers
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Summa Health. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 293 reviews
591
483
368
221
130

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

2.6InHerSight Score

2.6Personal Development

3.0Career Opportunities

2.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight