Suncor Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work enviroment
Area Mechanical Engineer (Current Employee) –  Commerce City, COApril 24, 2018
Typically I would be attempting to keep up with daily maintenance needs as well as completing upgrade projects and assisting multiple other disciplines.
Overall most of the people I interact with are good at what they do and it makes it easier to accomplish tasks throughout the day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not my favourite place to work
Millwright (Former Employee) –  fort mcmurrayJanuary 22, 2018
Suncor was a good place to work in the sense of high pay and benefits. But the environment was pretty bad and fort mcmurray wasnt an ideal place for me to live anymore.
Pros
high pay
Cons
location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and meet new people.
Retail Manager (Current Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COJanuary 21, 2018
I enjoy working there and meeting new customers. I get along well with my supervisor as well as corporate personnel. Daily targets are not always attainable.
Pros
Relaxed atmosphere. Meet new people everyday
Cons
No benefits or advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start your career
Engineer (Former Employee) –  CanadaDecember 1, 2017
One of the best oil & gas companies to work for in Canada.Though they have very limited opportunities to rotate in other functions. Also, salaries are a bit lower than its peers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Contractor (Former Employee) –  Commerce City, COJune 1, 2017
During my short stint here, I loved the small community of people, working in the field was a great experience for a young engineer, and the operators became my truest of friends!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Functional Release Management Team
Consultant (Current Employee) –  IndianaMarch 30, 2017
It was an awesome experience to work with Suncor.
Love their co-ordination and understanding and its a perfect example of work-life balance.
Perfect place to work for.
Pros
Work Life Balance, Refreshment, Co-ordination
Cons
Nothing as such
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract position
Sales Support Researcher (Former Employee) –  Denver, COOctober 24, 2016
Major issue with the department that I worked in was that contractors were treated like second class citizens.(e.g. I was left at the office alone during their office party.)
Pros
Nice view from the office
Cons
see above
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay and benefits, but a very top down style
Instrumentation Reliability Engineer (Current Employee) –  Commerce City, COMarch 9, 2016
When I first started working at this refinery, I was struck with the collegial environment. People found a way to work together. That changed quickly after Suncor merged with Petro-Canada. Everything began to be directed from Calgary and the numbers of layers between myself and top local management increased. While the pay and benefits are excellent, job satisfaction for any besides the process engineers has gone away.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is fun to work
Sr. Storage Engineer (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MISeptember 30, 2015
It is fun to work at Suncor as it has got all types of EMC equipment and big team to support the environment. Learned many things like EMC XtremIO and Isilon.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work/life balance
Analyst Sales Accounting, Finance (Current Employee) –  Denver, COMarch 30, 2015
Suncor is a company that compensates well and has a great work life balance but does not provide much opportunity for growth in the US
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never the same day to day
Operator (Former Employee) –  Commerce City, COSeptember 2, 2014
A typical day is writing work permits and prepping equipment for work
I learned how to walk out piping in a tank farm.
management was overall good.
a lot of different personalities with co workers
hardest part of the job was the weather. Rain or snow hot or cold you got the job done.
I liked learning new pipeline transfers.
Pros
good pay
Cons
Weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Owner/Operator (Former Employee) –  Denver CoJune 2, 2014
Took care of the bookkeeping, reports, made bank deposits. Cashier, Customer Service. Daily Cleaning and Stocking. Managed employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unknown
student (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurrayFebruary 24, 2014
Cool work place, good and supportive people. Lots of things to learn and develop the career.
Pros
Good working environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair pay for the work, supportive team, excellent benefits
Finance Analyst - Supply, A/P Processing (Former Employee) –  Denver, COFebruary 11, 2014
Suncor is an excellent place to work, I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly and productive
Accounts Payable (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZJanuary 17, 2014
While working at Suncor, a typical day for me was processing invoices, entering the invoice into the system, filing, printing checks. I liked the easy laid back atmosphere. My co-workers and manager were easy to approach when I had concern about or questions on an invoice.
Pros
friendly environment, was given more responsibility the longer I worked
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly team environment
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Arvada, ColoradoJuly 29, 2012
A typical dat at work would involve customer service and small business management. Leading a team of 4-6 people to meet trageted quotas for the Suncor site.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once learned everything it's easy to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Aurora, COJuly 9, 2012
I did cashier work and I also worked as Assistant manager. Where I did paper work at the end of the day.
Cons
no lunch, more hours and not getting paid for extra hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 10Report

See more Suncor reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Suncor. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 435 reviews
5176
4165
366
217
111

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.2Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture

Women's ratings

Powered by Fairygodboss

2.0Fairygodboss Score

0%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

0%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.