Sunglass Hut Culture reviews

Found 241 reviews matching the search See all 1,250 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work , with good management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 8, 2019
need better commission pay out structure , with good management job is fun and energetic with lot of energy , not a hard job but with a good staff job get very competitive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and easy going workplace
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Fairfield, CAJune 1, 2019
A typical day at work is either slow or sometimes slightly busy. I learned how to drive sales and communicate with customers to fit their needs. Management has been good in concerns with my school schedule and being a seasonal worker. Workplace culture is fun I have made friends with some outside of the workplace. The hardest part of the job is when the sales goal for the store is high and it is a slow day. The most enjoyable part of the job is having that job security.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Denver, COMay 31, 2019
Fun work environment
You can grow with hard work
Customers are fun
Fun team and lots of support with leadership and learning about the product
Training when you need it and lots is support
Pros
Fun
Cons
No long breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Talent recognition
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Norman, OKMay 30, 2019
Sunglass hut helps develop star potential and recognizes it when the star is shining. They give recognition when its due. They provide the tools for success!
Pros
Culture, advancement, team empowerment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
self motivation
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYMay 30, 2019
This job requires self- motivation. you work alone, need to be able to multitask in order to get work done. there is a sales goal that one the associate has to meet, and sometimes can experience high pressure from management to meet to those goals
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Consultant
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 13, 2019
A typical day at work is based off the employee and his/her level of priority. Just know customers come first, everything else comes after. Drop all your doing for the customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Sales Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Chandler, AZMay 13, 2019
While I worked for Sunglass Hut I worked in such a caring environment to where we all supported each other and worked as a team, we constantly motivated each other and always made work fun with harmless competition regarding sales. It brought great perks as well towards discounts on the glasses. It is a company that helps mold you and create a work experience that I have never experienced in my past.
Pros
fun environment. Great discount
Cons
having to work alone most of the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relax Retail Job with Minimal Complaints
Sales Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Castle Rock, COMay 8, 2019
I had worked at Sunglass Hut for four years. The environment was always friendly and was never hostile for customers. Management was always excited to teach other about product knowledge and the coworkers surrounding you were always friendly. Overall, a great starting job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the customers
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXApril 15, 2019
Customer service and sales
To be a good multitasker
Supervisor did not respect the managers
The culture was great loved all of my co workers
Loss prevention
My employees
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Theft
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and relaxed workplace
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCApril 13, 2019
I worked there when I was in college and I loved it. The management was awesome and they are very flexible with other people's schedules. You're mainly there to sell sunglasses and meet your sales goal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment because of management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Santa Clara, CAApril 3, 2019
The location I worked at was great, but I've heard bad things about others. The team worked well together, the hardest part of the job is probably dealing with theft issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of negativity
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Albertville, MNApril 2, 2019
Very competitive when competing for sales when you are working with a group on a busy day. People would steal your sales to get more commissions. Once the hiring manger left, it all fell apart.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
selling sunglasses
SENIOR STORE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Kentwood, MIApril 2, 2019
i haven't worked there for over 20 years. I'm not sure what the job culture is currently. When i worked there, they didn't seem to care about their employees too much and the way to advance was to hang out with the district manager outside of work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Key Holder (Current Employee) –  Pleasant Prairie, WIMarch 27, 2019
I work with amazing people for an amazing company! I look forward to coming to my job. It is a fun atmosphere and the company trains you very well. I would highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work environment with room for advancement
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLMarch 18, 2019
Working was fun when the days were busy and when they were not it was very boring. I learned sales skills and better person to person communication. The workplace culture was competitive but enjoyable.
Pros
commission
Cons
sometimes work by yourself
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed but Competitive
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Richfield, WIFebruary 20, 2019
Each day you are given a sales goal both for the store and for you personally. This helps drive competition and build focus so you know what you need to focus on. The culture is incredibly fun and the only hard part of the job is during slow months when you do not see many customers.
Pros
Relaxed but fun work environment
Cons
Slow months make shifts seem long
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNFebruary 4, 2019
Fun place to work. Sales goals are reachable. Commission could be better but benefits are great. Always got a discount on products and a great reward for staying a year
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sunglasses hut
Associate (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, INJanuary 25, 2019
I loved the people i worked with. We didn’t get very many customers and I felt like the work just wasn’t there. I needed something a little faster paced.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good mix of fashion and fun in the workplace
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Toms River, NJJanuary 21, 2019
The fashion and energy in the working place is amazing! The y have great competitions, commissions and incentives. Get to run to store by yourself teaching you how to run your own business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJanuary 17, 2019
working at sunglass hut will improve your speaking and people skills. sunglass hut has a coaching culture. everyone teaches everyone. the hardest part of the job is meeting sales goals. the most enjoyable part of the job is styling clients and helping them find the right fit for them. they light up!
Pros
commission
Cons
mainly work by yourself
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sunglass Hut. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,250 reviews
5471
4426
3244
257
152

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

2.4Personal Development

3.8Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight