Sunoco Employee Reviews

Found 1,023 reviews matching the search See all 1,036 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy paying job, difficult management with no set schedule
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Fredericksburg VAJune 12, 2019
Working at this job has given me more experience with customers and different environments but they also need better management and better understanding of the employee and there's time schedules along with fixing proper schedules, we also only had a few employees and we're only dependent on those few employees, when letting them know I put in my notice for that job they got mad at me and ended up putting me off the schedule completely.
Pros
Relaxed, moderate working pace
Cons
No set breaks, not set schedule, rude employees and overall miscommunication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not very good
Gas Clerk (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJune 5, 2019
poor work environment there wasn't a lot of communication when there should be and a lot of individuals was late more so on time with very poor management
Pros
work experinces
Cons
no help
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Overnight cashier (Former Employee) –  Cooper City, FLJune 3, 2019
cleaned store inside and out and fronted stocked store and all coolers and freezers cleaned pumps did cig and lotto count did my end of day and made breakfast and coffie
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady job
Gas Attendant (Former Employee) –  Woodcliff Lake, NJMay 30, 2019
Great place to work at if you're a highschool/college student. also nice side job for anyone looking. job was fast paced since everyone needs their gas. the managers are great people will help you with anything you need.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my work
Sr. Systems Engineer (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMay 30, 2019
I worked as contractor. Nice place to work, totally enjoyed the work culture, ferm process for everything which gives proper idea about what the employer's expectations with the employee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
career building
Territory Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 28, 2019
Job fairs to hire new talents to build new team focussed to customer service.
Focus on exceptional Customer service to keep them coming back by train & coach team to excel in customer service.
Cost control by monitoring ordering, waste factor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporation chain of Gas Stations
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Cranberry, PAMay 24, 2019
My personal experience with Sunoco was not so great. They don't follow the standard rules and there was a lot of things needs attention. The employees continuously moving in and out of the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Owner
Owner/Operator (Former Employee) –  Hebron, ohMay 21, 2019
Purchased the business and immediately turned it around and caught the attention of Shell. They purchased the business and kept me on as manager and eventually promoted me to operations manager of Scioto Oil. This involved 8 other locations.
Pros
Amazing owning your own business
Cons
Owning your own business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to work!
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Newtown Square, PAMay 15, 2019
Sonoco was one of the best companies I have ever worked for. Management was always there to offer solutions to problems. The workplace environment was positive and collaborative.
Pros
Quarterly, annual and Christmas bonuses
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I simply feel that Sunoco is a HORRIBLE place to work for.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield, VAMay 9, 2019
I worked for the same company for almost five years. Mind you this company had went through 4 (YES) FOUR buyouts.
Management was SNEAKY, conniving and EXTREMELY unprofessional.
Pros
The day I resigned
Cons
None Professional
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good starting point
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Port Aransas, TXMay 1, 2019
I worked at a high volume store and while we did have our busy shifts, the over environment was good, and I had a great set of managers that were willing to mentor me and help me grow.

I started as a Sales Associate, but there is always room to move up for Assistant manager or General Manager if you stick with the company; no complaints.
Pros
Competative Wages
Cons
No Overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sucks now
Fuel Transport Driver (Current Employee) –  Odessa, TXApril 24, 2019
This used to be a very good company to work for, but they were bought over by Energy Transfer, and everything went to south from there. We used to work between 70, and 78 hours a week., now we're working between 30, and 35 hours a week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager
Manager (Former Employee) –  Succasunna, NJApril 23, 2019
Overall it was a great place to be a manger for i enjoyed my time while i was there i would definitley like to tell anyone that wants to work at a gast station to work for a sunoco
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Cold weather
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a decebt job just looking for something different
Daves food mart (Former Employee) –  Norwalk, OHApril 20, 2019
I enjoyed working at Dave's Food Mart but I didn't really like working the 3rd shift any longer. I enjoyed working with my co-workers and I enjoyed being employed by them. Just wanted some change
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job better than nothinh
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh paApril 19, 2019
Where I worked involved alot of drug addicts and stoners. People are generally ok. Co-workers constant battle between daylight and evening and overnight. Easy money but not enough to live off of
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Comfortable place to work
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Fairport, NYApril 17, 2019
Management was great as well as the other members of the sunoco team. The hours are very flexible and i very much enjoyed my weekly schedule and other people I worked with.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
Overwhelming during the day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work life
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Watkins Glen, NYApril 16, 2019
working for sunoco just expanded on my customer service abilities. yoou deal with all kinds from really nice to really drunk depending on your shift. but overall it was a good experiance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allowed me to handle money very regularly.
Shift Lead (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 15, 2019
While the job itself is not difficult, the experience of handling money was very important. As a first job I highly recommend for that alone. However, it does not challenge someone if there are looking to make a career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly service and staff; great customer service
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Belle Valley, OHApril 15, 2019
It’s an enjoyable job, meeting new people and learning things about them. Just doesn’t pay well for two children and won’t get me by with the cost of living.
Pros
Breaks anytime
Cons
No paid raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my position
Retail Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYApril 12, 2019
I would love to still be with the company. They do need to work on hiring people that are willing to go above and beyond. They will hire anyone for management but will not make sure they are a good fit and hard working.
Cons
need to hire competent people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sunoco. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 1,036 reviews
5280
4299
3255
2104
198

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.3Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Sunoco.

Powered by Comparably