SUNY Geneseo Employee Reviews

Showing all 19 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technical support Assistant
Technical Support Assistant (Former Employee) –  Geneseo, NYJune 3, 2018
Served as a tier 3 technology specialist for the enitre campus of SUNY Geneseo. Worked with staff and students to get their machines running properly. Managed the self-help documents to make sure all steps and procedures were clear and concise for anyone to follow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent pay for the type of job with state benefits but the management stinks
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Facility ServicesMay 21, 2018
The pay is decent for the job (not enough for me to live off), the benefits are great because they are state benefits. The management and organization in Facility Services is terrible. For a liberal College there is a lot of bias, homophobia, misogyny, and nepotism. The supervisors love to play the favorites card and won't treat you fairly, they will bully you and try to get you fired. If they re-did the management/policies, I think it could be a good place to work. Also, during the summer they just change your hours and you can't do anything about it, and they don't even advise you during the interview or hiring process.
Pros
State benefits, decent pay (for your title)
Cons
Terrible organization & supervisors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun group and good environment
Writing Tutor (Former Employee) –  Geneseo, NYMarch 26, 2018
Training before starting to tutor was great. I felt very supported and comfortable in asking questions. Students you worked with really wanted to learn how to edit their papers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for a student looking for a start in research
Laboratory Instructor (Former Employee) –  Geneseo, NYMarch 26, 2018
This job is great for a student who is interested in the science or in teaching and wants to get a foot in the door. Great way to get to know your professors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy tutoring job!
Teaching Assistant, Tutor (Former Employee) –  Geneseo, NYFebruary 24, 2018
Worked here as a tutor for minimum wage. Nothing out of the ordinary, just a nice job for supplemental income while in school. Hours never really exceeded 10-15 per week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Spanish Tutor (Current Employee) –  Geneseo, NYJanuary 25, 2018
The views inside and out of the classrooms are incomparable. This calming and collaborative environment inspires all to persevere. I feel at home when at Geneseo.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not friendly to military service people.
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Geneseo, NYSeptember 18, 2017
The job was good and the pay and benefits were great. I was not a fan of the over night working hours. My supervisor was not supportive of my Navy Reserve career and harassed me constantly about having to have time off for my military obligations. I finally was forced to resign my job due to her harassment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for with a nice boss.
Painter (Former Employee) –  Geneseo, NYAugust 28, 2017
SUNY Geneseo was a nice place to work. I learned alot about maintenance and painting. It was a laid back workplace. The boss was very nice and accommidating .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice part time job while attending an undergraduate institution
Personal Trainer (Former Employee) –  Geneseo, NYAugust 23, 2017
I would schedule my own personal training clients and sessions.
At the initial meeting, we would discuss goals and how often they would be willing to come in and exercise. Following the initial meeting, I would construct a custom workout plan for each individual client. It was wonderfully rewarding to track each individual's progress and show them how much they were progressing nearly every session.
Pros
Flexible work schedule
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational Workplace
AOP Tutor (Current Employee) –  SUNY GeneseoApril 11, 2017
Peer tutoring in Applied Calculus, Math 213
Weekly lesson planning and working in groups
Adapting and being flexible with teaching skills to students
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Practical workplace
AOP Tutor (Current Employee) –  Milne Library, CAEMarch 14, 2017
Working at SUNY Geneseo within a number of jobs over the past 4 years, I can say that it is very student-oriented and conscious of student needs. However, it is not the most efficient of pay systems. As a student worker, you are supposed to receive a paycheck every two weeks. However, this process is often delayed due to a large number of factors and I found myself questioning when my paychecks would actually come in.
Pros
Leniency in scheduling
Cons
Lack of organization and communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, healthy work environment
Graduate Counselor (Former Employee) –  Access Opportunity ProgramsJune 12, 2015
The work staff is wonderful, very supportive, intimate environment, and this was a great staff for a first job out of College!
Pros
Supportive, c lose knit staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work.....
Assistant Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Geneseo, NYJanuary 30, 2015
Great place to work.
Good NYS benefits.
Good Co-workers.
We work and operate like a normal garage.
We have the time to get it done right.
we have the tools to get the job done right.
Pros
Lot of time off.
Cons
Winter weather.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience that taught me something new everyday.
Teaching Assistant: Physical Anthropology (Current Employee) –  Geneseo, NYOctober 23, 2014
I have worked at SUNY Geneseo during my time there as a student a few times. Each instance was better than the last.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work environment
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Geneseo, NYJune 28, 2014
Co-workers and management work well together in order to make sure that all visitors have a enjoyable and safe time in the pool.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with student interaction
Teaching Assistant in Physical Anthropology (Former Employee) –  Geneseo, NYApril 9, 2014
This position was held for the duration of the Physical Anthropology course, which amounted to one semester in college. Duties included attending classes, addressing student questions, holding weekly office hours, proofreading and grading student papers, holding review sessions before exams, sending emails, and facilitating professor/student communications. This job aided in the development of time management skills, public speaking skills, and organization.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun challenging and rewarding
Resident Assist. & S.A. Event Planner (Former Employee) –  Geneseo, NYJanuary 22, 2014
amazing learning experience in team work professionalism and leadership skills.
Pros
free stipends
Cons
full time job with school
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to be a student.
Reading Clinician/Tutor (Former Employee) –  Geneseo, NYSeptember 22, 2013
Great professors and XC/Track and Field programs. Teacher education program is NCATE accredited.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SUNY Geneseo. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.6
Based on 19 reviews
513
44
32
20
10

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
4.1Job Security/Advancement
4.3Management
4.4Culture

SUNY Geneseo Reviews by Location