SUNY Oswego

Reviewer Recommended

Recommended Workplaces earn this badge by having an average star rating of 4.2 or higher in the last two years, and at least 10 reviews from Indeed users.

SUNY Oswego Employee Reviews

Showing all 74 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely
Head Desk Attendant (Former Employee) –  Oswego, NYMarch 27, 2018
Excellent way to make extra money while living on campus and even while living off campus. Shifts worked well for me around weird class times and allowed for me to maintain employment and still passing grades.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Club
President (Former Employee) –  Oswego, NYMarch 21, 2018
If you want to get things done, join this club, tons of freedom for Go-getters

Fantastic advisor

Competition is a great experience for both building presentation skills, learning project management strategies and skill building
Pros
Networking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced, fun, relaxed
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Oswego, NYMarch 20, 2018
This was a good first job for over the summer, I was a student worker and it was a lot of fun. Most of the other employees were really nice and helpful. You learn a lot of new things working here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Assistant Professor (Current Employee) –  Oswego, NYMarch 17, 2018
Pros: good students; fair pay; nice location (if you like rural cities). Cons: Using dated methods for creating and delivering content. Fear of change.
Pros
Good student
Cons
Management/culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place for work study
CATERER (Former Employee) –  Oswego, NYMarch 13, 2018
loved being all around campus and involved in all the activities around school. great job to have while studying and a great way to make extra money for the bookstore or coffee.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible Workplace
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee) –  Oswego, NYMarch 11, 2018
Occasional staff meetings
Enjoyable co-workers
Management is helpful
Hardest part is connecting with other universities
Everyday I learn effective leadership skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Planning Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Oswego, NYFebruary 16, 2018
I have work for SUNY Oswego for over eight years and loved every moment of it. I have worked for three different departments and have been treated well by all.
Pros
Great coworkers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Grounds Crew (Former Employee) –  Oswego, NYFebruary 9, 2018
Was a good place to work. Fair wages and hours. Kept busy during the days and were trained properly to ensure you had safety and did a good job. Would recommend as a summer job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a good job
Academic Custodian (Former Employee) –  Oswego, NYFebruary 5, 2018
This was one of the better jobs I have ever had. The people here were friendly and helpful. The pay was pretty good and the hours were consistent. It was only a temporary, summer job though.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with my boss
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Oswego, NY 13126February 2, 2018
I love this job because i was able to meet new people and learn different ways on how to understand customers especially my boss as well. I also improved on my computer skills, communication skills and writing.
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
Breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
drywall laborer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 24, 2018
Great place to learn and grow as a professional and as a student. Always helpful is the entire department and school. Being a state school and working for NY is fantastic
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and professional experience
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee) –  New York StateJanuary 9, 2018
Working as a Graduate Assistant at SUNY Oswego has been a rewarding experience. There are many opportunities to work in various department across campus. Although, in most scenarios, the annual stipend does not account for the the amount of work expected in such roles, the overall first-hand experience is most valuable.
Pros
Healthcare benefits, relaxed work environment, professional growth & experience
Cons
Graduate Assistants are under paid for the amount of work expected, frequently expected to go over hours but not compensated
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varied Work, Great way to learn Autodesk tools
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Oswego, NYDecember 18, 2017
I worked here as a part of a summer program for college students. I was given the task of updating floor plans and ensuring the accuracy of the physical space inventory. Later I worked with architects during some of the campus' renovation projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Orientation
Orientation Team Captain (Former Employee) –  Oswego, NYNovember 8, 2017
I worked Orientation every year I was at Oswego. I loved the experiences and felt like it gave me many skills I can transfer to other jobs. It was a summer position, only some school year opportunities available depending on the position that I had.
Pros
Fun, supportive, team oriented
Cons
Not full year
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dining Hall Only
Dining Hall Worker (Former Employee) –  Oswego, NYOctober 22, 2017
I don't think this site realizes I was just a student working at the dining hall, but if this is what you're applying for go for it. Mostly all students, min wage, good for beer money.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace and great resume builder
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oswego, NYAugust 16, 2017
Worked in the MBA Department creating a campaign for the program to seek out prospective students. I was able to go in and teach myself many skills I needed to successfully create marketing material that i am able to utilize in my portfolio.
Pros
Flexible work schedule
Cons
Last minute assignments with short deadlines
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff was very welcoming and enjoyable to work with
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oswego, NYJuly 31, 2017
The most enjoyable part of the job were the students and fellow employees. The workplace culture was very accommodating when it came to meeting my needs as a graduate assistant with a young family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oswego, NYJuly 16, 2017
great environment, relaxed workplace, all over good workers. loved the work I did as an RA, I feel as though i helped a lot of students in their academic and living situations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Dining Hall Worker (Former Employee) –  Oswego, NYJuly 7, 2017
A typical day at work involves washing the plates and cups in the dish room, organizing utensils and prep food. The job includes cleaning the dining hall and serving food. The job allows you to work with your supervisors. The workplace was friendly and team based. The most enjoyable part about the job was the comfortable environment with the other students.
Pros
Eat lunch before students
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student only job
Grounds Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Oswego, NYMay 22, 2017
Fun work environment. Luxury of spending the m majority of the time outside. Learned how to operate many different types of outdoor machinery. Never felt unsafe. Great management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SUNY Oswego. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 74 reviews
540
424
38
20
12

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.3Culture

SUNY Oswego Reviews by Location