SUNY Oswego Employee Reviews

Showing all 74 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oswego, NYJanuary 17, 2014
Great place to learn on the job skills and network with great people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Note Taker (Former Employee) –  Oswego, NYAugust 19, 2013
During this time I would provide information and notes in a classroom settings to students that were labeled disabled. Helping students anonymously by provided a break down of each lesson plan was very rewarding. This job allowed students to be able to succeed since it provided the information in a way easier for the student to learn.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worth it
Math Tutor / Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oswego NYAugust 9, 2013
Management was mostly hands-off. On a typical day tutoring I would interact solely with tuttees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment, Amazing Area Coordinator.
Graduate Resident Mentor (Former Employee) –  Oswego, NYJune 12, 2013
The premiere graduate assistantship on SUNY Oswego.
Two graduate course
1000$ Stipend
Year round apartment.
Pros
Benefits including full room and board. Supportive Area Coordinators
Cons
Staff morale is dictated by Hall Director
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place
Resident Assistant - RSS (Current Employee) –  Oswego, NYFebruary 19, 2013
other schools are better, keep looking
managment has little knolidge and all dont agree witheach other
compinsation is much less than most schools
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and exciting workplace
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oswego, NYFebruary 11, 2013
On a typical day I would tutor any students in need of Economics tutoring. I learned better ways to explain the material to students. The hardest part of the job was having to teach something to a student that was not adequately taught to me. The most enjoyable part was getting through to the students and having them return for more tutoring sessions.
Pros
teaching the students new things
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being a teaching assistant
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oswego, NYFebruary 11, 2013
In a typical day I would hand out quizzes or tests then collecting them and bringing them to the grading center. I would also assist in grading extra credit assignments and well as take class attendance. I learned what it was like to be a professor through my job as a teaching assistant. I can't say there was a hard part to the job, unless it was snowing on a day where I had to administer a test then climb through the snow to deliver them to the grading center.
Pros
opportunities that opened up through this experience
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Public Relations Officer (Former Employee) –  Oswego, NYJanuary 15, 2013
Awesome bunch of volunteers to work with! Everyone was passionate about the organization and indeed wanted to see it progress. I must say that with that there was a lot of head butting going on but all in all, it was a wonderful experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great school with a good tutoring program
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Oswego, NYSeptember 13, 2012
I worked with students struggling in their French classes or trying to improve their performance throughout the fall and spring semesters, including extra sessions before the final exams.

This was great experience for teaching and dealing with struggling students. The most enjoyable part was finding out that the students' grades were improving. The hardest part was trying to help the students that clearly did not want to be there and wouldn't show up most of the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Broad Array of Responsibilities
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oswego, NYSeptember 5, 2012
Enjoyed being depended upon for ideas as well as for the construction of many items such as websites, flash banners, forms, certificates, data analyses and graphics. Both bosses were challenging yet personable and fun to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Student Seasonal Worker, SUNY (Former Employee) –  Oswego, NYJune 20, 2012
I was a summer student worker and helped get the academic buildings get ready for the following school year
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful professional environment to learn
Assistant to the Dean of Graduate Studies (Former Employee) –  Oswego, NYJune 19, 2012
SUNY Oswego employs a large group of residents of Oswego and the surrounding areas. Compensation was more than expected. The only drawback is that there isn't much room to move up until the people above you retire or accept a different job. Employees, administration, and staff are all enjoyable!
Pros
flexible hours, varied responsibilities
Cons
upward mobility is slow
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dance Shows
Per Diem Stage Manager (Former Employee) –  Oswego, NYMay 10, 2012
It was interesting to find out what goes on behind the scenes of a show
Pros
not sure of any
Cons
not sure of any
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SUNY Oswego. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 74 reviews
540
424
38
20
12

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.3Culture

SUNY Oswego Reviews by Location