Sur La Table Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company to work for!
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Naples, FLSeptember 17, 2018
In working for this company It was truly an honor to not only educate the incoming customers but also the education that we as employees received through all the vendors that Sur La Table had. We had monthly and biweekly incentives. The company has excellent standards, fantastic management and is very well-versed and how to work the floor we were taught and trained and everything that I learned I gained experience when I walked away from the company. They are fair in their pay, I wish I could’ve worked full-time but at the time I was only able to do part however management was very flexible and very kind and all staff got along!
Pros
Great company to work for
Cons
Great company to work for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management
Keyholder (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVSeptember 15, 2018
They don’t care about their employees. Boss is hardly ever on the sales floor. Doesn’t have a clue what is going on. Sales staff are cutthroat despite the fact there is no commission.
Pros
Kitchen staff are nice
Cons
Cutthroat staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned so much over the years
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Santa Barbara, CASeptember 11, 2018
The manager did not know what she was doing at times. She did not know how to delegate tasks. she would come in and work when she was not supposed to.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work part time
Sales Floor Lead/Shopper/Kitchen Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALSeptember 10, 2018
I love working at Sur la Table, but they don't pay very much. If you love cooking, then you will probably enjoy working here. I worked in the kitchen and on the floor and loved both.
Pros
discounts
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
OWNER/SALES MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Brownsburg, INSeptember 5, 2018
learned a lot of different jobs which give me the chance to apply and move to different jobs and advance up in company. good pay with good benefits and 401k
Pros
benefits
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want to be a minimum wage dishwasher and be taken advantage of by the Resident Chef to do their job, too, have a ball
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCAugust 24, 2018
Unfortunately, Sur la Table COULD be a great place to work, but it isn't. Chef Instructors are great, but never get the hours they want/need and constantly take the fall for poorly organized and prepared Resident Chef. Worst pay around. No control of your work week despite the corporate S.O.P's that pretend it is. Time clock issues that only favor the corporation. Nothing beyond average reviews no matter how many paragraphs of praise are included. Can't keep good help. Complete structural and procedural inconsistency. In short, if you are not applying for one of the three top jobs, I wouldn't. Corporate doesn't care, top dogs don't either, it's all about their bonuses. You are expendable, even though they never seem to be able to replace anyone. Too bad, it could so easily have been a great experience for all the good people there who keep trying to make it so.
Pros
Well fed, sometimes. Some wonderful and knowledgeable colleagues/clients
Cons
Lousy pay, Corporate mindset that only the top staff matter. No advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to learn new things
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Southlake, TXAugust 18, 2018
It is a fun place to work if your a foodie. You can learn lots of new kitchen tools and you get a great discount there. And the cooking classes are a lot of fun
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Job
Floor Lead (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDAugust 18, 2018
Loved working here! I learned so much about culinary arts and they even have cooking classes! Very well run place from management all the way down to sales associates.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seasonal job
order picker (Former Employee) –  Brownsburg, INAugust 15, 2018
Management had no clue what other departments were doing and could cause lots of problems. almost no way to move up without spending lotssss of time here. very strict absence/tardy policy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed workplace, discount is great
Sails associate (Current Employee) –  Southlake, TXAugust 8, 2018
It’s a great place to work for fun, I love to cook so I got the job to use the 40% off discount and thus far have spent $7,000... so far. My particular manager doesn’t give out many hours to anyone so his bonus at the end of the year is bigger.
Pros
Discount
Cons
No benefits and low hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful workplace and poor management
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 7, 2018
No room for growth and management will be ruthless towards underlings. Makes workers feel upset without remorse and would not recommend. Always short on staff so hours are poured upon you and you are guilted into coming in even on your off days.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great discount but not much else
Sales (Former Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAAugust 6, 2018
a very generous 40% discount on most products but management is lazy and ineffective at best. zero training, one must be prepared to pick things up on their own very quickly. worth it for the discount if you're making a few larger purchases
Pros
flexible schedule, generous discount
Cons
low pay, no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun classes, stressful managment
Culinary Lead (Former Employee) –  Hollywood, CAJuly 23, 2018
Teaching cooking classes was amazing. Utilizing my skills to be able to complete tasks on the daily was fun. I loved every second I was in that kitchen. Unfortunately, behind the scenes, management was very rude and condescending. You could never live up to their standards, no matter what.
Pros
Learn new cooking techniques
Cons
short breaks, long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Coconut Creek, FLJuly 16, 2018
Hard work and labor extensive. Fun part is learning to make delicious cuisine with the cookware and gadgets sold in the store. Compensation is low for sales associates which reflects in the quality of the work .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
had very outgoing team
Retail Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Walnut Creek, CAJune 28, 2018
had a wonderful time with this company, typical days usually consisted of either opening or closing the store, helping customers with any questions about products, looked over bank deposits, assisted in early morning deliveries, and taking care of the store when the GM was not present
Pros
wonderful team of people
Cons
when customers belittle you because you work retail.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool Place To Work
Direct Associate (Former Employee) –  Brownsburg, INJune 27, 2018
It was a cool place to work, management was relaxed and understanding. The training was efficient and they allowed for learning at one's own pace. The only downside was the pay. Other than that, it was a great place to work with awesome people.
Pros
Great place, Good hours
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal Job
Retail Sales Staff (Former Employee) –  Santa Barbara, CA 93101June 18, 2018
My job at Sur La Table was seasonal. During the holidays, they hire as many part-time people to meet consumer demands. If you just want something simple and part-time, Sur La Table is a good place to be.
Pros
Employee discounts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Clinton Township, MIJune 15, 2018
Excellent people to work with or for. Laidback workplace but extremely helpful to all. The most enjoyable part of working there are the awesome customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Store Floor Lead (Former Employee) –  Dublin, CAJune 13, 2018
not enough help, no adequate training on the variety of products that are sold. great group of women i worked with that became life long friends. there needs to be organizations in the company. i enjoyed learning about all the products.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAJune 13, 2018
the hardest part of working for this company is there wasn’t enough room to grow with the company. If your in a sales position, your pretty much stuck there. That is until (maybe) there’s Opportunity that opens at
Pros
Encouraging atmosphere
Cons
Not enough time to move you to a management position
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sur La Table. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 265 reviews
567
489
366
226
117

See reviews about

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.4

2.3Personal Development

3.1Career Opportunities

2.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight