Surf and Sand Resort Employee Reviews

Found 9 reviews matching the search See all 10 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this place
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Laguna Beach, CAMarch 15, 2018
I enjoyed morning shifts from 7am-3pm because I was still able to go home and do what I needed. Night shifts were rough because it was 3-11pm, therefore, by the time I went home, I was already off to bed. Management was awesome. I loved my manager and supervisors because they were always willing to help.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Hated night shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place
Front Office Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Laguna Beach, CAJanuary 21, 2018
Great place to work. Management is great and very kind. The property is old and has a lot of challenges but management does a great job at communicating these difficulties so all staff is informed. I would continue to work here if there was more room for advancement.
Pros
Provided lunch/dinner
Cons
Horrible guests
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere
Server (Current Employee) –  Laguna Beach, CAOctober 6, 2017
Casual elegance at its finest. Not as stuck up as other similarly priced places in the area. Management is generally willing to work with you, but there is still a lot demanded of a server. This is a fast-paced environment that is stress inducing, so not for everyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Massage Therapist
Massage Therapist (Former Employee) –  Laguna Beach, CAJuly 2, 2014
I worked as a massage therapist where on a daily basis, I engaged with a wide variety of customers. It was great interacting with clients. The spa was located in a 5 star resort with beautiful grounds, right on the beach in Laguna. Management and co-workers were great.
Pros
Location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Location. Beautiful Resort
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Laguna Beach, CAApril 26, 2014
Gained a lot of experience. Great location. Excellent healthcare and 401K.
Pros
Free lunches.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place with beautiful views
Front Desk Assistant (Former Employee) –  Laguna Beach, CAApril 14, 2014
I would start the day with the typical guest check-ins and assisting guests to their room is needed. If necessary I would help with dining reservations and answering incoming phone call to the hotel if the lines were busy.

Management throughout the day was there and readily available if needed. My coworkers were friendly and reliable.

The hardest part of my job there was having to leave, this is because of the location it is at.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the people I was able to work with and call my friends. They were super friendly and always helpful in stressful situations.
Pros
The location was amazing. The sunrise/sunset
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice coastal location
Maintenance Engineer (Former Employee) –  Laguna Beach, CAAugust 29, 2013
Responding to service requests over two way radio.Changing out light bulbs.Restoring power to guest rooms via circuit breakers at electrical rooms.Clearing kitchen and guest room drains.Troubleshoot cable television system.I have learned better people skills.Sometimes the hardest part of the job may be to unclog a stubborn guest room sink drain.The most enjoyable would be attending an employee event.
Pros
Work with ocean view
Cons
plumming issues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Laid Back Way to Balance Life/Work
1555 Cocktail Lounge Server (Current Employee) –  Laguna Beach, CAAugust 2, 2012
The resort does not take training or cultivating their brand seriously. You attend an orientation and an excellence training, but the resources and support are not readily available to act on the training. All of the leadership team is nice and they know about their respective areas of management, but they do not really engage or motivate the associates to perform better or to make the guest experience memorable. There may be one or two managers who do this, but if the entire staff is against it and resistant to change and to go above and beyond, then it will never catch on. The hardest part of the job is the attitude of some associates who do not want to go above and beyond, they want to get in and get out. The most enjoyable part of the job is the flexibility of the schedule and the gorgeous oceanfront setting.
Pros
free adequate employee cafeteria, oceanfront setting, flexible schedule, no micro-managing
Cons
resources not readily available, lack of motivation, no brand culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Surf and Sand Resort reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Surf and Sand Resort. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 10 reviews
54
42
32
20
12

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

Surf and Sand Resort Reviews by Location