Surgical Care Affiliates Employee Reviews

3.2
Overall rating
Based on 104 reviews
Ratings breakdown
528
422
318
217
119
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 104 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team work is a big part of SCA
Insurance Verification Representative (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 16, 2018
Exhibiting company values is always the main focus. Leadership is always eager to know how they can better help their teammates. The overall environment is enjoyable and professional.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mediocare
Patient Account Resolution (Current Employee) –  Carmel, INJuly 5, 2018
after being told i have all the technical aspects several times i was not promoted stating i was not the right fit. in other words, i am not popular enough, and most likely to honest to get the job done. I do everything a lead or manager does they just dont want to loose a good person as a teammate because of fear of the workflow, other than than that i do like the team i work with, leadership is the challenge
Pros
nice team
Cons
leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very catty environemtn
SPD Technician (Former Employee) –  Vernon Hills, ILJune 25, 2018
the staff are allowed to run this place. management does not care about their employees and typical processes and rules are not followed and practice as they should be
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Pacu Nurse/Same day Surgery Nurse (Current Employee) –  Upland, CAJune 14, 2018
Great way for nurses to obtain skills. I enjoyed preparing here and would recommend it for any nurse that is trying to achieve critical thinking skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing work place and team mate support.
Medical Records Clerk (Current Employee) –  Greensboro, NCApril 29, 2018
Allowed to work independent and enforces teammate support to help ensure patients get quality care. The most enjoyable part of the job is patients corresponding with patients.
Pros
Off on holidays.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and competetive environment
Medical Biller/Collector (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAApril 5, 2018
Very busy and at times cut throat competitive. Overall, the companies objective goals within the healthcare billing and followup industry is good. The employees are experienced and knowledgeable and fun to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depressing workplace
Revenue Cycle Analyst (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 3, 2018
Depressing, unhappy workplace. Management is bias, shows favoritism, plays employees against each other. Will not allow employees to disagree or critic and offer improvement.
Pros
Free lunch sometimes
Cons
Will not allow employees to disagree or critic and offer improvement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insurance Verification
Insurance Verification (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMarch 12, 2018
-Verifying medical insurance for patients scheduled for outpatient surgery
-obtain authorizations for procedures using procedure and diagnosis codes
-collaborate with doctor's offices in terms of obtaining medical records and documents electronically
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Benefits Specialist (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXFebruary 26, 2018
Company was a great to work with. Manage were top notch and great place to go to work. Enjoy my fellow co workers and training environment was condusive to learning on the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly atmosphere
Front office - Collector (Former Employee) –  Encinitas, CAFebruary 22, 2018
A typical day at work starts off fast pace, quick thinking and solving issues right on spot. I learned that you have to greet everyone with a smile because the patients want to know they are in great hands because the patients are about to have surgery. Management was very pleasant even though the office was missing a office manager. The workplace culture was a wide variety. Hardest part of the job was waking up at 3:30 am to Drive 1 1/2 hours to work, but it was nice getting off at 2:30 in afternoon.
The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new people and working with a great group of staff. Starting with MD's, nurses down to janitorial workers.
Pros
Free lunches, Friendly staff
Cons
long drive to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice
Sterile Processing Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Redding, CAJanuary 26, 2018
good place to work. Benefits are not great. where i work there is alot of family that is related to upper management. This makes it difficult on other people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terminated for attendance (due to diabetes)
AR Collections (Former Employee) –  Irving (Los Colinas), TXJanuary 14, 2018
Diagnosed w/ diabetes 2nd day there & missed for doc appts, lab work, and adjusting to medication. They do have PTO, but must request 2wks in advance.
Pros
Absolutely none!
Cons
After terminating me, they tried to say a resigned a week later! SCA has NO integrity, dignity, nor respect and consideration for thei employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Accounts Receivable Specialist (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJanuary 9, 2018
It's a cut throat type of company. They play favorites and doesn't not give the recognition to those who deserve it. They are one- sided when it comes to situations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional environment
Pre and Post-Operative RN (Current Employee) –  Belleville, ILJanuary 3, 2018
Great place to work. All of the people who work at SCA are professional and caring. Management is very flexible and work with nurses schedules when possible.
Pros
Flexible schedule as a PRN
Cons
Not always busy, low census creates long periods for PRN's when there are no hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect
Supervisor of Cleaning Services (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCNovember 2, 2017
Is a great place to work unfotunality I had to move to Chicago is the only reason I'm not work for them. Pay was great,hours perfect,benefits great..
Pros
Great company
Cons
Non
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Life Balance
Manager, Insurance Verification (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXOctober 30, 2017
No work life balance - 12+ hours days
Managed a team of 20 without the help of a lead
Constant change, hard to keep all systems in place
The team I managed was fabulous
Pros
Loved my team
Cons
work life balance non existant
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Business Office Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXOctober 22, 2017
Great place to work for the most part. Management is inconsistent and shows favoritism and some race favoring. Managers need more training and HR needs to be more involved.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exellent place to work
Surgical Technologist (Former Employee) –  Mount Laurel, NJOctober 8, 2017
I loved working there I was there for 8 years. Very busy and fast paced. The doctors are amazing and staff as well. I also loved to teach new techs. We did a lot of eyes which is one of my specialties.
I loved to orient new employees and doctors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Day
Verification Specialist (Current Employee) –  Irving, TXSeptember 25, 2017
A typical work day telephone ringing, verify insurance from start to finish. A very quiet environment. The management does not listen to the employees very much unless it benefits the corporate culture. The changes and decisions are made by management.
Pros
The do have fun
Cons
Advancement is non-existant, do not like to hire people
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely poor management , starting with the administrator
RN Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Vernon Hills, ILSeptember 18, 2017
I worked at SCA for many years, and finally due to dishonest, inexperienced management I finally left. Staffing management is poor leading to extremely long days or cutting your hours. Focus is on physician satisfaction. The administrator has been in place for a long time. She lacks any experience outside of SCA, therefore does not know how manage the staff. She has proven track record of dishonesty and places managers under her that are also inexperienced . There is no Human Resources on site, problems are directed to a home office location in Alabama, which allow the administrator to get away with many things. Focus is on the numbers, not the quality of patient care. If you can admit, turn over a room, and recover a patient in record time, despite how the patient feels, then this is where you should work. This is not the place to work if you want to practice safe and quality nursing.
Pros
Benefit package
Cons
Dishonest administrator
Was this review helpful?Yes 25NoReport