Swarthmore College Employee Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Based on 23 reviews
Ratings breakdown
57
412
34
20
10
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 22 reviews matching the search See all 23 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work but pay is lacking
IT Specialist (Current Employee) –  Swarthmore, PAFebruary 1, 2018
This is a great place to work with great people. It truly is like a community. However, as with more jobs in academia, the pay is lacking. The benefits help offset this, but a better salary can be found elsewhere.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good placde to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Swarthmore, PAJune 28, 2017
Swarthmore College is a very good place for people that want to work in College environment. Typical day was nice and quite productive. I was glad to work with my Managers dough. The con part was to get stable schedule working hours.
Pros
good pay and benefits
Cons
not stable working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Support Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Swarthmore, PAJune 1, 2017
The work environment was friendly. The benefits and compensation for employees were top-notch. Very little opportunity to move up in the school, most of the hiring is done externally.
Pros
Benefits and compensation
Cons
Little opportunity for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good workplace to respect students
An intern (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAApril 30, 2017
Generally, I have lessons to students everyday, do homework correction, office hour and Chinese table twice a week. Sometimes, I help the teacher to design the final exam paper.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Accounting Assistant & Cashier (Former Employee) –  Swarthmore, PAApril 26, 2017
I liked working at the college but was not offered a full time position, if I had been offered the position I would of accepted and still would be working there
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Geat
Server (Former Employee) –  Swarthmore, PAFebruary 28, 2017
Really enjoyed my time here and was very well-compensated. Great rapport with students from all over the world. Great food which you can eat around shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great place to be Employed by.
Shuttle Driver/Public Safety Officer (Former Employee) –  Swarthmore, PAFebruary 17, 2017
Worked on a Part Time basis. My responsibilities included picking
Students up at Designated location and transporting to other campus Locations or off Campus locations.
Pros
Benefits, Compensation, Friendly Environment
Cons
Inconvenient work hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great students, faculty and staff
Financial & Admin Co-ordinator (Current Employee) –  Swarthmore, PAAugust 11, 2016
Located in beautiful Swarthmore, PA, Swarthmore College is a wonderful place to work. All staff members are supportive and engaging. There are many opportunities for professional development and advancement at the College.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, small community
Boiler Operator (Former Employee) –  Swarthmore, PAAugust 21, 2015
Good environment to work in
Supervision could be micromanaging at times
Pay was ok, about average for the field
Benefits were nice
Not a lot of room for advancement unless someone dies or retires
Pros
Arboretum
Cons
Small ttown syndrome
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job where I got to watch soccer
Soccer Team Videographer (Former Employee) –  Swarthmore, PAMay 27, 2015
I videotaped the soccer games and got to travel with the team. The only part that was difficult was keeping my hands warm enough when it started to get cold out. But all in all it was a really fun job.
Pros
Lots of soccer
Cons
Gets very cold at the end of the season.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice campus
Environmental Services Crew Leader (Current Employee) –  Swarthmore, PAMay 12, 2015
It is a very nice place to work, I have the freedom of running my crew my way. My co-workers are amazing and do a great job for me
Pros
Gourgous campus
Cons
Not enough time to get major projects done because the campus is so busy all year long
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Swarthmore College
Statistical Paleontology Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Swarthmore CollegeNovember 25, 2014
I absolutely love studying computer science and statistics at Swarthmore College. The combination of intellectual rigor and learning as a community are what draw me here. I am currently a Statistical Paleontology Research Assistant and I run the help clinic for our Statistical Methods class.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A real nice campus
Public Safety Officer (Current Employee) –  Swarthmore, PANovember 21, 2014
Swarthmore is a enjoyable place to work,but the hardest part of the job is dealing with the office politics. They have a great benefit and Pay. Overall the people are nice and professional and alway willing to help and teach.
Pros
We get paid well
Cons
A bit slow on acting on staff concerns
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Coach (Former Employee) –  Swarthmore, PAJuly 31, 2014
Great people
Top level higher learning institution
Diverse campus and community
Always at the forefront of political issues
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intrinsically interesting place of employment
Electronics Instructor (Former Employee) –  Swarthmore, PAMarch 23, 2014
I am currently retired and interested in working in the field of electronics where I can bring my skills to a new marketplace.

Over my lifetime career I have managed students in daily lab skill.

At RCA I rose to a mid level postion at Corporate Staff NYC, and had an office in Washington DC to interface with the FCC.

Travel was the hardest part of the work.

Working on the edge of technology was always the most enjoyable part of the work I did.
Pros
educational assistance
Cons
Long travel distance
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to improve your IT knowledge.
Information Technology Student Associate (Former Employee) –  Swarthmore, PAMarch 17, 2014
Working in IT at a small school like Swarthmore, you have to be knowledgeable about a wide range of technologies. You learn a ton on the job, and co-workers are almost always willing to lend a helping hand when tricky tickets come in. The more you put into the job, the more you'll get out of it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work at .
Environmental Services (Former Employee) –  Swarthmore, PAFebruary 19, 2014
It was a self paced work place that only required supervision on certain tasks.
Pros
1 hr lunch break not on campus.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful campus
Access and Lending Assistant (Former Employee) –  Swarthmore, PAFebruary 10, 2014
A stunning, beautiful campus environment. Swarthmore students are motivated and inspiring and I really enjoyed working with them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware - Highly recommend not applying for this particular department.
Former employee (Current Employee) –  Media, PAJune 5, 2013
Department manager adheres to a "Do as I say" not "Do as I do" philosophy, department has a history of rampant turnover and low morale among deans as well as AA's, department has a very poor reputation campus-wide, no campus employees apply for these vacancies, department management is unprofessional and borders on incompetent, highly recommend waiting to apply for positions in other departments that may become available.
Pros
Great benefits (health and retirement);overall the college is a nice place to work
Cons
Lack of college administrators to recognize department dysfunction
Was this review helpful?Yes 35No 13Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fostered great environment for academic and personal growth
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Swarthmore, PAApril 10, 2013
I was a grader and TA who worked alongside the tenured professors in the engineering department to create a peer-guidance program for both academic improvement and time-management skills.
Pros
diverse intellectually and socially
Cons
small population
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Swarthmore College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

4.8InHerSight Score

4.6Personal Development

5.0Career Opportunities

5.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Swarthmore College Reviews by Location