Swedish Covenant Hospital Employee Reviews

Showing all 126 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get Team
Sitter (Former Employee) –  ChicagoDecember 3, 2018
I had a great experience working at SCH with my team. The only downside to it all was management and the inability to get a response from emails or calls. It was very disheartening that it was like that to be honest. I would've had a excellent review for SCH but the management issue was really bad.
Pros
free food, team work, volunteer opportinities
Cons
management not returning any form of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality Non-profit Community-based Teaching hospital that cares
Temp HR Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 20, 2018
Good positive environment, dedicated to community and to integrity with quality healthcare a focus.There are many long-term dedicated managers that have been there for 10, 20 and even 30 years.
Pros
Great environment, great culture, committed to community
Cons
pay is lower than at larger hospitals/networks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review of Swedish Hospital
team member (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 3, 2018
Good co-workers that were always ready to put the patients first.
We worked together to get the job done as safely and efficiently as possible. Our management fostered an enviroment of working together and provided us with followup to let us know how people we were concerned about did.
Pros
atmosphere of being a team working to a goal
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Family
Pain Management - Scheduling Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 29, 2018
From the start the company felt warm and friendly. the collaboration between coworkers in the office was great to the point we support and encourage each others growth and felt like I was working with a family.
Pros
Friendly coworkers
Cons
Very busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commitment to Diversity
Director (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 20, 2018
Swedish is very much a family oriented facility. They embrace the community and the patients really enjoy coming here for their care. The patients served here are from a variety of ethnic and cultural backgrounds and Swedish strives to deliver care in a culturally sensitive and manner.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Working Environment
Intern: Sourcing Contract Administrator (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 7, 2018
Great organization to work for. Friendly and supportive co-workers. The hospital cares a lot about their patients, families and community they serve. There are a lot of programs for seniors and for the homeless that the hospital provides.
Pros
Free lunch for interns
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work Environtment
Emergency Room Technician (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 10, 2018
Great coworkers. Working in the ED makes for a lot of learning and taking in new information every day. All this is easier when you have a positive and supportive staff/coworkers
Pros
Great woworkers
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
OB/Postpartum Nurse (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 26, 2018
Swedish has been the Cornerstone to start my career in nursing. On-the-job-training is impeccable. There are a lot of opportunities to progress with in the hospital and management sees to that happening.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment to work
Staff nurse in PACU (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 6, 2018
great working environment, good benefits, comparable salary, offers opportunities for career development, offers skills training program to enhance competency .
Pros
small community hospital
Cons
moved to california
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job fresh out of school giving me all I need to know
Unit Assistant (C.N.A.) (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 25, 2018
I was a great experience very hands on. It was my first job fresh out of school I was very nervous but they was very patient and taught me everything I needed to Kno to do my job efficient and caredul
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Patient Transport (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 22, 2018
working at Swedish was really about being compassionate especially towards patients my job was to make sure patients and visitors were satisfied evervyday
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
RESPIRATOTY CARE PRACTITIONER (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 6, 2018
Swedish Covenant has a warm and friendly atmosphere, from the moment you walk through the doors of the hospital. Everyone is friendly, smile and greets you in such a way that makes you look forward to tackling what's ahead. Management always presented new ideas and ways of handling patient care, with patience and gentleness, keeping us in remembrance that these are lives in which are trusted with.
Pros
family orientated, teaching institution, compassion, technology driving
Cons
low salary base, limited use of skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relax
Medical/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 18, 2018
Answering phone calls feeding data in system.Checking in patients for appointment.Relax workplace enjoy helping in patients with right guidance.Very short break for lunch.
Pros
relax
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace that feels like family
Reimbursement Director (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 4, 2018
Enjoyable workplace that feels like family. Teams work together to provide the best healthcare anywhere. Management is focused on communications and the longevity of organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and unorganized work environment
Scheduler & Referral Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 11, 2018
I have worked at Swedish Hospital for the past 9 months and things in that hospital seem to be going from bad to worse almost everyday. The managers do not grant your vacation time even when you submit your request a month prior. Everyone that works there is very unprofessional and do not use proper language around patients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 21, 2018
Although some of the units at this hospital were almost impossible to work professionally and smoothly in, there are plenty of units to learn from as a future student.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Assistant Teacher (Former Employee) –  IllinoisJune 21, 2018
excellent place to work, people is friendly and kind, I will really recommend teachers who are looking for a good working area, they also have really good benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Place to work
Staff Nurse (Current Employee) –  Chicago, IL 60625April 18, 2018
I like my co-workers. Management always listen and they do try to voice out staff concerns to the higher level. Most doctors are nice and easy to work with also. Pay and benefits on the other hand is not good. Staffing is usually decent (but not all the time).
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fun workplace, easygoing, very relaxed.
Patient Financial Services (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 6, 2018
I loved working with Swedish Covenant Hospital and I am very happy I got the chance to experience working there. Very happy to have been a team player
Pros
Time Flexibility
Cons
30-min lunch and there are no restaurants that are around and the restaurants that deliver, over-charge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great place to work which provides quality care for our patients
Clinical Dietitian (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 17, 2018
A great learning environment with medical Residents to teach and consult .
Monthly journal clubs and involvement on committees is encouraged by our boss
Pros
Flexible start time, regular webinars to obtain CEUs
Cons
Little team cooperation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Swedish Covenant Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 126 reviews
546
441
325
26
18

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.9Culture

Swedish Covenant Hospital Reviews by Location