Swedish Covenant Hospital Employee Reviews

Showing all 119 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Working Environment
Intern: Sourcing Contract Administrator (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 7, 2018
Great organization to work for. Friendly and supportive co-workers. The hospital cares a lot about their patients, families and community they serve. There are a lot of programs for seniors and for the homeless that the hospital provides.
Pros
Free lunch for interns
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Patient Transport (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 22, 2018
working at Swedish was really about being compassionate especially towards patients my job was to make sure patients and visitors were satisfied evervyday
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment to work
Staff nurse in PACU (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 6, 2018
great working environment, good benefits, comparable salary, offers opportunities for career development, offers skills training program to enhance competency .
Pros
small community hospital
Cons
moved to california
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job fresh out of school giving me all I need to know
Unit Assistant (C.N.A.) (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 25, 2018
I was a great experience very hands on. It was my first job fresh out of school I was very nervous but they was very patient and taught me everything I needed to Kno to do my job efficient and caredul
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 21, 2018
Although some of the units at this hospital were almost impossible to work professionally and smoothly in, there are plenty of units to learn from as a future student.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Assistant Teacher (Former Employee) –  IllinoisJune 21, 2018
excellent place to work, people is friendly and kind, I will really recommend teachers who are looking for a good working area, they also have really good benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relax
Medical/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 18, 2018
Answering phone calls feeding data in system.Checking in patients for appointment.Relax workplace enjoy helping in patients with right guidance.Very short break for lunch.
Pros
relax
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace that feels like family
Reimbursement Director (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 4, 2018
Enjoyable workplace that feels like family. Teams work together to provide the best healthcare anywhere. Management is focused on communications and the longevity of organization.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my department is good for student
Phlebotomist (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 16, 2018
Overall, it is good for student. my department is flexible with school and looks good on a resume. You learn a lot of customer service skills a long with patients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small laboratory - great colleagues
Histology/Cytology Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 30, 2018
Great place to work and learn a lot. If you can land a job here prior to pursuing a healthcare career, management is always more than happy to help with letters of recommendation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Patient Liaison (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 24, 2018
I learned many different aspects of revenue cycle management at this hospital. I was introduced to reporting and analysis. Staff and management worked well together,
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Place to work
Staff Nurse (Current Employee) –  Chicago, IL 60625April 18, 2018
I like my co-workers. Management always listen and they do try to voice out staff concerns to the higher level. Most doctors are nice and easy to work with also. Pay and benefits on the other hand is not good. Staffing is usually decent (but not all the time).
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They don't give perdiem employees a rise
Unit Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 6, 2018
Swedish covenant is a good place to work. I don't like the fact that they don't give perdiem employees a raise. I'm a perdiem employee.But if you're full time you can get all the benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
RESPIRATOTY CARE PRACTITIONER (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 6, 2018
Swedish Covenant has a warm and friendly atmosphere, from the moment you walk through the doors of the hospital. Everyone is friendly, smile and greets you in such a way that makes you look forward to tackling what's ahead. Management always presented new ideas and ways of handling patient care, with patience and gentleness, keeping us in remembrance that these are lives in which are trusted with.
Pros
family orientated, teaching institution, compassion, technology driving
Cons
low salary base, limited use of skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great place to work which provides quality care for our patients
Clinical Dietitian (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 17, 2018
A great learning environment with medical Residents to teach and consult .
Monthly journal clubs and involvement on committees is encouraged by our boss
Pros
Flexible start time, regular webinars to obtain CEUs
Cons
Little team cooperation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and unorganized work environment
Scheduler & Referral Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 11, 2018
I have worked at Swedish Hospital for the past 9 months and things in that hospital seem to be going from bad to worse almost everyday. The managers do not grant your vacation time even when you submit your request a month prior. Everyone that works there is very unprofessional and do not use proper language around patients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Move patients from A to B
Patient Transporter (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 7, 2018
The job is pretty monotonous. The only perk is that you get to meet new people every day and get an inside peak to different areas/jobs in the hospital. Physically demanding with decent managment
Pros
positive work culture, active position
Cons
low pay and compensation, no health benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fun workplace, easygoing, very relaxed.
Patient Financial Services (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 6, 2018
I loved working with Swedish Covenant Hospital and I am very happy I got the chance to experience working there. Very happy to have been a team player
Pros
Time Flexibility
Cons
30-min lunch and there are no restaurants that are around and the restaurants that deliver, over-charge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sodexo
Patient Transporter (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 25, 2018
It was a very rewarding job with very eye opening lifestyles of a hospital. It was a job to build experience and also make connections. Horrible pay for tasks needed completed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 23, 2018
I enjoyed Volunteering at SCH. I had good experience on looking up patients on MedTech and being able to help families navigate through the hospital and getting to their loved ones.
Pros
flexible
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Swedish Covenant Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 119 reviews
546
434
325
26
18

See reviews about

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.9Culture

Swedish Covenant Hospital Reviews by Location