Sweetgreen Pay & Benefits reviews

Found 59 reviews matching the search See all 240 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Restaurant Server (Current Employee) –  College Park, MDMay 7, 2019
Alright. So when I first worked here. It was great, fun appearance. Over time, the management moved me to the back which includes, helping others do there job, do your job while doing other stuff around the kitchen area. For me, I learned pretty quickly and adapted to the sweetgreen life. As time past by, they made me work 5-7 a week while still going to school. It was very stressful but my paycheck at the end of the week was good. $$
Pros
Nice people, some what flexible hours
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was working at sweetgreen for almost two years before I quit. Things have changed so much at sweetgreen that I didnt like.
Service Cashier (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 28, 2019
Besides that working at sweetgreen was fun. Met some great people. But my manager was the worst manager sweetgreen had. Maybe thats why I couldnt stay there long. Recommend this job to hs kids tbh.
Pros
Free lunch up to $15
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place , team members get along most of the time , it’s good to build a good relationship with customers , clean environment
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYApril 17, 2019
I loved working at sweetgreen the only problem I had was traveling from school to working a closing shift and getting home so late . But other than that I got along with my coworkers really well, some coworkers I had difficulty getting along with but you have to just learn to ignore them and just do your job. It was a great work environment but I hated going home smelling like salad lol.
Pros
Free lunches, time off
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Team Member (Current Employee) –  85th and 3rdApril 9, 2019
Typical day at work is busy.
Learned alot about food safety
management is horrible currently
hardest part is communication between team members with attitudes and the like
most enjoyable part is interacting with guest
Pros
free lunches
Cons
not much benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Line Lead/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMarch 19, 2019
I loved working for sweetgreen as in what we do and how we make an impact. The managers are very racist and only move their people forward.Not enough pay for the work that they require. No matter how hard you work if they don't like you it goes unnoticed. Hard work does not pay off with this company.
Pros
free salad each shift
Cons
unpaid breaks, poor pay, overworks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Marina del Rey, CADecember 19, 2018
good job overall , a very healthy environment to work in . i strongly recommended sweetgreens , i advise you to be sure of this job because it can be very tiring at times .
Pros
30 min breaks
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits that’s about it
Store lead (Current Employee) –  Lynnfield, MADecember 18, 2018
They sell you this idea that everything is awesome but then in reality it’s a mess. Growth is easy but they won’t pay you to do the job. They are a fast growing company who can’t keep up
Pros
Benfits
Cons
Easy to move up for no salary increase
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an upbeat place to work in till management was replaced.
Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CADecember 9, 2018
Great environment to work and learn things at your pace.
Rush hours were a good way to test yourself and really see how well you knew the flow of the job.
Pros
discounted lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast-paced enviornment. However, very stressful for managers.
Line Lead (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 11, 2018
Very fast-paced enviornment. However, very stressful for managers. The hours can either be very short or extremely long. There is a lot of pressure on employees.
Pros
daily lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYSeptember 10, 2018
Is a really nice place to work at, is a cool environment I recommend it to anyone also the customers are very nice And the pay rate is also good. Even though the brake is kind of short you’ll have fun working there
Pros
Free lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, but hard on employees
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 4, 2018
Working here was a great experience, but there were a couple of issues while working with this company for me when one of the managers were very strict about hours and picking up shifts. And using will write employees up for anything an tried to make workers come in even If they were sick.
Pros
Free lunch, worked together, good pay, etc
Cons
How overly strict management was.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 14, 2018
Sweetgreen is a great place to work at. The work atmosphere is great,the work is fun as well as the people you work with. Productive, theirs a lot of opportunity to grow there. The benefits are great and the work with you in all aspects so that's a plus
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced and physical
Service Member (Former Employee) –  Berkeley, CAJuly 5, 2018
We did a lot of extra unneeded physical labor because the company refused to get new equipment because it was "too expensive," and the store was often grossly understaffed. However, the people were nice and professional, and the Head Coach (Manager) was okay.
Pros
free lunches, somewhat flexible hours
Cons
short breaks, understaffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job and well prepared, friendship build up. Love it
Line Server/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJune 21, 2018
For my months of working at sweet green it was a job I will never forget to work at and I wish later on I can work and study again at the same time. It was tough but working at Sweetgreen you build to care for the people you work for how friendly they are.
Pros
Free food for workers
Cons
Breaks givin with hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMay 25, 2018
A typical day at work would begin with preparation for opening which then follows along with a sweet talk "meeting". I have learned a lot; for example, how to prepare salads and dressing, different type of vegetables and the nutritional benefits. The hardest part of the job is making sure we do not run out of product. The most enjoyable part of the job is working as a team and greeting the guest with respect.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great folks, young company
Contract Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 18, 2018
Great, smart people, but young company with very young leaders. Culture and benefits were great. I was offered a full time role. Great foodies too! I'd work for them remotely should the opportunity arise.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall decent job
CUSTOMER SERVICE (Former Employee) –  Merrifield, VAMay 16, 2018
While the hourly pay was good, the hours could be difficult to obtain. Opportunities to grow are given when management thinks you deserve it. Job can be tiring since you’re always on your feet, and there’s always something to do.
Pros
Employee discount, decent pay
Cons
always on your feet, super tiring.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMay 15, 2018
Great staff to work with.
Great food, everyone gets fair hours and store is open at a good time. team work environment, cleanliness is important, and punctuality.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
hard to get a full time job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice comapny, great fresh food
Team Member/Cashier (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 9, 2018
Food was veyy delicious and healthy
Customers were very into what we had to sell
Learned different things on the job
Fashionable work uniform
Cons are terrible co workers
Pros
Free lunches, nice uniform
Cons
Short breaks, barley get recognized, bad co workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy place to work once you know what your doing
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 12, 2018
Fairly easy job, but when it is busy can get crazy.
Free salad every shift is a nice perk
Managment differs store to store, Boston management is not as good as Chicago management
Lots of crazy rule, no nail polish or any jewelry, specific about shoes

Does not pay enough for the amount of work done.
Does not have great benefits.
Pros
Free Food, lots of hours
Cons
Pay for work ratio, no paid breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sweetgreen. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 240 reviews
572
474
359
219
116

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.8Culture