SweetWorks Employee Reviews

Showing all 36 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working there.
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYAugust 27, 2018
It was well organized..an I look forward working back for the company..and the employees are all in together as a team when it comes to working on a task.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Cheektowaga, NYJuly 16, 2018
they use you for what they need and then lay u off for weeks at a time then they call u back for a couple of days then lay u off again never again would i work there
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company good career opportunity
Manager (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYJuly 12, 2018
Company is not that big but they like to promote from inside. Managers get lot of room to proof themselves. Very entrepreneurial working environment with good collaboration - teamwork. Do also lot for the WNY community. Nice new office building with a modern working infrastructure. Good mix in the management team - gender, age.
Pros
promote from inside; challenging; if you want you can take responsibility
Cons
they have also a plant in Toronto- so you have to travel depending on your job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work promote a lot from inside
Manager (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYJuly 12, 2018
I like that they give younger manager good opportunities to take on bigger tasks. They also promote a lot from inside. They have a good mix in age and gender in the management positions. They do also some funny staff and support the community.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance
manager (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYJuly 3, 2018
There is no work life balance at this company, nor do they appreciate managers. They do not do anything for the employees. HR director has no clue as to what he is doing and constantly tries to belittle everyone around him.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Cheektowaga, NYJune 19, 2018
Very competitive. Face paced work environment. Really well put together and staff and workers on point and on their feet. Another job I loved working.
Pros
Competitive
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company to work for
Data Entry (Former Employee) –  Cheektowaga, NYJune 4, 2018
Excellence & Professionalism management what more could you ask for. Relaxfull environment, no stress, being able to focus on your work. They didn't want to let me go, but there was no more work to be done.
Pros
Very professional & respectful!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Manager (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYMay 16, 2018
New colorful open office space that encourages collaboration. Open offices aren't for everyone, but I enjoy it. Smaller company so opportunities for advancement might to be there beyond the management level, but there's always opportunities to learn. Work life balance is also good.
Pros
Work life balance, office building
Cons
Not many upper management positions available to be promoted to.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Machines broke down a lot so it will make the day go down go look slower
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Union and Genesee in Cheektowaga New YorkApril 20, 2018
I really didn't like working for Niagara chocolate the hours for too long with not enough work so it would drag the day longer the machines broke down constantly
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Factory Worker (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYApril 18, 2018
-Great company
-wonderful corporation to join
-fun place to work.
-rewarding job
-possibility for career
-great location
-family/worker atmosphere
-they hire indiscriminately
Pros
fun place to work
Cons
seasonal
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult Place to work
Associate (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYDecember 11, 2017
This company struggles to find it's identity and is lead by very inexperienced executives who lead more by emotion than actual principle of fact.

Much of the problems have been driven by 1 department marketing that continue to force the production of products that do not sell. It was lead by a manager who broke all of her own rules and then blamed all the problems on others outside of her department.

The importance to note of the later 2 statements is that there is a way to turn this thing around. Stop working off of emotion, find the facts, seek the truth, and engage your employees.
Pros
Small organization so you know everyone. Long timers generally want what's best for the company.
Cons
Favoritism, Poor Leadership, company without an identity
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Production Operator (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYNovember 19, 2017
Great place to work. Learned a lot. Nice people. Good management. I still work there and enjoy what I am doing. The atmosphere is fast paced but a safe environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
Sales Administrator/Assistant to President (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYAugust 29, 2017
Slow paced- alot of drama within office
Nice people and co-workers
No room for advancement
No flexibility or home-work balance
Nice to have samples of products!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walking on Eggshells Environment
Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYJuly 27, 2017
Very unprofessional conduct within senior staff. Very poor communication with management. I was brought on board to replace an out going employee. I was trained for a week on the basics of the job. I was hired in February, 2017 and told in the beginning of April 2017 that I was being brought on board. A miscommunication with a fellow co-worker resulted in a meeting with the Controller who told me I wasn't a "good fit" and she was just going to notify HR that I was to be replaced. Every working day consisted of the same routine. The controller, the assistant controller and the accounts receivable specialist had little or nothing to do with me. My only interaction was with the accounts payable clerk. The entire situation became stressful and unpleasant, to say the least.
Pros
Close proximity to my home
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced employment
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYApril 28, 2017
Enjoyed working for Niagara Chocolates. Very fast paced environment and data entry work. Proofreading and data entry work was enjoyable. Walmart work was a little stressful; very time comsuming
Pros
atmosphere
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Muy bueno
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYMarch 3, 2017
El mejor trabajo los supervisores son excelente me encanta
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HR Management and Organizational developement
Human Resources Manager (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYJanuary 4, 2017
Roll up my sleeve and get dirty kind of job . Enjoyed the ability to engage with employees daily to encourage a happy work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved making different things
Assembly Worker (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYSeptember 20, 2016
I loved the fact that it was laid back & loved the steady hours everyday. Very friendly people there. Wish i could of worked there longer but it was just a temp job at the time
Pros
Nice break time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting place to be
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Cheektowaga, NYSeptember 17, 2016
crazy work environment lovely people standing long hours pay wasn't up to par but overall i would go back if given the opportunity.
Pros
easy work
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
chocalate plant
Warehouse Operation Worker (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYFebruary 16, 2016
very nice plant too work for I ate a lot of delicious chocolates co workers was very friendly and we had a lot of overtime the most good part of the job was getting good production numbers
Pros
gift card for turkey every year
Cons
exspensive health insurance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SweetWorks. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 36 reviews
513
47
38
22
16

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.1Culture

SweetWorks Reviews by Location