Swift Transportation Employee Reviews

Found 2,340 reviews matching the search See all 2,406 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved truck driving
Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Edwardsville, KSSeptember 16, 2018
Loved local truck driving but after 12 years it's taken a toll on me. Alot of drop and hook. Always expect someone to cut you off because they do not see this 80,000 pound vehicle coming towards them
Pros
Treated very well
Cons
Very long hours, no raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked it there
Lease operator (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 15, 2018
I was fortunate to have gotten an amazing DM & I did well...I ran good miles & made a consistent pay check every week...I like the people I met there...I always felt like I was a part of their family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok job
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Jurupa, CASeptember 14, 2018
It’s good for beginner drivers and drivers that are returning. The company is good but management doesn’t respect the rules. I wouldn’t recommend this company.
Pros
Good starter company
Cons
Pay is not enough for the work done
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work environment
Driver (Former Employee) –  Sumner, WASeptember 12, 2018
8 good years, Everybody treated me with great respect. I enjoy working with staff and the Truckers, I learn to treat everyone with same respect personally and professionally, multi task day. good place to work.
Pros
Family atmosphere
Cons
Position Eliminated
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home every night
CDL truck driver (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CASeptember 11, 2018
Being home every night was the best thing about this job. The only thing I didn’t like about this job is poor customer service and having your load on time never happened.
Pros
Home daily.
Cons
Poor customer service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Dedicated Driver (Grocery) (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 11, 2018
Its an over the road company 2-3 weeks out , plenty of options if in the right area.Good equipment , but the use of drive cams is very intense an they are always watching you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont go here
OTR Commercial Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 11, 2018
I didn't get home for more than 3 months,stuck sevral time no loads.Poor equipment,62 miles an hour. not paid for down timeor no dispatch. forced dispatch.NO HOME TIME
Pros
See the states
Cons
You name it bad
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced, long hours, highly stressful but good pay.
Driver Leader (Current Employee) –  Temple, TXSeptember 10, 2018
Very fast paced, long hours, highly stressful but good pay.
Busy constantly- no time for lunch breaks- you just eat while you work. Twelve plus work days/nights with really no breaks. Very, very stressful- you have a lot of responsibility.
Pros
The pay
Cons
Stress, long hours, lack of breaks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good job while it lasted
Field Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Troutdale, ORSeptember 10, 2018
Working for Swift, even though it isn't known as one of the best companies in the industry, it's certainly one of the biggest companies in the industry and it has some really good people. If it wasn't for the policy violation that caused my termination I would probably still be there.
Pros
travel, the people, the environment, the reward helping guys get their CDL's
Cons
High turn over, stress of hitting your numbers, pay structure, lack of following their own policy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People were happy at work
Diesel Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Sumner, WASeptember 10, 2018
Hardest part of the job was: preventive maintenance work, the most enjoyable part of the job was mounting and dismounting tires. As far as workplace culture, from what I could see, employees seemed happy at work.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

Want to know more about Swift Transportation?

Ask a question
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Swift is a great company to work for.
Negotiate Pricing to move freight (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 7, 2018
There are many options for advancement with this company and the benefits are great. My only concern is the employee is strictly a number you are not treated as a human being with the company.
Pros
Advancement, benefits
Cons
Hours, management, communication, being organized.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you work or go home
Driver (Former Employee) –  Sumner, WASeptember 7, 2018
My drive leader and office people were always on my side. My truck was excellent and taken care of immediately. Training was very inclusive. The mentor program failed horribly.
Pros
willing to help
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
semi job
Company Driver - Solo - OTR (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZ 85043September 7, 2018
good training. long hrs, great pay if you are a safe driver and work. about the same as most. work ok about the same as others trucking companies. it is what you make it.
Pros
training, potential money
Cons
long hrs from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love Swift
Driver Leader (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 6, 2018
Swift is a good company to work for. For my position as driver leader I felt I should get paid more. Swift started me out as an ECT(extended Coverage Team) in Intermodal and started me out at a fair wage. Have been with Swift 11 years and it's really not a bad company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great way to travel the US.
Class A CDL Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 5, 2018
Not a bad place to work at first. The buy out cost a lot of people their jobs. They also cut our pay. There has been many drivers find or looking for other jobs or companies to drive for.
Pros
You get to travel
Cons
If you got any time at all behind the wheel, get ready to start over.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company
Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Greer, SCSeptember 5, 2018
Swift as a whole is a good company. Like any big company, sometimes driver need aren't met as fast as the driver would like them to be. The pay is good, but sometimes communication can be a problem.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low productive workplace, lack of communication from Dl's
Commercial Driver (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 5, 2018
Inconsistent on many levels within the company, as a driver with this company I felt very unappreciated. Management is very unprofessional, and there is a major lack in communication with drivers and dl's.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was an good place to work if you were starting out as a new driver.
Class A Driver (Former Employee) –  Lathrop, CASeptember 4, 2018
it was fun to go out and travel to different states and see place's you never seen before and it was alright working there until they did alot of changes then it got bad but it was fun while it lasted.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job
Dedicated Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Los Lunas, NMSeptember 4, 2018
A bit stressful due to not knowing if and when the next phone call was going to happen with the next load assignment along with getting assigned to a truck, getting it loaded with personal supplies and pretriped, getting the right paperwork, right trailer, load legal and to all of the delivery stops by a predetermined time
Pros
decent paychecks
Cons
being stuck in limbo between load assinments not knowing when the next one is happening
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well organized company to work with.
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 4, 2018
It was awesome experience for the past years in my working places, especially in swift Transportation LLc. With swift I learnt about self esteem and confidence. Safty was one of their major focused criteria.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Swift Transportation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 2,406 reviews
5476
4609
3694
2315
1312

See reviews about

2.8Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.0Culture

Ratings from women

1.5InHerSight Score

1.6Personal Development

1.8Career Opportunities

1.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight