Swift Transportation Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company , advancement opportunites are abunant
Northeast field recrutier / Academy Director (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZDecember 7, 2018
The company will invest in employees that show and demonstrate they are vision and cultured to become family. You can advance within the company whilst showing you are determined to make positive differences in the entire realm of all departments. Say what you mean and mean what you say. .
Pros
Awesome company lots of advancement
Cons
None i can think of. We all pave our ways
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for
Driver (Former Employee) –  Manteno, ILDecember 5, 2018
Swift is a good place to work for. they have a good financially sound platform. On a typical day as a OTR driver I would drive for 10 hours. The cultural is good and so is the people. The hardest part for me was being away from my family. The enjoyable part though I had the ability to see the country.
Pros
Seeing the Country
Cons
Trainning, so drivers dont do a good job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel - No Home Time
Class A Driver (Former Employee) –  Greer, SCDecember 5, 2018
Long Hours
Driving to all parts of the east coast
See Places you wouldn't normally be able to see
Hardest Part of the job - Ni=o Home Time
Most Enjoyable Part of the job - Travel and seeing the world
Pros
Travel - Good Pay
Cons
No Home Time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Truck Driver (OTR) (Current Employee) –  West Valley City, UTDecember 4, 2018
they have lost the drivers are family touch since knight took over we have been treated like garbage and lost half our miles and office staff
They don't hire drivers to become office staff any more like they say so it's hard to relate to someone that's I charge of you when they have no consideration of what it feels like to be a driver
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
CDL Class A Driver (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZDecember 3, 2018
I enjoyed working with Swift transportation very much. I transferred to DSW which is an extension of Swift transportation so I could finish my Paralegal classes.
Pros
Great team work
Cons
Long list for local work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work
Dedicated Driver (Current Employee) –  Albany, NYDecember 1, 2018
My driver managers keep me busy earning cash. Started on a dedicated account after graduating the Swift Academy in Memphis. I work hard and get what I need for time off. Typically on the road away from home for 3-5 days out of the week. I enjoy the job, especially the independence.
Pros
The work is plentiful, independence, pay
Cons
E-logs (no different anywhere else), no paid time off for a year
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start
Truck Driver - OTR and Local Dedicated (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZNovember 30, 2018
Definitely learned a lot since starting here. I moved up in positions quickly while under the right management. I would definitely tell beginners to come here but you would probably move to a different company once you settled on what you wanted to do long term
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoy my freedom
OTR Driver (Former Employee) –  Sumner, WANovember 30, 2018
spent 4 to 5 weeks on the road, 95% of time was drop and hooked, loads were ready for pickup, dispatch understood the dot regulations, and was never asked to go over my hours, was easy to get hold of at all hours at night
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Professional HAZMAT endorsed CDL Driver (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZNovember 30, 2018
Great company to work for and keeps you moving. I enjoyed my time with SWIFT but the pay was not sufficient for my family responsibilities had to move on to work that provided a better income to provide for them.

SWIFT is a great place for young drivers or drivers that can stay on the road and I never sat waiting for a load...was always dispatched, pre-dispatched and ready to go. I ,most of the time clicked 5000-miles or more in a 70 and cannot ever remember having to wait very long for a load while on OTR and never when running dedicated services.

If I get my girls through college and can live on a SWIFT driver income, I would definitely return to SWIFT.
Pros
Vehicle or Trailer Repair without kick-back when deficiencies were identified
Cons
Driver pay scale
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company
Owner/Operator (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZNovember 29, 2018
It was an environment that shared the thought of 'be recognizable'. Steady work and great opportunities for different routes/miles/pay. Management was not good all of the time.
Pros
Steady work
Cons
Poor upper management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad place to work
Class A CDL Driver (Current Employee) –  Monrovia, MDNovember 28, 2018
Swift may be a good starting point if you are a student or very inexperienced driver. Get your training and experience and move on to another company that pays you better and values you. Management is indifferent to terrible and to them your just another body to move that truck. Once you have 6months to a year under your belt you can find a much better position some where else
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good starter job
Driver (Former Employee) –  Lathrop, CANovember 28, 2018
they have many different positions depending on what kind of driver manager you get will tell how much you will like the job I enjoyed the driving part of the job just didnt like the schdualing for some deliveries
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Driver (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 28, 2018
Swift is a very productive company I like working here but I'm looking for a little better pay with my experience I feel like I'm a very good driver and
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady work
Owner/Operator (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZNovember 27, 2018
This company treats driver's like numbers because they always have others ready to be trained to put in a truck, and they don't allow for enough home time for drivers with families.
Pros
Steady work, shop discounts
Cons
Not paid enough of true load pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low self esteem on production turn in on invoices
Commercial Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VANovember 26, 2018
good compamy. just not concerned for employee rights. you are never correct. they have their own employment objectives. overall swift is a fair company to work for. their safety sux because other employee's make you inferior to them. generally the older drivers know more than you do.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional
Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Decatur GeorgiaNovember 25, 2018
Too slow sending next load to Quadcom, wrong address to goto certain place the it's wrong.
Not getting enough loads ,not making enough money, the driver leaders or management or Coordinators & Planners are not doing there job. They want send you your next Load on time so you want just be sitting there wasting time this is crazy all other Truckers keeping it moving in & out Not Swift Transportation Decatur Georgia your Not sending loads on time !!!!! UNPROFESSIONAL
Pros
None
Cons
Don't pay enough, Coordinators & Planners need to get there stuff Together
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a great trainer
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYNovember 25, 2018
I worked for Swift after I got my CDL A. I was in their 1 month training program they require before they let you go out on your own. Great training program. Always had a nice truck to drive too
Pros
New trucks
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to learn OTR with.
OTR driver (Former Employee) –  Harrisonville, MONovember 24, 2018
Swift was a good company to learn OTR driving with. At first they kept me busy and I was driving most of the time, however, the longer I was there the harder it was for them to keep me busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aways on the move
Tractor Trailer Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZNovember 22, 2018
Swift Transportation is not a bad company to start with as a beginner class-a cdl driver,as long as you have a good drive-leader&planners. If you get a bad drive-leader or planners.You may not get the miles you expect to make a descent paycheck.Favoritism is the biggest part.If your liked you'll do fine.Upper management is getting so entrusting in their electronics from their desk computers to truck computers & sensors they are forgetting that the drivers are Human,they make mistakes,they're not Robots.Driver Safety is Not a concern like they state.Example; Most of Swift's fteet are Frieghtliners,if a driver is in there sleeperburth and something happens in the front of the cab,like a fire.Where can the DRIVER escape.The sleeperburths only have small vents in the side walls. Unlike International-ProStars & Kenworths both having ether large windows or doors to exit from the sleeperburths.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knight / Swift Transportation
Customer Service / Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZNovember 22, 2018
I enjoyed my job, and Co-wrkrs / The stress came from Mgmt, AKA the LDRSP team. They were terrible. Every Sup had a different answer for everything...
Pros
30min lunch / Two - 10min breaks
Cons
No other bathroom breaks allowed - deducted from quality
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Swift Transportation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 2,538 reviews
5497
4648
3735
2329
1329

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
1.5

1.6Personal Development

1.8Career Opportunities

1.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight