Swift Transportation Employee Reviews

Found 2,552 reviews matching the search See all 2,622 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
On-Site Leader (Current Employee) –  USAFebruary 16, 2019
Swift has afforded me great opportunity. I started out as a driver and advanced through the ranks and am now in leadership. The pay is low in comparison to other companies. That is my only complaint. I've been with Swift for almost 10 years, and have no desire to leave.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good for the time i had
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZFebruary 15, 2019
Swift was good for a short period of time, the managment really dont care about their drivers , my mother had passed away and during my phone call explaining I needed to be home I was hung up on. The reason was "everyones mom dies everyday". I dont recommend this company to anyone.
Pros
Get to see the country
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Swift
delivery driver (Former Employee) –  Jonestown, PAFebruary 13, 2019
Swift is not a bad company to start with especially when you're fresh out of truck driving school. Now I think it's a lot more easier because they no longer use manual transmission trucks.
Pros
The pay is good
Cons
You work slot.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looking for savings was a daily goal
Parts coordinator/Purchasing (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZFebruary 12, 2019
I would contact vendors on cost savings put together a power point presentation on why, when and how. Finding quality material and asking vendor to negotiate a cost saving program. Presenting the presentation and program to the floor managers upon approval or needing more information was how the day would go. I learned to be more professional with speaking levels of management terms. work culture was very professional and working as a team was enjoyable.
Pros
Professionalism
Cons
Some of the Managers were not direct
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
La mas grande de usa
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXFebruary 11, 2019
Trabajo constante, no muy buena paga,
El entrenamiento es bueno
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay
OTR Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Dickson, TNFebruary 11, 2019
Drive too many hours and only home 4 days a month with $200-$400 a week on average.
Too hard to get loads coming home for home time.
Some driver leaders are not helpful getting loads and make you wait until the next day for another dricer leader to touch base with the planner for loads.
Pros
Easy to get a CDL
Cons
Low pay, hardly any home time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No management
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Troutdale, ORFebruary 10, 2019
Yes I can't even say bad or good about management.'Cause there is no such thing like that. Working for swift is more like going to a circus. A driver is just a number on the monitor for them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fair
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Jurupa, CAFebruary 10, 2019
a lot of drivers but not a lot of miles to accumulate every week always waiting for dispatch to provide you with Deliveries to be made if there is any...
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sucked
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHFebruary 9, 2019
got yelled at for nothing. i learned alot. management just wasnt good. some people are nice. trying to nice to my driver leader. i loved going th US seeing places.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNFebruary 9, 2019
ok sometimes no advantage no raise no bonus no home time no food bucks no new equipment I don't no what else to tell you everything and everyone was sweet
Pros
home time
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report

Want to know more about Swift Transportation?

Ask a question
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
truck driver
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Sparks, NVFebruary 9, 2019
truck driver job, living in your truck, driving all over the usa, eating cheap food, dealing with bad drivers, alone a-lot, missing important events like birthdays and graduations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You can look up
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZFebruary 8, 2019
You can look up the phone if ya got it run it out of the truck I’ll be back rolling in a few hours and then I get to work tomorrow and get your money ready and then you get a chance I’ll give ya money to you get a truck
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun for the most part
Newyork city parks department (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYFebruary 8, 2019
I have no idea why I was fired I would love to have my job back asap
I am a hard worker I'm not a perfect person I do make mistakes
and I'm a good driver
Pros
No
Cons
No
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mortgage underwriter
Nothing (Former Employee) –  Fontana, CAFebruary 6, 2019
Looking for a career in mortgage lending, sorry not sure how to delete this job description for swift from this page. I have never worked for Swift, thank you
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work with.
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Laredo, TXFebruary 4, 2019
Work for 5 years with Swift Transportation,great company with flexible hours and great management, very friendly working environment, i am in charge of the Trailer shop, as Supervisor and have always had a possitive attitude with others, and assist in any way i can.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Have plenty of terminals for what you need
Driver (Current Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTFebruary 4, 2019
Good company to start out with. Courteous and dedicated to help people out with getting one's CDL during training. My only issue is being away from family for long periods of time while only making .40 a mile.
Pros
Free showers after fill up at major fuel stops
Cons
Being away from family
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a place to get started if your new
Dedicated Driver (Former Employee) –  Robert, LAJanuary 31, 2019
If your new to the game I would recommend swift do your 1 year or about 2 years and always keep safety frist and you'll do great....to get good loads you will have to keep in contact with your DM manager..... the otr miles suck...and the dedicated account routes are way better then the otr miles...
Pros
Benefits, new equipment, lots of terminals
Cons
Low miles for otr, very unhealthy sleeping patterns, communication sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Greer, SCJanuary 31, 2019
typical big company with typical large company problems and issues.l will not work here unless I have bought my own truck, then I would shoot to be a trainer
Pros
nice equipment
Cons
hard to get the miles for pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to get your start in the transportation business.
Director of Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJanuary 31, 2019
To long ago to comment. I can not comment on a company that I haven't worked for in over 25 years. I will say, nothing is the same as when I was employed.
Pros
Gave me a chance
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Typical Day at Work (Owner's Ops)
Owner/Operator (Current Employee) –  Hershey, PAJanuary 30, 2019
A typical day at work will consist of me working from 5am to 5pm. Driving from Hershey PA to Edwardsville, Illinois. Working Monday thru Sunday completing between 5-6 jobs of 800 miles on a weekly basis.
Pros
Owner Ops Money
Cons
Being away from home and not getting paid when there is no work available
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Swift Transportation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 2,622 reviews
5510
4665
3765
2341
1341

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.0Culture

Ratings from women

1.5InHerSight Score

1.6Personal Development

1.8Career Opportunities

1.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight