Swift Transportation Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  ArizonaJune 5, 2018
Company follows all of safety and compliance of all DOT regulations and laws. Company Equipment is leading edge in the industry. Company has a wide variety of customers and freight. Swift also has a good annual training for senior drivers.
Pros
Good Pay
Cons
Away too long
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average employer
Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Fontana, CAJune 4, 2018
Good place to work. Appropriate for new comers and those that have extremely flexible schedule. Dispatch is nice and manager is nice and accommodating.
Pros
Nice Facility
Cons
Scheduling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to star your career
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  lon haulJune 4, 2018
a good company to start learning new things hands on the road...lots of experience..... experince on the road........................................................
Pros
good
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to put in to words since Knight Transportation purchased the company
Intermodal Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 4, 2018
Swift Transportation was purchased by Knight Transportation and once that happened all things started going towards Knights way of doing business which wasn't supposed to happen
Pros
They took care of their drivers
Cons
lack of communication between management and employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to place to start for a rookie
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Manteno, ILJune 2, 2018
leave after 1 year! poor training and you have to beg for loads. Very inconsistent miles week to week.Cut your teeth here and then leave as soon as you can, much better paying jobs out there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Swift is a great training company.
OTR PROFESSIONAL TRUCK DRIVER (Current Employee) –  Lewiston, IDJune 1, 2018
I really enjoy working at Swift, their driver leaders are awesome, vehicles are well maintained. Get you home on dates you need. They give you tuition reimbursement.
Pros
Get to see the country
Cons
Away from home for weeks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair company
Dedicated Driver (Former Employee) –  Robert, LAMay 31, 2018
Swift is a fair company in the trucking business. One of the largest. The only problem i had was management. They need them more than drivers. It is the best with bonuses.
Pros
Good bonuses pay
Cons
Bad managers .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere
Compliance Analyst (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 31, 2018
Loved this job. Inspiring to give people jobs and watch it change their lives. The trucking industry and atmosphere at Swift is amazing, though stressful sometimes, the rewards outway the stress.
Pros
Career Advancement opportunities
Cons
Really fast past if you're not accustomed to it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driving/Schooling
Truck Driver Class A CDL (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 30, 2018
I was not treated well. They rarely told me the truth and would not explain why they do what they do. Bad place to work. Very Controlling and deceitful.
Pros
Truck was good
Cons
Never could get the truth from them. No communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Getting accurate information regarding where I was going to delivery
Line Driver (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZ 85043May 29, 2018
The hardest part of this job was dealing with insufficient equipment. There wasn't good communication between management and drivers. I wasn't guaranteed to be home each weekend either.
Pros
The company took me on straight from my trucking school
Cons
Poor equipment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Swift Transportation?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aggravatingly nerve wrecking because of mismanagement
Company Driver (Current Employee) –  Decatur, GAMay 29, 2018
Our experience with Swift in 6 months has been sadly horrendous..first off planners do not calculate your 10 hours in sleeper mode when they shove priority loads that do not carry any extra pay..Be prepared to get an $800 paycheck one week and a $400 the next because the paperwork you're sending through ingage is not handled properly and you're paying for lumper fees out of your check not as an owner but a Company driver..
If you're smart stay away from the Decatur Georgia terminal because no one there cares about drivers..
Home time is given but you want to barely go home or you won't even be able to eat or pay bills ..
Pros
Home time is given
Cons
Your pay is extremely low..you feel like a Mcdonalds worker
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Swift Transportaion
Driver (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 28, 2018
Swift is a great place to get started in the trucking industry.
They provide adequate training and all the tractors are well maintained. 24/7 Roadside and office personal and they don't bother you they let you work I go weeks with out talking to anyone for the office just give me my load and let me work!!
Pros
Get you CDL !!! great entry level job or career is decided to stay
Cons
Trucking is not for the weak very over regulated job Big Brother is Watching.......
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The managers talk to you just any ol kinda way.
Over the Road Driver (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 27, 2018
Truck driving is already grueling but Swift never gets your pay right and the drivers will get upset if you complain about not getting paid as if they expect a driver to drive for free.
Pros
none
Cons
they cheat you out your layover and detention pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Truck Driving
Professional Driver (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 25, 2018
Worked like a dog.
They had no empathy for the ADA or the EEOC, and were unable and unwilling to accommodate. For a company sworn to safety their ideas of safety are off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a fun place to work
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 24, 2018
they did not pay me for a lot of ex runs that were put on me, they lied about dedicated run, and a lot of there customers of there's me like dirt, there trucks were dirty and smelled bad also
Pros
nothing free
Cons
not
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcome to trucking
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Dothan, ALMay 24, 2018
I was chasing a dream when I started driving trucks. Swift helped me start my trucking career. I had hoped I would still be with Swift; but, they let me go without giving me a clear answer.
Pros
Dream attained
Cons
Dream temporarily slammed shut
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hated it
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 24, 2018
Honestly I didn't like working it because when I did I asked for the miles and I was always giving the run around and that's not what I wanted anymore it wasn't worth being away from my kids.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a good place to work
BODY SHOP ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Greer, SCMay 22, 2018
It has been many years, but I did enjoy working there and learning all I did about Semi Trucks/Trailers and the transportation business.
However, I was a woman in a man's world so there were issues now and then because of that. The hardest part of my job was having to train my managers, but not being able to get that position.
I am hoping that after all these years it may have changed out there as I saw even more women drivers being hired by the time I left.
Pros
Benefits were great
Cons
Commuting over an hour one way
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starter company
CMV Operator (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 22, 2018
Great starter company. Relaxed environment. Weekly pay. Supportive staff. Terminals thru out the country. Benefit package. Charties, home time anywhere in country. Room for advancements
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For those who love driving
CDL Class A Driver (Former Employee) –  Lathrop, CAMay 21, 2018
It is a great company for beginner drivers for experience but not great for pay in the start. Must be willing to wait about a year or so to see changes in pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Swift Transportation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 2,277 reviews
5452
4575
3656
2304
1290

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.0Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
1.5

1.6Personal Development

1.8Career Opportunities

1.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight