Swinerton Builders Employee Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Based on 62 reviews
Ratings breakdown
530
418
37
26
11
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 62 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company To work for
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, WAJuly 17, 2018
Very welcoming staff. Friendly enviroment, Team work was huge.

Open door policy with management, always could get thorough answers any time I had a question.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laborer/Racker
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Mojave, CAJune 12, 2018
shaking out witch is setting out the parts for the torque tubes like the couplers barring's and brackets. I learned how to rack and how to mount the motors on the piles. The management was always close by monitoring the work task being performed. The culture was fast paced the hardest part was walking the arrays and racking over trenches if there was one or if the pile was to high to reach while racking and the uneven walking surfaces. I liked the scenery it was different.
Pros
good pay good people
Cons
uneven walking sufaces
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
day were long but was do able for people willing to work
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Toppenish, WAMay 22, 2018
what my typical day looked like was just either picking companies belongings or taking down walls. The hardest part of the job is it would get really hot some days and wasn't the best when I had to work outside because of the smoke that was in the air. the things I didn't really learn anything because the stuff I knew knew how to do. Management would be picky on how things were about what I could and couldn't do, my supervisor would also micro manage at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Laborer, Leadman, electrician helper (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 8, 2018
Loved working for this company. I just wished the job wasn't temporary because I would've loved to continue working for them. I would definitely work for them again if offered a position in my area.
Pros
Company provided all safety equipment needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for
Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAApril 20, 2018
I felt Swinnerton builders was a great company to work for. They offered the training needed to enhance your career and the culture was definitely a team work environment. I would recommend this company to anyone
Pros
Great company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job.
Solar Panel Installer (Former Employee) –  Ft. Stockton, TXMarch 6, 2018
I loved working for this company. I would be at work bright and early and wouldn’t leave until night time. I was on the hucking and bombing crew so it was pretty laid back
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work available
Concrete Worker (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAJanuary 30, 2018
I learned a lot of different fields of construction. It is a perfect place to make a career. Great benefits and Great compensation as well. If u like working hard for your money this is the place for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Company
Project Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJanuary 28, 2018
They were very good to there employees and I have nothing bad to say about them. The reason I left I moved to New Orleans after Katrina to help rebuild the city.
Pros
A Great Company to work for
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place to Work
Project Manager/Estimator (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, WAJanuary 11, 2018
Enjoyed my time at Swinerton Builders. They treat their employee's well, The work was fasted paced and exciting. They are a well rounded and effective company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Foreman (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJanuary 3, 2018
Meeting with foreman every 2 weeks, tools and equipment aren't enough for crew sent to jobsite, gain boxes supply are very poor, listen to site job employees ideas and needs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Carpenter Apprentice surveyor (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJanuary 2, 2018
Swinerton builders was a good company they just did not have good benefits.for there workers and no chance to move up in the field or any training to help you move up
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They are a good company
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIDecember 4, 2017
This company is a good company to work for as they take care of their employees and make sure that hard work is rewarded, they also get good jobs to work on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional work environment
Intern (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIOctober 31, 2017
The workplace culture at Swinerton was very professional. Very competent personnel were allocated to each department to ensure efficiency and effectiveness.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Project Accountant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 26, 2017
Real great company to work for, I went from project admin to project accounting work on-site and enjoyed my position. I would have loved to be still working for this company unfortunately they pulled out of Houston and no longer do business here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company.
Solar Installer/laborer (Former Employee) –  Murphy, Idaho kuna, idahoOctober 21, 2017
My experience with swinerton was great! I knew a little about what the job assigned to me and they were very understanding when didn’t understand something. They took time out to make sure I understand what needs to be done day in day out. Long work hours, but it was worth working. The pay was good and lots of overtime! Over all I was glad to work with swinerton.
Pros
Very understandable leads and foreman. Work as a team. Pay was good.
Cons
Only con was it was though a temp agency and wish I could get on fully with the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun but safe work place
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Willcox, AZSeptember 26, 2017
it was a great paying job and i learned how to do everything the job had to offer, the management was great and the workplace culture was excellent the hardest part of the job was the first day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Employee (Current Employee) –  HawaiiSeptember 18, 2017
Good culture
long work hours when on project
employee motivation from project to project can lack
everyone responsible only for their work, minimal teamwork and collaboration
competitive benefits and pay
Pros
pay and benefits
Cons
teamwork and management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience with excellent management
Project Assistant (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORSeptember 15, 2017
Swinerton in Portland invested in their employees by providing ample training. Swinerton in San Francisco did an exceptional job with the website for employees.
Pros
Construction!
Cons
Couldn't think of one
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You have to be there favroite
Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAAugust 29, 2017
I worked there and had them say inappropriate remarms would not let me do trying to get advancement. They didn't even want to show you anything. Not good.
Pros
Worked well with hours
Cons
No room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional manager
HR Records Assistant (Current Employee) –  San FranciscoAugust 22, 2017
My manager had her own style of management. She doesn't believe in team work, but finds it fun to put her team members into challenging situations or pushing them to compete. Thus, she's never opened to suggestions.
Pros
Free lunch once a week
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Swinerton Builders. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

2.4Personal Development

3.8Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight