Swinerton Builders Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work available
Concrete Worker (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAJanuary 30, 2018
I learned a lot of different fields of construction. It is a perfect place to make a career. Great benefits and Great compensation as well. If u like working hard for your money this is the place for you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Company
Project Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJanuary 28, 2018
They were very good to there employees and I have nothing bad to say about them. The reason I left I moved to New Orleans after Katrina to help rebuild the city.
Pros
A Great Company to work for
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place to Work
Project Manager/Estimator (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, WAJanuary 11, 2018
Enjoyed my time at Swinerton Builders. They treat their employee's well, The work was fasted paced and exciting. They are a well rounded and effective company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Foreman (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJanuary 3, 2018
Meeting with foreman every 2 weeks, tools and equipment aren't enough for crew sent to jobsite, gain boxes supply are very poor, listen to site job employees ideas and needs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Carpenter Apprentice surveyor (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJanuary 2, 2018
Swinerton builders was a good company they just did not have good benefits.for there workers and no chance to move up in the field or any training to help you move up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They are a good company
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIDecember 4, 2017
This company is a good company to work for as they take care of their employees and make sure that hard work is rewarded, they also get good jobs to work on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional work environment
Intern (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIOctober 31, 2017
The workplace culture at Swinerton was very professional. Very competent personnel were allocated to each department to ensure efficiency and effectiveness.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Project Accountant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 26, 2017
Real great company to work for, I went from project admin to project accounting work on-site and enjoyed my position. I would have loved to be still working for this company unfortunately they pulled out of Houston and no longer do business here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company.
Solar Installer/laborer (Former Employee) –  Murphy, Idaho kuna, idahoOctober 21, 2017
My experience with swinerton was great! I knew a little about what the job assigned to me and they were very understanding when didn’t understand something. They took time out to make sure I understand what needs to be done day in day out. Long work hours, but it was worth working. The pay was good and lots of overtime! Over all I was glad to work with swinerton.
Pros
Very understandable leads and foreman. Work as a team. Pay was good.
Cons
Only con was it was though a temp agency and wish I could get on fully with the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun but safe work place
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Willcox, AZSeptember 26, 2017
it was a great paying job and i learned how to do everything the job had to offer, the management was great and the workplace culture was excellent the hardest part of the job was the first day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Employee (Current Employee) –  HawaiiSeptember 18, 2017
Good culture
long work hours when on project
employee motivation from project to project can lack
everyone responsible only for their work, minimal teamwork and collaboration
competitive benefits and pay
Pros
pay and benefits
Cons
teamwork and management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience with excellent management
Project Assistant (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORSeptember 15, 2017
Swinerton in Portland invested in their employees by providing ample training. Swinerton in San Francisco did an exceptional job with the website for employees.
Pros
Construction!
Cons
Couldn't think of one
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You have to be there favroite
Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAAugust 29, 2017
I worked there and had them say inappropriate remarms would not let me do trying to get advancement. They didn't even want to show you anything. Not good.
Pros
Worked well with hours
Cons
No room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional manager
HR Records Assistant (Current Employee) –  San FranciscoAugust 22, 2017
My manager had her own style of management. She doesn't believe in team work, but finds it fun to put her team members into challenging situations or pushing them to compete. Thus, she's never opened to suggestions.
Pros
Free lunch once a week
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace work environment
Finish carpenter/Foreman (Former Employee) –  Honolulu, HIJuly 30, 2017
I hung and trim doors for Swinerton Builders. I would fall back to help install cabinets and counter tops. I learned here that you need to know people to continue to work steady. Management was on top of long lead orders and safety The hardest part of this job was fitting in with the crew that constantly worked year round. I enjoyed meeting new people with different skill levels.
Pros
Awsome workers
Cons
You needed to be in with the crew to advance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
pe (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJuly 18, 2017
enjoyable work place. intelligent people. great management. team oriented job where everyone has one common goal. great place to work. highly recommend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Operator/Laborer (Former Employee) –  Niceville, FLJuly 9, 2017
learned how to drive heavy equipment. the job was building solar power plants. the pay was above normal. the job ended because we were done. i loved the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Modern-Day Construction Workplace
PROJECT ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 22, 2017
Voted Best Places To Work 2017 for 50 Employees or less. There are General Contractors with the same old philosophies, standard office workplace cubicles and very little investment in workplace amenities. This company thrives on new technology, a fun work environment that caters to the modern office furnishings, state of the art kitchen/breakroom and believes in rewarding their employees.
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and uplifting
Quality Control Foreman (Former Employee) –  Milford, UTMay 27, 2017
Good and happy work environment, good safety measures, people are able to work well on a teem, good system of communication, overall quality in work, good leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good management, fun coworkers
Division Accountant (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAApril 18, 2017
Swinerton is a very good General Contractor. Fun people to work for. Was paid fairly with good benefits. They have a very good training program. Honest company.
Pros
pay and benefits - fun gatherings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Swinerton Builders. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 56 reviews
527
415
37
26
11

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.9

2.4Personal Development

3.8Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight