T.J. Maxx Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYOctober 21, 2018
The manager was awsome my co workers were amazing if i can go back i definatly would... it was safe the customers were amazing the flow of the whole store got along great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
like some of the people there
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Webster, NYOctober 21, 2018
Love organizing racks of clothes. Only work 9-14 hours per week as they say they don't have any more hours for us because they hired new kids for Christmas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place but lack of hours
Cashier and Costumer Service (Current Employee) –  Rockville, MDOctober 19, 2018
The environment is fun to work in.managers are patient and professional.
Colleagues are helpfully kind and play a team work.
Tjmax is a great company with a lot of benefits working as a full time but it's a little struggling trying to make it there as a part time because of the lack of hours
Pros
Free lunch etc
Cons
15 minutes to 1 hour break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Customer Service Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Suffolk, VAOctober 18, 2018
Was a great place to work for, I learned alot things as far as customer Service But i have allways been a great leader who is allways ready to learn new things at every work place i have worked at.Im allways willing and excited to excel the company's work expectations im working for 100% Team Player.
Pros
Great Affordable Health Benifits
Cons
Very Small Raises given once a Year!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive at times, a chaotic mess behind the scenes
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Temple City, CAOctober 18, 2018
Senior staff coordinators rely on long term employees to train new hires, who after a brief period of undergoing said training, are then promoted to supervisory positions, with little to no clue as to handle procedures with most customer interactions or employee break schedules, etc. Within a span of 2 months, this location went from #1 in the district for performance excellence, to 3rd from the bottom. Several team members have left in a short period of time after being fed up with the inadequacies of management being brought down upon them.
Pros
10% discount on all merchandise
Cons
Hours held back just shy of qualifying for benefits, save for management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tj maxx
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Cerritos, CAOctober 18, 2018
at the time i worked there the work paces was slow i worked many different position such as cashier, fitting room attendant, and jewelry at the time the pay was really low
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Retail
Jewelry Coodinator (Former Employee) –  Yucaipa, CAOctober 17, 2018
Tj Maxx was a great "transition job". They teach great team building skills and provide flexible schedules. Moderate level labor that's good for people who enjoy working closely with other. Generally a younger demographic, but overall positive, fast paced work environment. very little and slow growth or room for growth within the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Having a great time
Merchandise Associate (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 17, 2018
I am just a part time worker but the culture and the general feeling from working at TJ Maxx is great. The managers are easy to talk to. Even the help line is great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place with amazing co-workers and customers
Sales Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Saginaw, MIOctober 17, 2018
I learned a lot during my two years at TJ Maxx. It was challenging to get moved up to a higher position, but it was worth it. Being around people who like their job as much as you made the shifts fly by. I'd say the hardest thing about the job was not letting personal problems affect my work, and trying to keep a smile all the time. Getting through a whole shift and seeing customers enjoying the work that you did all day was the best parts, which made it a great job.
Pros
Co-workers, Hours, Holidays off
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TJ Maxx
Stocker/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Sevierville, TNOctober 17, 2018
It was good. It wasn't bad, but I needed more hours and it was just- okay. Some of the managers were kind of rude and I felt like they didn't like me. My co-workers were fantastic though.
Pros
Break time was great
Cons
Some managers were poor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work at.
San Antonio - Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXOctober 17, 2018
Was a good place to work at. Friendly and welcoming environment. Everyone is very helpful in the event you should need it. Did not have any problems working here, everything was run smoothly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job if you are a college or high school student
Sales Associate and Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  East Hartford, CTOctober 16, 2018
This job is great for those who are seeking flexability especially for those who are still in college that needs extra bucks in their pocket or for those who are in high school that likes to start of their job career!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
proactive and fun work place
OPERATIONS MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Riverhead, NYOctober 15, 2018
hardest part of the job is dealing with call outs. other than that its a good place to work. Upper management is always breathing down your neck about audits, however.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
all associates got along with each other. a good team to work with! a fun and safe environment to work in
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  ConnecticutOctober 15, 2018
within working here, it was always a good day at work. I always learned to be nice to the customer even if they act in a different way towards you. its a good place to work at.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace but with high turnover
Cash Office Associate / Front End Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Montague, NJOctober 15, 2018
This place of employment was enjoyable but the turnover rate of employess was high. I made a lot of good friends working here.
They worked with my schedule being that I was in college full time as well. The pay was not good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice co workers and quick paced work
Infield coordinator (Former Employee) –  Plainfield, INOctober 15, 2018
Not fair pay but simple work. Getting hours was difficult.managers were typically very helpful and nice and quick to help with training and any and all questions one might have.
Pros
Time went quick
Cons
Pay and hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
assistant managers are the fall people for upper management.
Assistant Store Manager - Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 15, 2018
Lots of stress for mid-Managers. You work nights and weekends. They promise you that you can move up to store Manager...It never happens as they tend to keep there top performers in the same job roll.

You are not allowed to think for yourself. Even when it comes to customer service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you can play the game you can do well
Internal Investigator (Current Employee) –  Greater NY areaOctober 15, 2018
This company is not about what you know or how effective you are at your core job responsibilities. If the right person likes you and you have the right supervisor you can go somewhere but no matter how good you are at your job if you do not have the right supervisor or the wrong person dislikes you no matter how well you do or who advocates for you your future is lost.
Pros
Great training, make your own schedule
Cons
Lack of advancement, increased work load without compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Merchandise coordinator (Former Employee) –  Muskegon, MIOctober 15, 2018
Loved working there. Great team oriented environment. Hours were good, pay was average. There was room for advancement and I was challenged daily in my positions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambitious, Dedicated work environment
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYOctober 14, 2018
Lively work place, with a lot of friendly inviting individuals. Family like surroundings with the familiar faces. Face paced surroundings with multi tasked abilities in various fields to advance work productivity in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at T.J. Maxx. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 5,307 reviews
51.7K
41.7K
31.3K
2345
1263

See reviews about

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture

Women's ratings

Powered by Fairygodboss

2.8Fairygodboss Score

75%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

75%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.