T.J. Maxx Employee Reviews

3.8
Overall rating
Based on 4,815 reviews
Ratings breakdown
51.6K
41.5K
31.2K
2312
1235
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 4,804 reviews matching the search See all 4,815 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a chill place to work depending on location
Stock room (Former Employee) –  Redlands, CAJuly 16, 2018
nice place to work,and decent pay. start off with minimum wage but quarterly raises/reviews that are fair. firmly believe in open door policy and breaks. only bad thing is the hours.
Pros
nice place to work
Cons
customers are kinda rude, and not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TJ Maxx
Jewelry Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kokomo, INJuly 15, 2018
A typical work day at Tj Maxx was helping customers strictly with jewelry sales, handbag sales, wallet sales, and hat and glove sales over the winter time. The hardest part of my job was not really understanding the basics of jewelry. The most enjoyable part of my job was interacting with customers and accomplishing tasks with my co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Retail associate (Former Employee) –  Hurst, TXJuly 15, 2018
I worked here for two and a half years. I loved most of it. I made good friends, most of the management and i got along, they are able to work with an employee for any reason. Was upset when I left, but relieved for a change. I went from part-time to full time jewelry associate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Merchandise Associate (Current Employee) –  Littleton, NHJuly 14, 2018
It’s a good place to work, but not full time. I work there currently and just tried to get more hours but they just spread them out and I get the same amount of hours. I will say thought the people that I work with are very kind and it’s easy to work with them.
Pros
Nice coworkers
Cons
Struggle for hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company Is changing
Assistant Store Manager - Operations (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCJuly 14, 2018
TJ MAXX used to be the most associate friendly retailer out there. They are now going the way of other retailers and expecting more but paying less, as in they do not give enough hours for all the things they think should be accomplished. They have decided to up inventory by 40% each of the last two years but made zero increase to hours needed for processing inventory nor have they expanded their already cramped buildings.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay for first job
Sales Associate and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJuly 14, 2018
Its a great first job, that is all I really have to say about that. Boss was cool but never seemed to be at work and the pay wasn't that great. My third Key manager was awesome if it wasn't for her I probably wouldn't of worked here.
Pros
Third Key Manager
Cons
Pay, environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Merchandise Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Salem, NHJuly 13, 2018
It’s great as a part time job, but when I was promoted to full time, I was given more responsibilities with a small pay increase. I feel like I wear too many hats without being paid accordingly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LAJuly 13, 2018
Nice environment and worked with my school schedule . Was good first job for a college student . Nice people araound and willingness to help when confused
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Pay is low
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tj max
Lead Sales Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAJuly 13, 2018
TJ Maxx . I worked in the kids department when I started and I was promoted to the junior department , it was very busy working there but I enjoyed to the 2 years I stayed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service, inventory, stocking of product
Retail Cashier (Former Employee) –  Clinton, CTJuly 13, 2018
Exceptional Customer Service
Retail inventory and stocking
Management hands on, team work
Most enjoyable part was the contact with customers and my co-workers
Pros
Customer Service
Cons
Pay scale low
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Markdowns Associate (Current Employee) –  Selinsgrove, PAJuly 12, 2018
Marking down clothing and merchandise to ensure customers are happy and to be engaged with the customers fully throughout the day while you are working to keep the vibe upbeat and happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to working very work-friendly coworkers
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJuly 12, 2018
My review of TJ Maxx would be a outstanding review, the management there is respectful and fair, and the co-workers there are very helpful and work as a team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The product and the work envirmoent.
Seasonal (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMJuly 12, 2018
All the staff members were friendly and helpful! They felt more like family then co-workers. Management was like the big sisters that understood and listened! I would love to be part of that team again.
Pros
Cash check at the store, weekly pay and awesome health benefits.
Cons
none that i can say or saw.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
TJ Maxx Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LAJuly 11, 2018
A great place to work. Great management that loves to promote within the company. The company tries to cross train everyone. Co-workers are fun part .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Keyholder/Customer Service Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Florence, SCJuly 11, 2018
Overall I had a great experience working for this company. There were quite a few advancement opportunities. Professional working environment. I had a great time here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work for tj maxx five year
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  620 6TH AVEJuly 11, 2018
I doing well but I have unknown physical promblem been on going for the past two year one day I have to be termiate because of my health but I love work with the public
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and slow paced place to work!
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Richmond, KYJuly 11, 2018
Management was so nice and friendly, the employee discount was very nice and it was such a great place to get to know people in your community and to explore just how much you enjoy working with the public.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Southern Pines, NCJuly 11, 2018
I love working at tjmaxx. Everyone is nice , very helpful and respectable. I honestly look forward to work since I’ve been out of school. I would recommend this job to anyone.
Pros
Food sometimes
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Annoying
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Jonesboro, ARJuly 11, 2018
I worked at TJ for 3 years, I loved it, it’s a very good/fun job. Easy and pays good. But, One manger in particular is why is quit. She was very trifling, fake, and rude.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Secaucus, NJJuly 11, 2018
Work fast & move on to the next project. Timeing is key to merchandising
Always make sure ur work place is clean for the customer. Customer service is key always say hello and smile be pleasant.
Providing great Customer service is a big part of retail.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at T.J. Maxx. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Women's ratings

2.8Fairygodboss Score

75%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

75%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss