Talbots Employee Reviews

Found 654 reviews matching the search See all 676 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Sales Associate/ Part Time (Former Employee) –  Livermore, CANovember 9, 2018
Focus is on the customer. Make a connection and her help her fine items she's looking for.

As a part time job, it was a good place to work. Received discounts on apparels.
Pros
Great people o work with
Cons
Being on your feet most of the day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work/life balance is a joke. Expectations for events is too high when not enough payroll is given to accomplish anything in those stores.
Store Manager/Assistant Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Tigard, ORNovember 2, 2018
Exhausting, culture for customers was the only plus to that job. Loved my clients and my staff. Still have friends that work there and are constantly exhausted and fed up.
Pros
Pay for managers
Cons
Payroll hours and expectations too high
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High quality womens clothing retailer
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Glendale, AZOctober 29, 2018
Talbots is a well known womens clothing retailer, that has been in business for many years. The shopping environment is well liked by different generations of women. They carry clothing, shoes, and accessories.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission oriented and fun workplace
CLIENT SPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  Deer Park, ILOctober 23, 2018
Talbots is driven by their commitment to provide classic contemporary wardrobe items for customers. They have extremely loyal customers who are willing to pay more for the quality of clothing that Talbots offers. Their mission is well known by everyone who works there. They offer incentives for the sales team to help stores reach their sales goals. Staff are expected to dress neatly in a casual business style and to be professional in all their dealings with customers and other team members. They encourage camaraderie among sales team members and a sense of fun.
Pros
Flexible work hours
Cons
Retail has a large turnover rate so staffing is sometimes an issue
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, Flexible Place to Work
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa County, ALOctober 21, 2018
I really enjoyed my time working at talbots. I Never had any complaints or issues. My co-workers were always friendly and welcoming. My manager was always flexible with my hours to help me balance work and school. 10/10 reccomend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLOctober 17, 2018
Good place to work a seasonal shift. Was only there for about a month so I can't really say that much about them. But enjoyed the store and people. Fun place to work during the holidays.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, VAOctober 12, 2018
The company is good with information and allowing you the time to complete tasks. I enjoyed the information being told early enough to plan. Also like the work life balance
Pros
great place to work
Cons
don't pay well
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun First Job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Livermore, CAOctober 8, 2018
Talbots was the most perfect first job not so fast paced because of the mature lady shopping within. The other great aspect is building your customer service skills.
Pros
Flexible Schedule
Cons
Weeknds
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment that lacks structure
Product Development (Former Employee) –  Hingham, MAOctober 6, 2018
Company lacks job security due to consistent quarterly lay offs over past few years. Job enjoyability will range from position to position. Health insurance options could be better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, great place to meet new people every day, love Talbots clothing
Sales Associate and Cashier (Current Employee) –  Market Square Plaza , Ocala FLOctober 4, 2018
Just a wonderful, fun place to work. There are no commission sales. Everyone works as a team.

The customers are pleased because all the employees are always so eager to help.

Our work load is always divided equally and everyone takes pride in their work and the way our store looks.

It's neat and tidy and all employees really know the talbots product.

Like I said it is really fun to go to work at talbots!
Pros
no commission sales, great discounts
Cons
wish pay was higher
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Moosic, PAOctober 4, 2018
I loved working at Talbots. The only reason I left was because I was looking for full time employment with more regular hours. Would recommend this job.
Pros
fun, working with customers
Cons
some very early and very late hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Returns
anonymous (Current Employee) –  Lakeville, MAOctober 2, 2018
This is for sure not the same company!! As to when I stared the company used to care about us.Raises every year on how we preformed after it got sold forget about raises.
health insurance is terrible goes up every year and no raises
if you are just looking for a job just to help out in your household great you have one. But to make it on your own not going to happen the pay is very low for the amount of work we do especially for the ones that actually work.
Pros
2/15 min breaks and 30 min lunch not paid just Fri extra 15 mins paid
Cons
health insurance and low pay no raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was ok
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Denville, NJSeptember 27, 2018
At the time management was not good at all. I would get sent home from time to time because store would be slow. The manager was very rude and not motivating.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Sale Associate (Former Employee) –  Orange, CTSeptember 23, 2018
I was an associate just for the season . i did not see any advance career wich i want to do..

Manager was very nice and tryed to do her job as much she could .
Pros
Na
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are not from brooks brothers don’t bother
Store Manager/Co-Manager (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXSeptember 22, 2018
Talbots lost a number of amazing associate due to poor upper management. The problem was the new management does not like to promote with in the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A results oriented company over people
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNSeptember 22, 2018
High end retail with a focus on customer service. High quality product and a desire to redesign their image to maintain themselves as a fashion leader.
Pros
Good discounts for employees
Cons
Work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff is pleasant to work with
Client Specialist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 16, 2018
The company has been around for a long time, but working there it feels like they want to reach the next generation of clients but not willing to take chances that could lose old clients. The company is for the company, and while client service is the most important part of working there, it often feels that no matter what you do as an employee, there is no benefit to to excell. Raises don’t seem to be part of their culture if you’re not in a management position.
Pros
Good health care options (you pay in), 401 available
Cons
Under staffed and over managed, no recognition financially of a job well done
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best retail experience I've had
Shipping/Receiving, Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Huntington, NYSeptember 13, 2018
Retail is retail, but Talbots caters to picky customers who want you to be their personal shopper so you get a lot of customer service experience and friendly interactions
Pros
coworkers
Cons
the hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding place to work
Co-Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 12, 2018
The enjoyment of knowing you helped someone leave the store looking and feeling their best because of the wardrobe you created together. They were dressed for success!
Pros
long lunches
Cons
not enough bonuses
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Talbots
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Bethesda, MDSeptember 7, 2018
Work was not hard. Very simple help customers and open boxes. The managers are pretty strict about everything. You would like the job if you enjoy being around all elderly ladies
Pros
Relaxed place to work
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Talbots. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 676 reviews
5205
4224
3150
266
131

See reviews about

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

2.4Personal Development

3.5Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight