Talbots Employee Reviews

3.8
Overall rating
Based on 620 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5198
4207
3135
253
127
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 601 reviews matching the search See all 620 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Client Sales Specialist (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCJune 17, 2018
Great place to work. Fantastic Store Manager!

The clients are nice deal with very loyal and easy to work with.

Flexible schedule and friendly atmosphere.
Pros
Great Place To Work
Cons
Pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great product but company not always friendly
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Rehoboth Beach, DEJune 16, 2018
Company sells a great product - always in fashion. Company not always on side of employees. Work and home life not a good fit in some stores. Upper management not always on same page as what is needed in the stores.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
highly operational environment
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaJune 13, 2018
Lovely culture and clients. Collaborative and team environment. Highly operational and multiple sale set ups. No room for advancement past the store manager level.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Springfield, PAJune 11, 2018
Very well managed, thorough training, friendly workplace environment. Learned a lot about customer service and providing the best service to valued customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
SALE ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Lake Charles, LAJune 4, 2018
having patience and customers goes hand an hand it was a pleasure to develop relationships with my customers management was great and the workplace was comfortable hardest part was having customers that could make there mind up abut what they wanted having patience with them took far in this job i learned alot
Pros
customers that could make there mind up abut what they wanted
Cons
discounts on clothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am enjoying it
Associate (Current Employee) –  Rehoboth, MAJune 3, 2018
I am enjoying Talbots, but it is very difficult to get pay that I believe that I deserve. I do have my degree however, unlike most of the other workers there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very comfortable workplace
Client Specialist (Current Employee) –  Montclair, NJMay 31, 2018
Since I was about 18 years old, I have been working at Talbots and enjoy every minute of it. I am now 23 years old and have been inspired to proceed with Marketing and Sales thanks to working at Talbots for many years. I have learned so much and obtained many skills that I will carry throughout my life.
Pros
Staff is like family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Manager Trainee (Former Employee) –  Metairie, LAMay 29, 2018
The manager I was under at the time was the worse. She constantly put people down, scheduled you to work when there wasn't much foot traffic in the store to make your selling goal.
Pros
Co-workers an customers, loved all of them.
Cons
Manager was the only-non-degree person working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They like to keep workers happy
Associate- Quality Control (Current Employee) –  Lakeville, MAMay 25, 2018
They usually have events and goals that keep the work nice and surprising. Although the work atmosphere is pretty dull if you don't make friends as you can barely have a conversation with anyone.
Pros
Pays well
Cons
lonely
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAMay 21, 2018
Typical day at talbots was slow in the morning and picked up during rush hour and weekends were busy especially Sunday. Learned more things on the management side, able to gain more experience leading. Management wasn't too supportive but training was not very good. Hardest part about working here was finding help to fit in with the culture of the job. The ladies were a lot older and were working to get out the house and have something to do. The staffing was short and it was hard to find help. I enjoyed working with the ladies and even still keep in contact with some of them till this day.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Pay and hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail
Key Holder/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Rome, GAMay 21, 2018
The clothes were easy to put together to provide outfit ideas for customers. The push to buy more clothes isn't outrageous and the environment can be as fun as you make it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Classy place to work
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Upper Arlington, OHMay 20, 2018
It was a wonderful place to work, and I highly enjoyed the people with which I worked. Another position came my way, and after almost 3 years there, I decided to try another place to advance my career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Vero Beach, FLMay 17, 2018
working at Talbots was very rewarding, helping customers find the right outfit, and working with the other associates was great, everyone helping out , giving their options. Sharing r
Tasks, working as a team
Pros
Discounts on the clothes
Cons
Holiday ...early times till late
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Maintenance Mechanic/Lead (Former Employee) –  Lakeville, MAMay 16, 2018
Always feel like family here. Different culture at talbots that makes you strive to be your best. Always allow for positive and negative input on all ideas
Pros
Great culture, great people
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Manager (Former Employee) –  TexasMay 15, 2018
A culture that focuses on the customer experience. The most enjoyable part of the job is the people that work in the stores and the customers that come in to engage with everyone.
Pros
Customers
Cons
Stores operational workload
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, challenging, exciting work place
District Manager (Former Employee) –  Midwest RegionMay 15, 2018
Talbots offers full and part time associates advancement opportunities and training. it is highly focused on customer service and ensuring the customer leaves happy.
All management is involved with the business and teams who are running stores, will take time to get everyone's opinions.
Teamwork is expected and leaders are very motivating through communication and also bonuses, in ways of extra clothing discounts, snacks sent to stores, etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and collaborative
Stockroom Clerk (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 10, 2018
Everyone understood their roles as well as other ways to help the store and brand. Everyone came from many different backgrounds and were familiar with each worker, customer, and style of clothing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Talbots was a great experience in that it gave me experience with the public.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Rome, GAMay 10, 2018
My experience at Talbots was nothing short of a fun time.
High-end retail is very personal with their clientele. My skills I obtained from being an Office Assistant helped me tremendously. We purchase most of our clients online orders for them personally, so they’re able to save shipping. We receive new product every month and are constantly processing inventory.
Pros
Multiple discounts on the clothing.
Cons
Not the field work that I’m interested in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic work environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAMay 8, 2018
Once a new GM was implemented, my store began to loose morale. GM created an environment where lying to achieve your goal was acceptable. Changes made that weren’t even followed by the company themselves.
Pros
Employee discount
Cons
No breaks, toxic management, no accountability
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor work environment attitude.
Customer support agent (Former Employee) –  Knoxville, TNMay 6, 2018
Overall, excellent training for customer support/research department position. Basic assistance for customer, but job duties were redundant and unchallenging. Poor management support of customer service associates.
Pros
Very clean breakroom.
Cons
Very depressing work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Talbots. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

2.5Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight