TAMKO Employee Reviews

Showing all 72 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
Controls Engineer II (Former Employee) –  Joplin, MOJanuary 12, 2019
Day to day activities includes meetings with vendors, working on Quotes, budgeting, electrical design, installation , programming, commissioning and Support.

work Culture within the team is great. Hardest part of the job is the traveling every other 2 weeks with limited time to commission and validate code changes.


Management is good until they don't have your back.
Pros
Opportunity to learn and work on multiple projects
Cons
Not so much Work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with strong values
Six Sigma Black Belt, Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Ennis, TXDecember 10, 2018
TAMKO is a private company with strong core values. Honesty and Integrity are the top values, and the company lives by those. They also hold their suppliers and customers to those same standards, so they really believe strongly in their values.
Pros
Good compensation, understanding bosses if you're in white-collar jobs
Cons
Vacation is lower than average, 401(k) match is a joke
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Away
Territory Manager/Sales (Former Employee) –  Anywhere, usaDecember 27, 2018
Stay away from this company. Team Tamko does not exist anymore. Company is going though layoffs even when you were doing a good job in the field. Management has a lot to desire. They preach good values, but deep down inside they don't exist. Very sad to see a good company has turned into a place you don't want to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hit and Miss
Warranty Services, Customer Loyalty (Former Employee) –  Joplin, MONovember 29, 2018
The management of your department makes or breaks the job satisfaction here. My manager in customer service was excellent. She invested time in each employee personally and made sure their quality of life was good.
My manager in warranty services was not the same way at all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Requires constant activity and involvement
Customer Fulfillment Specialist (Former Employee) –  Lamar, MOJanuary 9, 2019
A good place to work with good pay and benefits. Opportunities for extra-workplace activities and benefits.
There are many additional benefits such as awards and gifts.
Pros
Paid lunch and breaks
Cons
Confinement to jobsite
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be great not family oriented
Acting Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lamar, MOAugust 29, 2018
Was not bad place the front office people did not have any respect for production workers. They live normal lives running during working hours and hardly ever worked a full 40 hr week and took off when they wanted. Production workers have strict rules and punishment for such actions even when not needing protection.
Pros
Good pay and benefits
Cons
Short breaks, hot environment, more work with less people they like RIWF
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay
Production Team Member (Former Employee) –  Joplin, MOSeptember 13, 2018
This is a great place to work as far as pay and a company that will take care of employees. We often was served breakfast or lunch. Many times they made pancakes because we went another month with out OSHA incidents.
Pros
they take great care of employees for the most part
Cons
schedule changes so often its hard to plan time with your family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
some problems with management
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALOctober 29, 2018
load and unload trucks and rail cars, keep warehouse stocked and in order problems with amount of overtime working 7 days a week 12 hours a day problems with supervisor when trying to talk about work rules
Pros
good pay an benefits
Cons
no offtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Great Experience
Regional Territory Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 2, 2019
Excellent company to work for. Great team environment that promotes from within. Company forsters growth and and provides the education and the tools to succeed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Private
Operations and Materials Manager (Current Employee) –  Phillipsburg, KSSeptember 16, 2018
Standard privately owned manufacturer; information is hard to come by; pay is acceptable; bifurcated culture defers to Black Belts in all matters; lot of ex-military; relatively stable
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
Advancement, lack of information
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment!
Communications Intern (Former Employee) –  Joplin, MOJanuary 9, 2019
TAMKO was a fantastic place to work, the people are what makes it so amazing! There are a lot of opportunities for trainings and development. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont work here
Industrial Technician C (Former Employee) –  Joplin, MODecember 19, 2018
This place seems awesome in the beginning, but its only a matter of time before they throw you away for their benefit. This company only cares about their bottom line.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't understand the way management chooses the people they promote.
Cog in the Machine (Former Employee) –  Joplin, MOJune 20, 2018
It seems that people being promoted are related to a higher up or kiss rear ends very well. I had volunteered, asked for additional training, showed the hunger to achieve more, but it didn't make a difference. Eventually my spark and eager to learn and succeed was snuffed out because hiring managers wouldn't give me the time of day.
Pros
One of the highest pay rates for Joplin.
Cons
Hard to advance, get stuck in jobs that don't allow you to grow
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and stress
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 19, 2018
Good management and good company. Advancement is slow. Company culture was not great when I started there. Management has made a big push to change the culture of the plant.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Customer Loyalty Representative (Current Employee) –  Joplin, MOJune 13, 2018
This has been great for me and my family. Management is caring and supportive. Schedule was set, but exceptions could be made. The company works with me and my religion and required days off. I recommend working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Packaging Tech B (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 20, 2018
Was released unfarely, due to changes made by new GM. Very unorganized and unprofessionaly made changes to Production line. Had to retrain in a position I was in for 2 years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative Environment
ENGINEERING INTERN (Former Employee) –  Phillipsburg, KSJune 4, 2018
TAMKO was a very beneficial internship that presented me with a great learning experience and positive working environment. The employees were always willing to help out whenever needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive dirty work place
Forklift (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 13, 2018
Working at Tamko; I've had the opportunity to work in the production and the shipping side for a little while as a temp employee. We had a 12 hr. or more rotating shift. My first 2 weeks they had a manager that had been there for 12 years get a laceration in his hand from a machine. They had a high turnover rate. The jobs tasks weren't difficult if the machine would stay on, but their machine would break down quite a bit. When it broke down we had to hurry and clean the mess made from the asphalt and the fiberglass sheet and repair it as soon as possible; so the system wouldn't shut down. Due to the lack of personnel, co-workers would be relieved by other co-workers or a manager. some most days i would only get 15 minutes break in a 12 hr period because if a break in the line would occur everyone would have to come.i enjoyed the challenge of learning new things. What i liked least is when i had a question or an idea about a problem in the workplace that we never had time to talk or walk through it.
Pros
money and hours
Cons
They have too many managers giving orders against each other.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Weird corporate vibe.
Marketing Intern (Former Employee) –  Joplin, MOApril 19, 2018
Very close-quarters environment at the corporate office. Everyone is always breathing down your neck. You can't do anything without sending 150,000 beautifully worded and meticulously edited emails only to have an executive respond "OK".
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Upper Mangement dissions
Western District Waterproofing Manager (Former Employee) –  Joplin, MODecember 31, 2017
They lost focus of customer in the last 2 years.
Upper management thinks they need to know every move from employees and add to work load from micro management stand point which has interfered with the customers.
Tamko sucks you in then will not listen to the commen sense solutions.
Pros
benifits
Cons
work atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at TAMKO. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 72 reviews
518
424
318
26
16

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

1.8InHerSight Score

1.0Personal Development

1.5Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight