TANKNOLOGY Employee Reviews

3.5
Overall rating
Based on 24 reviews
Ratings breakdown
54
47
310
22
11
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 24 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They dont care
Field Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJuly 15, 2018
They will work you to death all over the country. You have to fend for yourself when it comes to lodging. Their corporate lodging list is a nightmare. Bed bug city.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of travel very hard work
Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMarch 20, 2018
not a bad place to work good benefits, the days are long lots of travel not home much but the per diem is nice. the job is very heavy lifting and lots of computer work after hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unique job
Testing Technician (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 29, 2018
Testing petroleum systems (gas stations) for environmental compliance. This includes product line testing, ust tank testing and line leak detector testing.
Pros
work from home
Cons
driving
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT Support Tech
IT Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 18, 2018
I'm very disheartened to actually write this as most of the people at this company are very pleasant to work with. I was hired as an IT Support Specialist with a basic job description such as the one that is posted now 3.5 years ago (it is now Jan 2018). At the time I needed a job very bad and didn't have room to negotiate on salary. I had over 15 years experience in the field at that time. I began showing them my skills in other areas hoping it would better the chances of me being "promoted" and given a better raise at my 90 day mark. I was wrong.. My extra abilities became expectations and at 90 days I didn't get a raise. I was doing network admin, sys admin, IT Specialist, and basic help desk things. I was a domain admin with a lot of responsibilities that were not originally in the job description. Based solely on that, this company is not one for rewarding hard work and going over and beyond. if you do, it will become expectation without reward. After over one year I received a raise but it was in two stages. Again over a year later I received another raise. In total I received two raises in 3.5 years. I was being paid entry level for not entry level expectation (30-35k a year). I set up and maintained servers Windows and Linux, worked with AD and group policy, solved network issues on the firewall and otherwise. I was expected to remain on call on my time off and through my lunch time. I was compensated for when I was actually ON a call, but not for the time I had to remain available. I brought systems in place to smooth workflow and ideas that have made the company more  more... productive all without bonuses or rewards. This position would be great for someone right out of high school, but they are probably looking more for someone with higher experience who will accept a low pay rate. I will say that they are family friendly and have hearts in that department unless it comes to salary. They have also placed a wanted ad before I gave my formal notice. I told someone in confidence about my plans before I was ready to give notice. So honesty and truth is not in their favor at all.  less
Pros
family friendly, open door (don't divulge too much info)
Cons
dishonest management, high expectations with low compensation, cannot retire on the 401k plan, no bonuses
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great long as your trainer likes you
Compliance Specialist (Former Employee) –  Suffolk, VAJanuary 9, 2018
Job was great aside from the time away from home. Can come across some people that make your job very hard to say the least. If hired, keep notes of EVERYTHING. Co workers aren’t to be remotely trusted.
Pros
Money
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pack your bags,never know where you are going
Senior Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 25, 2017
long days ,always away from home, OPS mgr. don`t care if you ever get home as long as you make them look good. Mostly a bunch of good Techs. that all get along. Work all day then have to drive hundreds of miles to the next town for the next days schedule. Plenty of work not enough help. If they would put forth the effort to take care of the Techs that they do in trying to catch you doing something wrong, it would go a long way in keeping good people.If you can work there then you can probably make it anywhere.QC will lie about you at times to justify their job.It would be a good job if they had more techs in each region, and practiced what they preached .One bright spot was getting to meet a lot of people .
Pros
work independently
Cons
Never home, Long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work heavy travel feels like being in the service
Environmental Compliance Technician (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 9, 2017
Enjoyed working with the company however the position is Stagnant and does not allow much for advancement. THe environment can be rough and the days long and hot or cold
Pros
Per Diem and lodging lots of travel
Cons
heavy driving time
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always something new
Shop Forman (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 23, 2017
This is a very rewarding place to work to test your ability to think and design tool to be used in the field. Great managers and Engineers to work around.
Pros
Get to learn new things everyday.
Cons
I don't have any cons.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company that cares
Assistant Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Mt. Laurel, NJMay 30, 2017
Filled with hard working people. Requires a lot of hard work but is rewarding. Small company. Day goes by fast if you work hard. Comes off as a small family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Mid-Atlantic petroleum technician (Former Employee) –  Mount Laurel, NJMarch 2, 2017
If you can deal and keep up with all the moving parts, this job is perfect. A lot of traveling and dealing with the elements but compensation is there for you to fully use. You're essentially your own boss with no micromanagement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love to travel so this was a fun experience.
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Elgin, ILFebruary 27, 2017
The company was very helpful and kind when i had obligations at home. They seem to take care of there employees well. I was only temporary and was hired that way, but they were wonderful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expansive
NW Regional Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 17, 2017
Tanknology offers coast-to-coast environmental compliance services to the petroleum industry. I appreciated the opportunity to contribute to the growing market for AST Inspection services.
Pros
Great Website & Marketing Collatoral, extensive service coverage area
Cons
Limited capacity to serve remote sites in Pacific NW.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tavering
Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 16, 2017
With this company I'm very enjoy working. it was the philosophy to get the job done as reasonable times and safe.
Traveling also make fun on the different place that I traveling between job site to job site.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of travel for little pay
Field Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 17, 2016
Away from family for weeks at a time- management doesn't care about your family. Little to no pay raises. My company truck had over 330,xxx miles on it and literally falling apart but they didn't care. Required me to be state certified and if something failed then it's on you and not the company. (You will be responsible for the fine.) corporate lodging card but expect to stay at run down motels. You pay all food expenses up front. Salary (exempt). Expect to drive for 8-11 hrs and still expected to be on site. You would make 2x as much if you were an hourly employee.

Great experience if you want a job in the petroleum industry.

Don't expect to be recognized for hard work- they don't care. Do the least amount of work as possible and get home. Often times I would work my butt off and work 4 hrs a day when I was working local.

If you like not seeing any co-workers and like talking to toothless Joe at the gas station- it's the job for you
Pros
Remote- no boss breathing down your neck
Cons
Low pay, gone all the time, insurance mediocre, no recognition
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
married to the job
Compliance Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXApril 4, 2016
you have to be the kind of guy who loves to work....and nothing else. travel is pretty extensive. I haven't been home during the week in 3 months
Pros
security
Cons
hours, travel, lack of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High work ethic and top service customer orientation
V.P. (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 5, 2015
Tanknology provides opportunities for growth and advancement. It is expected from employees high commitment and hard work and in turn Tanknology provides job security, advancement and great additional health/insurance/401K/Vacation benefits to its employees.
Good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 17Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
married to the job
worker (Former Employee) –  Elgin, ILJanuary 9, 2015
I once applied for this position and found out once I was hired that short time I was employed their I was in the Peoria area 1 time. Others were other states and they wanted you to work up to 14 hours and then spend another 3-4 hours for paperwork at your hotel before your next day which starts early. An employee told me that you have to be married to the job. Your gone sometimes 7 days a week, never knowing if your route will get you home to see your family.

Bottom line if you have a family, or have a life this job is not for you..
Pros
see different places
Cons
14+ hour days and under paid
Was this review helpful?Yes 52No 9Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with great co-workers
Service Technician (Current Employee) –  New MexicoJanuary 4, 2015
Being the only technician in New Mexico, I experience a lot of traveling between Arizona, Texas and New Mexico. My work days consists of little to no supervision which makes the work day challenging and rewarding at the same time.
Pros
challenging career
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 9Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good copany
Cathodic Protection Tester (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXSeptember 2, 2014
travel was very extensive too much at that time of my life now bring it on
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 16Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked independantly
Testing Technician (Former Employee) –  New England and New York stateJanuary 30, 2014
Worked at a different location almost every day and all jobs were not the same. Outside, sometimes the weather was a challenge. Almost never saw co-workers or management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 38No 8Report