Target Employee Reviews in Brooklyn, NY

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
half&half
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYNovember 27, 2017
My ETL is awesome. Constant feedback both good and bad, which is great. You always know where you stand and any improvements to make. Fellow employees are great too. Only one fellow TL is disruptive, but there are always one at every work place. Retail is what it is, always changing and trying to keep competitive in an online world. You never know if your big box store is going to close. Hours vary week to week, your benefits coverage depends on your average hours. If those drop consistently, then there goes your benefits
Pros
good benfits
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overnight
Backroom Team Member (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYNovember 18, 2017
I work at Brooklyn Junction store 2212 this place is trash. Day Side does what they want meanwhile overnight has to constantly do double work. We leave thee stockrooms clean only to come back to pure mess.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Good Company
Freight Associate (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYNovember 16, 2017
No attempt to balance work life . Waited 3 to 4 months to get a Saturday off for family reasons. Good place to work when it comes to people and the work getting done on a nightly basis
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good environment to work in.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYNovember 7, 2017
I enjoyed working at Target my co workers were friendly and so was the managers. Around holiday time gets so hectic and crazy over there it was a very frustrating time but i managed to get through it with my helpful team members.
Pros
discounts, knowing whats on sale.
Cons
longs hours on foot standing and dealing with disrespectful customers at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recommend as a starting job
Sales Associate (Full-time) (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYOctober 24, 2017
I recommend this job as a first job. The pay wasn't much but it also wasn't horrible, becaue I was young with no bills at the time. They are really good at customer service and I commend them for teaching me early on what great customer service looks like.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and very busy
Maintenance/Brand Attendant (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYOctober 23, 2017
a typical day at work for me is taking out the garbage, cleaning the bathrooms sweeping the isles mopping the isles running the bottle redemption area and help stocking items on the shelves
Pros
leaving early
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYOctober 21, 2017
Working for target is fun. Friendly team oriented company with a lot of different personalities. Great for college students and career building individuals.
Pros
advance options
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad expericence
Guest Service Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYOctober 16, 2017
Provide guidance and support to staff to perform their duties effectively
Exercised commonly-use concepts, practices and procedures within a particular field
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales rep
Sales Associate/ Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYOctober 12, 2017
you grow a lot of patience and you work at a fast paced , target didn't really teach me anything that i didn't already know my self, but it was a working progress i started off seasonal and became permanent
Pros
they had a lot of activities for the team members
Cons
managers and leaders took advantage of their powers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need more effective STL
Replenishment Executive Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYOctober 9, 2017
After thirteen years in two different stores I am starting to realize how much a difference an effective STL makes on that store. Working 9 pm- 9 am often times with no other ETL or TL could make or break the overall process.
Pros
salary
Cons
STL and LOG not having the understanding how to properly run a store
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and quiet
PRESENTATION TEAM MEMBER (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYOctober 3, 2017
I worked overnight, i mostly was stocking. While stocking, you wee allowed to listen to music from you electronic device and work alone or in a group.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Stock Associate (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYSeptember 19, 2017
I was a stocker at target taking the merchandise at the onsite warehouse restocking the selves management was cool was on peoples backs coworkers friendly orientated did'nt have and hard part on the job my most enjoyable moment on the job was it was laid back and when I work I work and love to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning experience
Human Resources Assistant (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYSeptember 19, 2017
Working with target has been a wonderful learning experience for me. while employed there I have had the ability to utilize and strengthen various skills of mine while also learning new things.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYSeptember 7, 2017
Work was fast pace.
People are nice.
customers are nice.
You work hard enough you get promoted
the discounts are really good
Shopping is easier and Management is good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool
Overnight Stocker (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYAugust 22, 2017
The job was ok. It's so easy to handle but hey it's kool I truly do not have much else to say about the place. Target will be what it is from then till now
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Logistics Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYAugust 14, 2017
This is a great job for anyone balancing school and work. After a while you out grow the job. Met a lot of great people at this job and learned a lot of lesson too.
Pros
flexibility
Cons
Can't do the same thing for a long time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright work enviorment
Overnight Stocker (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYAugust 8, 2017
typical work nights, clock in, unload the truck, stock the floor, take all merchandise to the back that's extra. What I've learned was that time is a huge factor, wasting it wasn't an option but sometimes that was the case here. The management team was alright. Sometimes seemed bothered by workers going up to them and asking for equipment or for another person to help in their section, also a lot a favoritism was obviously shown while working .Targets workplace culture was ok ..some people were quiet, some were loud and disruptive and some employees just did not work. Which all the undone work fell on the fast hard working people. At times team leads would have the employees who finished their work on time stay later than scheduled because the team lead was talking to the employee in that section for way to long that they weren't able to finish the task or who ever wasn't working didn't finish the job. The hardest part of the job to me was to be put in an area where they never place you in before or having to deal with heavy merchandise you can not even pick up. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the work get done and everyone doing their part.
Pros
long break
Cons
5% employee discount, tiny break room, mircowaves broken never changed would wait up to 45 mins to eat
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Team Member/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYAugust 4, 2017
Overall my time working at Target was a god experience. I was able to assist customers o find an item and I was on good terms with my co workers and manager. We also assisted with ringing items up and putting items back to their section/area
Pros
lunch beaks, cashier
Cons
Saying late until the whole department was in place
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very faced pace
Cart Attendant/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 31, 2017
its a good place to work just be prepared to work. its busy very demanding and sometimes stressful team leaders try to work with you. Hardest part of the job is cleaning the restroom.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced,but fun with the right staff
Store Team Member (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 28, 2017
Although the job did get stressful at times,when the right coworkers were there to help you out when times got tough,it could be an enjoyable job.I'd recommend working there
Pros
Free lunches on certain holidays
Cons
Managers with attitudes
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Target. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 27,272 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6