Target Employee Reviews in Chicago, IL

Found 452 reviews matching the search See all 35,901 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment good place to shop
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 2, 2018
Working for target was A good experience in also working with the public learning good customer service skills needed new people working well with others
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many people telling you waht to do...can't get your work done cause they are constantly pulling you from your job to do something else.
Apparel Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 31, 2018
can't get your work done, too many team leaders telling you what to do, constantly pulling you to do something else. can't finish what you originally started and you have about 10 task your doing at once.
Pros
good pay
Cons
too many cooks in the kitchen
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Target
Sales Associate/Barista (Former Employee) –  Chicago, IL 60643October 26, 2018
Target is also another good company to work. I enjoy my time with me. I learned a lot working with the company. Working with target is like a different culture from another it’s like a different environment from all the another stores and better quality
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Team floor member (Former Employee) –  Chicago , ILOctober 25, 2018
Target was a great job the bosses are friendly and fair
The work I was doing wasn’t overwhelming
So i was able to complete my task quickly to advance to the next object.
Pros
Disconts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for Students!
Express Member (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 18, 2018
Target is a great place to work if you are in school, or as a second job. The pace is pretty even, so you never feel like you have to rush to get everything done. All store managers and lower level managers are great people to work with and they never make you feel subordinate (in a negative way). They are always ready to help you out in any way necessary. Target is a great company to work for.
Pros
Free lunches (sometimes), fun coworkers
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company, hard work and low pay
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 15, 2018
A lot of standing on feet, constantly micromanaged, not fun and customer complaints constantly, glad to be done working there and will never go back, not even to shops
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simply and great
ETL Lead (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 14, 2018
A wonderful company to learn grow and give. I loved my venue with this company. Wonderful people and great leadership. I would do it all again! fantastic culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Target is okay job to work at
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 6, 2018
The Target i work at it was fun to work at my supervisor was awesome if i could work for Target again i would my manager was fair , The managers love talking about the FFF at the meetings at job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Backroom team member
Backroom Team Member (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 5, 2018
its a stressful place to work for poor management not enough workers to help out the company don't want to pay overtime also a lack of leadership the raises are very poor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very disappointing company
Team Member-Trainer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 19, 2018
This was one of my first jobs directly out of high school. I didn’t tend to work here for over eight years. So I went through a lot here and didn’t like the outcome.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Fair job advancements, Management, Staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
In Stocks/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 12, 2018
love working at target great work environment had lots of fun did a lot for their employees. i was in-stocks so i had a set scheduled from the hours of 6am til 230pm
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is not a long term job
Target Team Member (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 30, 2018
Target was a good job starting but it’s not room for moving up unless you have degrees behind your name. Target expects you to guess when they have bigger titles available. You only find out when they announce the person for the position
Pros
Early morning shifts
Cons
No advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love it
Starbucks Barista, Cashier, Pizza Hut Team Member (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 28, 2018
This was my favorite for being a first time job. I got 3 raises within a year and was being paid above minimum wage. I worked many hours. Took many overtimes. I was exhausted but the pay helped me at home. Unfortunately I had to leave because I was falling behind in high school.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Hours
Target Flow Team Member (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 28, 2018
Love the hours In early out early . Collect Freight Push it out To the peace And Go home Best job ever .... Great team work nice store Clean bathrooms.
Pros
2 15min Breaks 1 30min Break
Cons
Team Leads Too Disrespectful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Target was the best job for me
Target, Cashier (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 17, 2018
Target could not have been any better for me it was flexible with my school schedule they gave me fair hours it was nothing at all for me to complain about. I would truly love another opportunity to work at Target or something similar to it because I feel I've gained a great skill and was exposed to a range of more people.
Pros
They would sometimes bring in food to the break room for the team members
Cons
Breaks can be a little longer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nepotism at its finest
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 16, 2018
You can be the hardest worker there, but if you're anything but agreeable you won't get far, even with a degree. They would rather promote their friends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a place for the youth to work
Researcher/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 10, 2018
There was to much gossip and drama at that location and not enough positive leadership. Those in charge were showing favoritism to friends and tried to put all the hard work on the older employees
Pros
The discounts were the best part of that job
Cons
No proper leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eh
Style Consultant (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 10, 2018
When I first started working at target everything was good. I actually enjoyed it. Now they changed so many unecessary things, I dread coming to work. My “ETLs” don’t do anything and basically are LAZY. They don’t help out with anything at all, and it sucks how the STL can’t see that too. It must be nice not doing anything while getting salaried. I don’t see what their role is anymore when all the associates are basically responsible for everything now so definitely not worth it anymore for the pay Atleast.
Pros
10% discount, breaks, overtime during the holiday
Cons
Everything else!!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 7, 2018
greet the guest. work on the floor restock. count money and clean assist the guest with a return and help out in the starbucks cafe help drive target red cards
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Customer Service Provider (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 4, 2018
Nice place to work. I helped open a new store so I didnt get enough hours but it was nice. I wasnt able to get the schedule I wanted just yet before I left. They were a little intense about uniform also. Nice people to work with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Target. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 35,910 reviews
510.1K
411.8K
39.1K
22.9K
12K

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture

Women's ratings

3.1Fairygodboss Score

69%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

73%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss