Target Employee Reviews in Philadelphia, PA

Found 233 reviews matching the search See all 36,006 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could have been a Great Place to Work
Executive Team Leader for Human Resources (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAOctober 23, 2018
Target really could have been a great place to work. On a day to day as HR I was able to interact with and support a large team. I had the opportunity to motivate, develop fun events and community service initiatives as well as participate in fundraising opportunities.

What really made the biggest impact on my leaving was the work life balance. It was completely non-existent. They say when you're hired that you would be expected to work 10 hours a day (50 hours a week), but for the year I worked for Target more than 50% of the time my 10 hour work days exceeded 12. It's a bummer going into work at 7am and not being back home until after 8pm that night just to do it again the next day. Initiatives and business plans are always changing, giving Executives little time to really work towards and perfect the plans that were established only a month prior. When running orientations we tell the new TMs how Target values their well being and ensures that they are their best selves for the guest, but once someone comes to you with an issue or health concern, if you're not over your 90 day probationary period your SOL. That, and as Executives you'd be dammed if you had to call in sick for a day. Not only would you have no support with your work center but you would feel like you're days behind. Thank goodness I didn't have any kids because I would have never seen them.

A lot of the issues that existed may have been independant to the location I worked at, but many people in my experience left the company on store, district and regional levels while I was there. Tells you a lot
  more... about the company as a whole.  less
Pros
Team, Community Service, Compensation/Benefits
Cons
No work/life balance, Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Cashier / Manager (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAOctober 23, 2018
Cool but I wish that the management was better the managers have favoritism and are mean st times. Everything else is cool I loved it and great pay easy breezy customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Cashier ~ seasonal work (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PASeptember 15, 2018
It was a fun Christmas job. I don't do well with over night shifts, so the Thanksgiving night shift was hard.... Friendly coworkers. Helpful and nice bosses.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place and environment
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PASeptember 12, 2018
Target is a great company they provide you with everything you need to exceed and excel in their company and also life they really care for their employees
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people but poor compensation
Sale Floor Representative (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PASeptember 12, 2018
I really enjoy working for Target/Starbuck. I enjoy the work and the people I worked with, but the compensation for the amount of work does not balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Target
Manager (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PASeptember 6, 2018
Target was a great opportunity for growth, leadership, and independence. So for growth I went from a team member to a Supervisor. Leadership showed me how to take advantage of a situation or opportunity for the better. Lastly Target showed me independence with allowing me to oversee a great team and to learn with as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of my absolute favorite jobs
Target Team Member (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAAugust 15, 2018
I honestly loved the target that I worked at, it was fun, laid back but still knew how to do the job right, not very stressful and that is the kind of job i would love to have again. If i could go back to Target I would go back in a heart beat
Pros
Free snacks when on break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth it unless your out of school
Flo Team Member (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAAugust 14, 2018
Not worth trying to work there if you want to live on your own, no advancement. Not enough hours of work, have to work desperately hard to get a few extra hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Target is a great place to work for
Hardlines Team Member (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAAugust 1, 2018
Target has a great place for work and the time you need to get the job done by the end of week it also has a great vacation benefit program and Target has a discount for their employees
Pros
Pay rate is good for the work that you put in
Cons
The work is challenging but it could sometimes be easy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pays well but downhill from there
Executive Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJuly 31, 2018
The company pays very competitively, it gives regular raises to its exempt and non exempt team members. That is how you get stuck. Target does not care about well being or work life balance at all. Do not apply if you like holidays, you will not get to celebrate them for your time at this company as you are forced to work nearly everyone of them.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Living a life outside the company is difficult
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay Job
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJuly 30, 2018
You don’t want to be here for long, this should only be a temporary Job if you ever decide to work for target. This will be a good job for like college students .
Pros
Sometimes free lunch
Cons
Short Breaks, Very Demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Like the work environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJuly 24, 2018
Target is a great place to work. Have to have a good personality and attitude when dealing with customers. Your co-workers are usually nice and want to help out as much as possible and also the managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Revolving door of inexperienced managers
Senior Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJuly 20, 2018
Target typically hires its executives externally straight from college, resulting in inexperienced managers making decisions for long-term store employees. They are moved between positions they aren't trained for and between stores so often that no location can ever have a cohesive management team long enough to make effective change. Then they quit and move on to a better company because Target is not a great work environment for millenials. There are practically no perks that come with this job. If you want to take a weekend off you have to work an extra one. Long hours to complete some random set of tasks a district manager wants done by the end of the week, then there is no followup from them. Anyone who made it long enough is then managed out so they can hire a college intern to take the job for less pay. Not to mention they will dangle the prospect of a promotion in front of you for years to keep you motivated, while expecting you to repeatedly train the replacement for your manager who keeps quitting.
Pros
Met a lot of good people
Cons
Training for managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work. Loved it
Hardlines Team Member (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJuly 8, 2018
I liked it there a lot. Just a different boss would’ve been great for me and everybody that I worked with agree. Maybe same person different attitude.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Apparel Sales Team Member (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJuly 4, 2018
You can never have enough hours in a day when working at target. I love working fast paced jobs, that's why working at Target is perfect to me. You'll have the opportunity to be trained in multiple departments, that way you won't be doing only one thing. All the managers are really fun to work with because their personalities are
so different. They're very good at working around your availability. Great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An underpaid manager
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJuly 4, 2018
Leadership tends to look towards team members to lead others to success for the task at hand, while putting in little to no effort to ensure success. "Development" plans are never put in place to benefit the team member interested in moving up, but to make the LOD's day as easy as possible. They do not care about internal promotions, because if they did, the plethora of positions opening in other stores as well as our current locations would be filled by existing team members. Instead, they hire people 100% new to target, and have the team members train them to show you how to do your job. I cannot speak for Target as a company, but I can speak for Express format's career mentality.
Pros
40 hours a week
Cons
No internal promotions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eh
Cashier & Starbucks Team Member (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJune 30, 2018
Overtime is available for some positions but frowned upon heavily for others to the point of backlash, you receive decent pay and good breaks but the management is ultimately what makes you wanna stay or not and at the South Philly location they were terrible
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work.
Logistics Manager (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJune 28, 2018
A typical day at Target was intense depending on your department. I learned how to be more organized, manage my time better, and how to lead a very large team. Management always held meeting to ensure everyone was on the same page and following Target's Brand. Workplace culture was always clean except for the backroom where the compactor and bailer are. Cleanup crew would always leave their trash for someone else to throw away. The hardest part of the job was dealing with negative team members. The most enjoyable part of the job Target pays well.
Pros
Good Pay
Cons
Negative Team members
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment. Target gave me everything I needed to learn and grow, and from that earn multiple promotions.
Executive Team Leader of Logistics (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJune 12, 2018
I started working at Target as a cart attendant during highschool in 2003. I cross-trained on the Front End and Salesfloor. Eventually, I was given the opportunity to become a TPS, then promoted to Sr. TPS, and after graduating college, became an ETL-AP. My managers helped to groom me for these roles, and took time out of their busy schedules daily to sit down with me, for which I will always be extremely grateful. I left Target because the work/life balance of early morning ETL-LOG was not working for me. It was the hardest decision I have ever had to make. There were always unforeseen challenges that would arise, but the Team would pull together and we would get it done. From working at Target as a 17 year old until my late 20's, I learned how to be an adult, how to be responsible and reliable in the workplace, and all the ins and outs of retail.
Pros
Great people, great products and managers who genuinely care about your success.
Cons
Corporate expectations can be high, requiring experienced managers to lead the team and get the desired results.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast pace enviorment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJune 11, 2018
Target has taught me different areas in the store such as cashier/guest service, Customer service, price change, back room attendent, flexible fulfilment/ship to store, pog team, overnight/stocking. Target gives you the opportunity to grow and advance in any area. The are big on helping and showing guest how much they are appreciated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Target. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 36,012 reviews
510.1K
411.9K
39.1K
22.9K
12K

See reviews about

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

2.6Personal Development

3.6Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight