Target Employee Reviews

3.7
Overall rating
Based on 33,702 reviews
Ratings breakdown
59.5K
411.2K
38.5K
22.7K
11.8K
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 32,179 reviews matching the search See all 33,702 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Target
Flow Team Member (Current Employee) –  Battle Creek, MIAugust 16, 2018
I unload trucks and push merchandise to the floor. The team is a happy carefree group that works well together. Management is always willing to listen and take suggestions on how to improve the process.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wouldn't recommend it
Backroom Team Member (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CA 92503August 16, 2018
Bad management that makes bad decisions. Hours are cut or relocated on the regular. Vindictive supervisors. The only thing worth it is the people you work with.
Pros
Work around school or home schedule
Cons
Its retail
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier. Bagger. Pleasant environment.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Sarasota, FLAugust 16, 2018
I enjoyed the environment, the customers, the managers, and the products were fun to look at when I rung them up. They hire pretty decent people to work here .
Pros
Great employees and managers.
Cons
Short breaks. Tempting to spend more money working at this store.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and relaxed
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Heath, OHAugust 16, 2018
It was a more slow paced job but the people were great and friendly. More of an at your pace job experience but still there was a lot that needed to be done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly managed
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Sarasota, FLAugust 16, 2018
Management was extremely by the book and had no social skills no one ever answered any questions I had. Just all around rough place to work for. The discounts are cool though
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job, but little to no long term advancement
Pfresh Perishables Assistant (Former Employee) –  Whittier, CAAugust 16, 2018
In general, it's a great company to work for as a first job or part time job as they're flexible with schedules and time off and have a lot of benefits. At my store in particular there were a lot of culture and morale issues among the management team, but I don't believe that's the case at every store.
Pros
Ability to learn a lot of transferable skills, flexible schedule
Cons
Low pay for level of work, lack of upward mobility, management staff is lacking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Communicating with Customers
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Garden Grove, CA 92840August 16, 2018
A typical day for me would honestly be fairly easy scanning items and bagging wasn't too shabby but the only con about working cashier is I wasn't old enough to sell alcoholic beverages so i had to call a GSTL over to overwrite.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of my absolute favorite jobs
Target Team Member (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAAugust 15, 2018
I honestly loved the target that I worked at, it was fun, laid back but still knew how to do the job right, not very stressful and that is the kind of job i would love to have again. If i could go back to Target I would go back in a heart beat
Pros
Free snacks when on break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unpredictable
Logistics (Current Employee) –  Clovis, CAAugust 15, 2018
Not a consistent work environment. Only advantage is that scheduling can be flexible. With the new modernization of Target, I've had multiple guests tell me that the store was messy and reminded them of Walmart.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, but enjoyable
Cashier (Former Employee) –  South Portland, MEAugust 15, 2018
The management and most of the workers are young, from high school into (my guess) mid-thirties, which gives an atmosphere of youthful energy and fun among the staff. The customers are almost all pleasant, and Target encourages staff to be accommodating.

I was a temporary hire for the holiday season, but even at the busiest times, we didn't get frantic.
Pros
Pleasant atmosphere for workers and customers
Cons
Standing for the whole shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many pointers but not enough runners
Frozen Food Associate (Former Employee) –  Hawthorne, CA 90250August 15, 2018
Great Sales associate employees though there is a large disparity in work ethic/numbers when compared to other (higher) positions. Not very difficult tasks are given and if an individual tries their best, more than likely to succeed
Pros
employee discount
Cons
not enough discount
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing people to work alongside everyday
Senior Buyer (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNAugust 15, 2018
I learned retail from one of the best retailers. Started in inventory planning and worked my way up to merchandising. The fast paced world of retail is challenging and rewarding.
Pros
Talented people
Cons
Loss of culture of pride
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice break room
Logistics Flow Team Member (Current Employee) –  Orange, CAAugust 15, 2018
I work overnight and I still enjoy working for target . Occasional bring coffee and donuts and on special days bbq n the mornings . Target appreciates their employees
Pros
Good place to work at
Cons
Competitive hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Logistics Specialist (Current Employee) –  Marietta, GAAugust 15, 2018
When I first start working at Target I loved it. I loved my manager, the team, everything. Now there's new management, I'm not so sure that I want to work there anymore.
Pros
Can get hours during the seasons
Cons
Too much to list
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an alright experience
Cashier and Apparel & Accessories team member (Former Employee) –  Salem, NHAugust 15, 2018
Was ok but not a lot of hours. The workers were nice. Its a good job for beginners but they don't provide enough hours for one to get accustomed to the job
Pros
Friendly coworkers
Cons
Not alot of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Target
Sales Floor (Former Employee) –  West Chester, OHAugust 15, 2018
When working here, we were able to get the red card. This is something I suggest everyone get. Working with customers was beneficial to my overall growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Rogers, ARAugust 15, 2018
Awesome people, I wouldn’t ask for better people they help me through everything, every time I was asking questions those were answered immediately I learned a lot with them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast paced enviroment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Dublin, CAAugust 15, 2018
I loved my co workers and staff at target. They were all very friendly and helpful. While working there i was also going to school and the schedule was very flexible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, and Fun place of work.
Softlines Team Member (Former Employee) –  Burlington, NJAugust 15, 2018
Working as a softlines team member at Target, really helped me become a lot more confident in the work place. I had the opportunity to help so many people while shopping, and ensure the happiness of others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Apprentice Optician (Former Employee) –  Allen, TXAugust 15, 2018
I got along with all my coworkers. Everyone seemed really nice. This place is open 7 days a week. That is about the only downfall about working there for me being a single parent. If you’re able to work weekends then it’s totally fine.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Target. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Women's ratings

3.1Fairygodboss Score

69%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

50%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss