Tech Data Employee Reviews

Found 369 reviews matching the search See all 552 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Place
Loader, Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  South Bend, INAugust 13, 2018
I enjoyed working here but your 8hr shift is not what u will really do. You actually work 10+hrs and u are not told this until after you start. I worked there for over a year but I had no time with my children and wife so I started searching for something else and found a job with day hours and a $3 increase in pay so I left.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Experience with Tech Data
Senior PHP Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Clearwater, FLAugust 13, 2018
I was brought on as a contractor after moving to the area from out of state and was thoroughly unimpressed and disappointed with the lack of structure and competence in the management. There was no cohesion between Software Development "factions" or the business, there was no real training to speak of, no clear path or direction in which to take but a plethora of political maneuvering and a highly toxic company culture. I was very disappointed that the position I was hired for did not turn out to be at all as advertised. I knew things were going to go back when one Project Manager "intercepted" me as her direct report "on a whim" after 2 other new hires were to start on the same day, but never showed and I was alone. Later I discovered that there were initially 3 other people that we scheduled to start on 3 different dates but had either went back to their old jobs or had moved on to other positions due to being misled about their start dates. This occurred to me after weeks of discussion with my expected Supervisor just because she was favored the department head. Despite this, I still tried to make the best of what opportunity I had, though once my newly assigned PM asked me "Can't you just mix the dot Nets and the PHPs together?" I knew that I had very little chance of success. My contract was rescinded the same week I stuck up for myself and my professional integrity. This is not a great place for developers to work. I suggest that Tech Data outsource their development efforts to a more capable and competent B2B technology partner as they do with most other products.
Pros
Decent food in the cafeteria, albeit a bit expensive
Cons
Poor work space/shoddy equipment, No SDLC, Reliance on establishing personal connections with external departments, toxic culture, no collaboration/team structure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workspace
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXAugust 8, 2018
help you in any possiable but does not have air. An ok place to work but not long term even though some emolyees have been there for 20 years, Not to bad of a place
Pros
they provide lunch sometimes
Cons
no air
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Paced
Supervisor, Production Management (Current Employee) –  Groveport, OHAugust 6, 2018
High Paced environment, collaborative work with enablers, driven outcomes.

Management is engaged to ensure workplace morale and drive business goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing experience
Analyst III (Former Employee) –  Clearwater, FLAugust 3, 2018
Ofcourse experiences will vary depending on management and department in a company the size of Tech Data but for me it was a great experience. I started as an Analyst I and was promoted 3 times with substantial raises during my 4 years there. I was being "groomed" to take over the management of the dept at the time I left. It was a friendly, fun enjoyable company that made you feel a part of the big picture even though you were only a small cog in a fortune 500 company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Start Job
SOLUTIONS ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Clearwater, FLJuly 30, 2018
Large corporation that tries to engage with its employees as much as possible. I learned a lot of business skills from working at Tech Data. Very much cubical style work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Our employees leave to go to the competition
Logistics Center Employee (Current Employee) –  Fontana, CAJuly 28, 2018
High turnover, outdated systems and poor communication. They make it harder than it needs to be. If you're not in the "club", you're a mushroom. Too cheap on many levels.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good learning experience
Logistics intern (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJuly 24, 2018
Able to get an inside view of what DC centers are really like. The vast amount of areas I was able to learn about has greatly aided my professional development in the real world.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My co workers were wonderful not so much management they were very unorganized and lack leadership
Order Selector (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJuly 23, 2018
Very unfair with the workers will use you as much as they can then let go when they feel your no longer needed they have favoritism and you are required to do more work than what they explain to you what you’re job title is
Pros
Free lunch often
Cons
They do not care about the workers they will give you more responsibility than the position requires
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and challenging place to work
Maintenance Tech (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 20, 2018
Tech Data is a great place to work with good people who work there.
Every day there is a new challenge to keep things interesting. However, there is no room for advancement.
Pros
people, benefits
Cons
opportunity for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Credit Analyst TECH DATA (Former Employee) –  Clearwater, FLJuly 12, 2018
.....not a bad place to work. Management ok , but no training offered. Like the cafeteria. dont like people talking behind your back. work a little more than what you get paid
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Receiving Clerk (Current Employee) –  Fontana, CAJuly 8, 2018
I really enjoy working at Tech Data, however, I'm so tired of my schedule. My shift starts at 3:00 am every day and after two years I find it so difficult to get up in the morning
Pros
Get out of work early
Cons
My shift starts at 3:00 am
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TechData was a positive experience .
EDI Admin/ Production Support Analyst (Current Employee) –  Clearwater, FLJuly 3, 2018
TechData is a positive environment, My contract ended because there was no room in the budget to renew my contract. They initially do a 30 day contract to get the contractor in the door
Pros
Clean environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financial Analyst
Financial Analyst III (Former Employee) –  Clearwater, FLJuly 2, 2018
Great company but Corporate team leaders did not invest in people builder or growing skillsets outside of daily tasks. Hardest part of the job would be the long hours worked during quarter and year end close.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place overall
Senior Credit Analyst (Current Employee) –  Clearwater, FLJuly 2, 2018
Overall Tech Data Corp is a good company to work for however its not easy to get promoted within your Dept or to even move into another Dept and the health care costs have gone up a lot
Pros
Managers are very nice and knowledgeable
Cons
Healthcare is costly and short staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manger
SR SYSTEMS SUPPORT SPECIALIST (Current Employee) –  Broomfield, COJune 29, 2018
I enjoy working for the current management at Tech Data as they are involved and helpful in my day to day work. I wish I worked at the home office as I feel like that is limiting my advancement in the company.
Pros
Work Hours
Cons
Not at Corp Office
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start a career
IT Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Clearwater, FLJune 28, 2018
Tech Data goals and mission are sales, sales, sales. They could become great with very little efforts: educated management leadership, incentives to promote formal education, and IT infrastructure and software upgrades.
Pros
Nice coworkers
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good job place
Picker (Former Employee) –  Fontana, CAJune 24, 2018
Real good place to work . Only thing is you know when your goin in to work you just never know when your getting out .managers and staff are really good people to be around . Just dint like last minute overtime when I was ending my shift in 15 minutes .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't have any medical issues
Electronics Repair Technician (Former Employee) –  Obetz, OHJune 18, 2018
I developed a medical condition that required me to take longer lunches than normal, they were NOT flexible regarding this despite claiming to be flexible. I was let go as a result of basically almost working my a ss off.
Pros
Great place if you can stay healthy
Cons
No support from management regarding health issues
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at, some people complain a lot about how certain things are handled if you do your job your fine
Senior Associate (Current Employee) –  Swedesboro, NJJune 12, 2018
It’s very very VERY simple do your job and you won’t be fired. Don’t listen to these cry babies on here. Most ppl can’t handle the work. Which is was they complain don’t sign up for a warehouse job if your not ready to work
Pros
Mangers, equipment, and benefits
Cons
Nothing just do the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tech Data. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 552 reviews
5162
4180
3140
243
127

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

3.4InHerSight Score

3.5Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

3.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight