Tesoro Employee Reviews

Found 212 reviews matching the search See all 219 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience in Tesoro
QA Selenium Tester (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXOctober 16, 2018
Responsibilities:
• Working on Digital Workplace Project which has 300+ (MSI/APPV) Applications Packages
• Analyzing and writing the requirements for each application from SharePoint & prepared test cases in HP ALM
• Involve in executing manual test cases to verify each application working fine in our environment
• Entered Test Scenarios, Test Cases and Expected Results in HP ALM tool
• Updating test cases whenever new functionality gets added/changed in Digital Workplace Project
• Also worked on Limits of Authorities Project which has different TABS, Sections/Subsections page
• Write Limits of Authorities test cases in spreadsheet and import from MS Excel to HP ALM
• Performed Functional, Integration and System Testing on each applications package
• Identified bugs and interacted with QA Manager and Business Analyst to resolve the issues.
• Prepared the test summary report, involved in scenario preparation, execution of test cases and create Defect Logs and create defect reporting & tracking on HP ALM
• Identified Issues/defects and tracking them till closure and preparing status report
• Participated in weekly QA Team and QA Test meetings
• Prepared weekly status reports on Test case, execution, defects, etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It could be a good place to work
Gas Scheduling Analyst (Current Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UtahOctober 4, 2018
My experience has a lot to do with my immediate supervisor and that has been strained. I have a heart condition and auto-immune disorder and haven't been able to have a real break in the routine as we work in the office five days a week and on-call 24-7. Unable to work from home accept the weekends. Required flying to visit pipelines and customers doesn't work with a chronic illness.

This review may not be a fair assessment because of my condition which may be stressful at any place of employment.
Pros
working in the industry that is my career
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Girdwood, AKSeptember 2, 2018
I dont have anything nice to say about my experience working at Tesoro in Girdwood. It was almost impossible to achieve your daily chores while helping customers with their needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Loyalty Programs Supervisor (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXAugust 16, 2018
Overall highly recommend working at this company due to benefits and compensation. There was opportunity for training and career advancement. Management was engaged in overall satisfaction for direct reports.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 14, 2018
Working at Tesoro has been a wonderful experience. The culture is excellent and the people are great. The business is evolving to accommodate the oil and gas industry which at times gets a bit shaky but overall, good company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Such a Great Company
Assistant Site Manager (Former Employee) –  Ridgecrest, CAJuly 10, 2018
Everything about my experience with Tesoro was great. Their benefits and perks were excellent. Sad that I had to leave the company, would have loved the opportunity to stay with them. The are now Andeavor I am unfamiliar with any changes that has made. I hope very little as far as how they treat their employees. Please consider them if you are looking for employment. I am behind them 100 percent.
Pros
Competitive pay, Benefits, 401k, extensive perks.
Cons
Could have tried to find new positions in the company for site closures
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job done as expected and within the budget
QA/QC Module Manager (Former Employee) –  Aliso Viejo, CAJuly 8, 2018
It was a refinery upgrade, modular construction done as expected.
The plant is running and as far as I know without interruptions. Commissioning done and new projects waiting for permits.
Pros
Good salary and good infra structure to support us as expats in China and Philippines
Cons
No cons.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Fuel Center Manager (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJune 29, 2018
The set up for the center ws a nightmare the rool out did not go smooth and I was not able to hire my intial staff my self witch resulted in conflicts.
Pros
I was suted for the job
Cons
Health care
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible hours
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mayville, NDJune 25, 2018
it was a good place to work, just not good pay! I also had to work every night and every weekend. boss was really nice tho and so were the employees, this is all
Pros
flexible
Cons
no benefits or good pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Days
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  San Francisco Bay Area, CAJune 13, 2018
Days at work were easy, once you knew what was expected of you during your shift. Customer Service was a plus, stocking, cleaning, keeping the gas pumps clean, stocking receipt paper when needed. Basically, everyone got along...It was a fast pace working environment and great people to work with.
Pros
Steady work
Cons
No vacation until after a year of work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if you like to work with people this is the job
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Spokane, WAMay 20, 2018
working at a gas station and convenience store has its ups and downs the ups of the job are that your constantly busy and that can be both good and bad theirs always something to do i it be stocking product , ordering product and then the bad part is that someone is always coming in when you are doing something and you have to take care of the customer then go back to what you were doing if you dont like being interrupted then i wouldn't work here
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible for IT
IT Technician (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 12, 2018
Worked there for over 6 years. Plenty of opportunities intially, but changes in upper management saw these out-sourced and mismanagement led to extreme wasted funds.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a decent job.
Manager- did (Former Employee) –  North Logan, UTMarch 28, 2018
Tesoro was a decent place to work, but I am a single mother of two and managing it was difficult at times. The management was pretty fair. The pay was decent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didn't like this Job
CUSTOMER SERVICE ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Taylorsville, UTMarch 17, 2018
The management was not as good as it could have been there was no advancement opportunity it was also a lot of in your feet with no break there were no st break times
Pros
Free drinks
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fullerton, CAMarch 13, 2018
fast pace environment would recommend if still around worked graveyard hardest task was the cooler worst part was taking out the trash management always worked with you
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Safety (Former Employee) –  Martinez, CAMarch 1, 2018
They are a company with a lot of work games. You need to find the in crowd and stay there. IIt 's refinery, that is what you get. That is about it..
Pros
Lots of work
Cons
Lots of work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly corporate/political
Senior Associate (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TX 78259February 20, 2018
High amount of growth and total lack of focus on the state of the companies culture makes this place a gradual slide toward misery. Its not the worst place to be and with the right manager is not a bad place at all really. Sadly though, the company very much enables poor management and continuously advancing stress. Lastly, the corporate bonus has lowered by about 2 to 3% every year for the past 4 to 5 years.
Pros
Gym, Benefits, constant change and growth
Cons
Management, old school mentality and structure, constant stress, increasing hours, and shrinking bonus
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always busy, fast paced
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Wasilla, AKFebruary 9, 2018
Good place to work, full time hours every week, get to be outside working too. See all kinds of people, some friendly, some terrible. Always entertaining.
Pros
Paid breaks, full time hours, fast paced, get to work outside as well
Cons
Dealing with really rude customers, dramatic work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commercial Procurement Manager
Commercial Procurement Manager (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXFebruary 9, 2018
Managed both strategic and tactical service and material procurement activities including vendor sourcing, contract management and negotiations in order to yield the best customer solution with highest possible cost savings. Optimized internal customer relationships by providing superior service and managed strategic sourcing supplier relationships.
• Managed sourcing and procurement activities for all non-construction service and supply acquisitions for a new 618,000 square foot Class ‘A’ corporate campus building project over a two-year period yielding a cost savings of more than $17 million.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 11Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Convient gas station
Customer Service Agent (Current Employee) –  Girdwood, AKDecember 28, 2017
A typical day of work is, for the night crew, nothing but cleaning first, stocking second. Hardest part of the job is getting everything done. Most enjoyable part is the peace and quiet I get since few customers come there at that time of the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tesoro. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 219 reviews
568
478
349
213
111

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

3.0InHerSight Score

2.8Personal Development

2.9Career Opportunities

3.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight