Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts Employee Reviews

Showing all 13 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average place to work
Administrative Assistant IV (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 6, 2017
CPA is an average place to work. I would recommend it to a college grad trying to get on his/her feet. It is extremely hard to promote up, but gives create work experience. Pay is okay, but does not compensate for the high increase of cost of living every year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for the state is very rewarding and gives me an opportunity satisfy my need to help others.
Systems Analyst (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 26, 2017
You must have a servant's heart to work for the state. The pay is not based on performance, but more based on Legislative statutes. As a tax payer, I think it makes you more conscientious of your work and performing your best at all times.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would make a good career
Tax Audit Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXMay 18, 2017
Good benefits. Good work/life balance. Must be detail oriented and not afraid of oversight. Everything is fine when you do your work properly and timely and follow the rules. Very stressful at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The very best state agency
Desktop Administrator (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 8, 2017
the ability to work for home
retirement and accrued vacation and sick time
paid holidays and comp time earned
diverse culture
the highest paid state agency in Texas
Pros
covered parking
Cons
located in downtown Austin traffic problems
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Accounts Examiner II (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 19, 2016
Great place to work and advance depending on what division you work in! Great in raising money for charitable organizations
Pros
Great hours and opportunity for advancement
Cons
Short breaks/30 minute lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for a secure position
Cyber Security Analyst (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 26, 2016
Great place to work if you desire job security and work/life balance. Lots of holidays and easy to get time off. The management tends to be very stuck in their ways and change is hard to achieve.
Pros
Easy to work at
Cons
Actual challenges are hard to come by
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
.Net Software Developer Intern (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXSeptember 8, 2015
I worked their as an intern. I worked for a great group of people. Unfortunately it came to a close once I graduated with my bachelors degree. Work life balance is great and flexible schedule.
Pros
work life balance, decent compensation and great benefits
Cons
work can get repetitive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very great company to work for
Enforcement Officer (Former Employee) –  Odessa, TXAugust 27, 2014
management was an issue when i was employed here. Otherwise was a great job with great benefits.
Pros
great holidays, compensations and benefits
Cons
not a fan of field work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to start your career
Auditor II (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 15, 2013
Learned a lot about communicating with other effectively as well as being efficient.
Pros
holidays and flexible schedule
Cons
limited pay increases
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOVED my job there!!
Documentation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXFebruary 12, 2013
I loved my job at the Comptroller's office - I was a documentation specialist.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Budget Analyst (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXSeptember 17, 2012
If you want somewhere to go to for 40 years, work here. No upward mobility and no incentive to do a good job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding
Accounts Examiner I (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 29, 2012
This was a position that was very demanding. I fielded as many as 140 incoming/outbound calls per day.
Pros
lots of state holidays
Cons
very close supervision
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 13 reviews
58
44
31
20
10

Ratings by category

4.5Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

2.7InHerSight Score

2.7Personal Development

3.0Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts Reviews by Location