Texas Department of Criminal Justice Employee Reviews

Found 2,730 reviews matching the search See all 2,735 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Correctional Officer III (Former Employee) –  Beeville, TXJune 17, 2019
Recreation and showers were to be conducted during the day every day, as well as lunch and dinner. Any medical escorts were conducted and anything needed.
Pros
Good coworkers
Cons
Short breaks, short staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful Job, but helps to pat the bills.
Correctional Officer V (Former Employee) –  Rusk, TXJune 17, 2019
This job can be very stressful and overwhelming. It can be dangerous at times and very time consuming. It is very helpful to know your job and do it to the best of your ability.
Pros
It helps to pay the bills.
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Parole Officer II (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 16, 2019
Monitor Sex Offender insure they attend classes and programs set by policy. I have learn to be honest and direct with clients. Be professional and let management know your daily duties. At work be professional and positive. Dealing with difficult clients. Assisting client thru effect programs
Pros
Most of the employee are hard working professional
Cons
Management something will over work you in a limited time frame
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful at times but very stable job if its for you.
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Gatesville, TXJune 16, 2019
Could be a dangerous and stressful work environment. If you are fortunate to work with good supervisors, it's a blessing. It felt more like a family when you are on a good shift. Benefits are outstanding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Pay for Administrative Positions
Senior Warden's Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXJune 16, 2019
I love what I do, but I need more compensation. 90 percent of agency raises go to the correctional staff. Administrative staff's lack of raises is the motivating factor in my desire to leave.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent place to work
Correctional Officer V (Former Employee) –  Gatesville TxJune 16, 2019
A well structured work environment with the opportunity to advance at one own pace.The benefits alone are excellent.The work hours and consequential 4 days off were beneficial.The initial training & OJT were adequate
Pros
Salary and benefits
Cons
Not enough breaks giving at times and staff shortages created heavy workloads at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very, very, stressful hostile work environment.
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Dayton, TexasJune 14, 2019
It was all about the inmates, - - their needs, wants. The Correctional Officers came last, always. We were supervised through coercion and threats. Every single day, which we worked!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough environment not for everyone.
Captain (Former Employee) –  Gatesville, TXJune 12, 2019
Work experience changes from great to awful depending upon management and location. It can be both rewarding and dangerous at any given moment. Must keep head on swivel and stay in reasonable health. Provides needed but unappreciated service to society.
Pros
Job security
Cons
Hard mentally and physically
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over okay place to work
Parole Officer (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXJune 12, 2019
overall okay place to work, but did not get paid as much as I liked. Good people to work with but awful supervisor, supervisor was not professional and always threatened clients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tdcj has changed.
Lieutenant Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Reigion 3June 11, 2019
TDCJ is what you make out of it. The pay sucks and some units you are treated like a dog. If you’re not in the click or you’re not a favorite you left in the dirt . I left after 9 years was a high ranking supervisor but i was treated bad
Pros
You can take care of your family somewhat.
Cons
Supervisors, Huntsville, racist people, pay sucks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress job but benefits were worth it.
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Palestine, TXJune 11, 2019
The experience was stressful even for someone who worked there for 15 years. Supervisors make or break the shift. I would recommend this job for the pay and benefits.
Pros
Pay benefits
Cons
High stress environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place to work
Truck Driver/Delivery (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, TXJune 10, 2019
Was in prison, didn't get payed. Didn't didn't get time off. What I did get was a CDL and some experience under my belt. I've have flat bed, van, refer, and grain trailer experience.
Pros
food and a bed
Cons
no free time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot about security
Lieutenant of Correctional Officers (Current Employee) –  Gatesville, TXJune 10, 2019
I have had a great career with the Texas Department of Criminal Justice. I am leaving the agency due to needing a change after work for the company for twenty years but I would like to try something new.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative environment
Correctional Officer V (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXJune 9, 2019
Having to watch your back from other officers not only from inmates. they micro manage the staff instead of worrying about the inmates. Too much gossip and buddy systems going on.
Pros
free food
Cons
don't obey policies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
After leaving it was apparent that it was better than most places.
Captain of Security, Auditor and Compliance (Former Employee) –  Wynne, Ellis, Estelle, ClemensJune 7, 2019
I worked there for 23 years. Promoted up to the rank as Captain. Until that point there was always politics involved, but i never knew how much until that point. The higher up you get the less you tend to recognize the ones below you and the struggle they are still going thru. There are people in Admin positions that try to reach out because they see it. But in the end the struggle for the officers continues to be just that. I met the best people i have ever met there and wouldn't trade it for anything.
Pros
Great people, strength in human interaction verbal and physical
Cons
poor work conditions, lack of support from supervisors and administration at times become overwhelming, (not all the time) but too often it seems
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessionl and no strutcure
Cook (Current Employee) –  Lamesa, TXJune 7, 2019
Unprofessional when it comes to following chain of command. A lack of genuine integrity. Work areas not kept up to standards set by agency. I a whole the job is toxic.
Pros
Free meals
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Correctional Officer (Current Employee) –  Beeville, TXJune 7, 2019
It is a great place to work, everyone treats you like family. It is an environment where you have to be a team player, and communicate with your co workers in order to progress. Also , you can promote by been hardworking.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK If you like corrections
CORRECTIONAL OFFICER (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 7, 2019
OK If you like corrections.. mandatory overtime.. hated that part. hot in the summer and cold in the winter. some of the inmates are very vulgar. The staff was ok at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure Job, Brotherhood.
Correctional Officer III (Former Employee) –  Kenedy, TXJune 5, 2019
The rank was amazing and helped you stand your own and not crumble with thew offenders manipulation. Overasll an amazing scheduel 4 on 4 off but alot of overtime.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun job experience
Electrician (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 5, 2019
The job was very productive in upkeeping the prison maintenance work orders. The hardest part of the day was getting from point A to point B. Overall is a great work experience.
Pros
Flexible on time off
Cons
difficulty ordering parts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Texas Department of Criminal Justice. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 2,735 reviews
5726
4783
3741
2235
1250

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.1Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Texas Department of Criminal Justice.

Powered by Comparably