Texas Juvenile Justice Department Employee Reviews

Showing all 139 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Political
JCO1 (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXJuly 5, 2018
If you didn't know or kiss butt to your supervisor, you will not climb the ladder. Other staff too scared to speak up. Everybody pointing fingers at each other and not wanting to accept there own mistakes.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Too much gossip
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good employment experience
Crime Analyst-Background Investigator (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 22, 2018
No support from management
Work environment unhealthy and unsafe
No room for advancement unless you are a "chosen one"
Hostile work environment in most divisions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place takes a special type of person
Corrections Officer IV-V (Former Employee) –  Brownwood, TXMay 19, 2018
A typical day was watching youth and moving them to their daily activities for the day. Playing counselor between youth and staff at times. You will have to make sure you watch your back when it come to staff they will talk mess about you to youth which make for a long shift. I did enjoy working their helping the youth and knowing you may make a difference in someone life. I personally know I have some of the girls kept in touch with me when they were released. Some supervisors are great but then you have lazy superiors and staff that will throw you under the bus if you stand up to them. There are a lot of clicks with staff which is crazy because that is a kids thing I thought. Be prepared to restrain or cut a ligature off a kids neck in a moment of time.
Pros
Working with the youth
Cons
Management, no breaks, having to work 12 hrs shift because staff don't want to come to work, having to put your family on hold for this company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my job at TJJD
Regional Parole Supervisor (Former Employee) –  DFW, TXMay 16, 2018
State Employment was best for me. I began working for the state in 1989 and retired from the state in 2017. I began as a Parole Officer and was the Regional Manager when I retired in 2017.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and not supportive
Juvenile Correctional Officer IV (Former Employee) –  Giddings, TXApril 8, 2018
Not only do the youths stress you out but the staff as well. They're not very supportive, make assumptions and talk behind your back. This goes for administration and higher ranking officers as well. Youths also get away with a lot out there, while staff suffer from false allegations. Youths are not held accountable. If you are promoted, dont expect your Dorm Supervisor or JCO VI to help you out, you have to rely on other busy JCO's to help you learn your job. There are also a lot of call ins and other staff have to pick up the shift, and those who called in very rarely are held accountable. It's not worth all the stress you're put through.
Pros
Discounts, pay and healthcare
Cons
Not supportive, backstabbing, call ins, all of a sudden shifts, youths get away with a lot
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace culture
Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  Mart, TXMarch 12, 2018
Reduction in force should not be done for jobs but seniority should be given ore priority at positions. Feel other job could have been reduced in other areas but were not.
Pros
better than most place with people
Cons
unable to go up in career ladder
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Busy Busy
Juvenile Correction Office IV (Current Employee) –  Giddings, TXMarch 1, 2018
Changes on a daily basis never know what to expect. Very busy on a daily basis. Can be stressful but, it's what you make of it. Just do your job and go home.
Pros
Free lunches, great benefits
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Juvenile Justice Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Giddings, TXFebruary 12, 2018
Forced overtime and you have to stay. Working with convicted juveniles is not a job for the faint at heart. You must be strong physically and mentally to stay and make a career out of it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being a case manager was a new and enlightening experience.
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Edinburg, TXFebruary 10, 2018
I worked overtime and did work at home. I knew how to manage my time however the day before my promotion I was let go as with out due to having a "no show". I tried to fight it as the new schedule was sent out after I worked my 40 hours that thursday.
Pros
Working with juveniles/youth helped my learn patience and underlying issues.
Cons
Case managers did not get paid overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn't recommend it
Juvenile Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Brownwood, TXFebruary 5, 2018
The main issue is the other employees, the kids are troubled youth so that's expected. Stressful environment, decent pay, but the 12 hour shifts are ok. Family time is gone, personal life gets spread to everyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
High School Assistant Principal (Current Employee) –  Gainesville, TXFebruary 5, 2018
Great place to work. Real family atmosphere and truly dedicated to improving the live's of each youth in custody. The management is great and the staff truly believe in the mission of the department.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced, long hours, very stressfull, competitive pay
Juvenile Correctional Officer IV (Former Employee) –  Brownwood, TXJanuary 30, 2018
Served as a youth supervisor with responsibility for the safety, personal conduct, care, and rehabilitation of the youth. Assumed responsibility for the custody and care of youth through knowledge of and adherence to laws, rules, regulations, policies and standard operating procedures governing the Texas Juvenile Justice Department. Searched for contraband and provides security; counts, feeds, and supervises assigned youth in dormitories, classroom areas, and other areas; and performs security of various assigned areas. Provided custody and security of assigned youth including constantly observing actions of youth for prolonged periods. Performed "pat" and "strip" searches of youth. Physically restrained and secured sometimes assaultive youth. Transferred and transported youth, on foot and in vehicles and other forms of transportation. Reviewed, and properly applied information found in youth records that is related to the youth’s health and safety and to the security of the facility; provided appropriate information to other staff; complied with policies, procedures, rules, and regulations; and prepared and maintained records, forms, and reports. Received competency-based introductory training in various methodologies used in the residential and community service treatment programs. Provided youth supervision and implemented group and individual treatment plans. Maintained security in buildings, grounds, and other posts; intervened during emergencies or altercations to prevent escapes and gain physical control of youth. Supervised movement of youth inside and outside  more... the facility, and took periodic counts of youth. Supervised youth in a correctional facility in the performance of work activities and during recreational and religious activities, and conducted inspections for health and safety hazards. Interacted critically and constructively with other staff members to develop and implement successful treatment techniques. Developed effective, professional relationships with youth, co-workers, and treatment team members.  less
Pros
Competive pay and benefits
Cons
No breaks at all (lunch or otherwise), Management double standard
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Juvenile Correction Officer (Former Employee) –  Brownwood, TXJanuary 9, 2018
Seems like the only place in town that pays well and offers health insurance. Getting lock down and not getting off on time. Sucks because its basically the best place to work in this small town.
Pros
Free healthcare, 401K
Cons
Never sure you gonna get out on time, Lock downs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work - terrible "boys club" type style of management
Program Specialist II (Former Employee) –  Brownwood, TXJanuary 5, 2018
Save for one, the administrators of the Brownwood Facility were hard to work with on all fronts. Zero cooperation between central office departments and local facility administration at the highest level. Retaliation of some sort was typical for those whose spoke up and out against anything put forth by administration that wasn't in compliance with actual policy and procedure.
Pros
good pay for the area
Cons
extremely stressful work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very inconsistant
juvenile supervisor (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXJanuary 2, 2018
cutthroat, backstabbers, inconsistent,bossy,if you like to take orders and get written up for what your supervisor says, take this job.Do what is told and you"ll be wrong.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place for advancement
Sergeant - Criminal Investigations (Former Employee) –  All over TexasJanuary 1, 2018
Not a secure position. No pay increase in 4.5 years. Moved all over the state at a moments notice and new management does not care about the staff.
Pros
Good co-workers
Cons
New managers who are political in nature and don't care about staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfair
Juvenile Correction Officer III (Current Employee) –  Mart, TXDecember 9, 2017
The agency is not fair and consistent. There are times when management is unfair. The over all workplace culture and moral is low. The atmosphere can be unsafe.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment if you enjoy counseling youth
Juvenile Correction Officer IV (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, TXDecember 6, 2017
Gainesville State School has a culture that is what you make it. If you like working with the youth then you will have no problem with the job. If you are just there for a pay check or benefits then you will struggle daily with the stresses of the position. The extended work hours can quickly wear you out.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be aware at all times
Juvenile Correction Officer (Former Employee) –  Corsicana, TXDecember 5, 2017
I love working with children I really didnt know what i was getting into at the time of my employment honestly i cried everday as i drove to work.The Envioriment was stressful and challenging but i could not and would not give up on these children.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good compensation/benefits.
Human Resources Specialist II (Current Employee) –  Mart, TXDecember 4, 2017
TJJD pays well and has excellent benefits and retirement. There is room for advancement in some positions. Some positions require working a lot of overtime hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Texas Juvenile Justice Department. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 139 reviews
528
433
333
220
125

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
2.6Culture