Texas Roadhouse Employee Reviews

Found 4,654 reviews matching the search See all 4,695 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was fast paced
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Triadelphia, WVMarch 25, 2019
Even though the job was fast paced it made time go by fast and befor you knew it your shift was over and you were out the staff is friendly and management when i was there was pretty good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive and fun atmosphere
Server (Former Employee) –  Grand Island, NEMarch 25, 2019
Had many laughs with co workers, and management. Very clean business, customer care was a top priority. The only downfall for me was the hours during the week. They don't open till 4pm.
Pros
games to win prizes
Cons
high turn around
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but serious
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, NCMarch 25, 2019
I love the company but the pay for the host is not good and i think the servers were splitting the money unfairly. You had to be dressed and prepared before your shift. If you work an open shift then you would have to come in around 30 minutes early to put the mats out, put peanuts in the buckets on the tables, and make sure the restaurant looks ready to go before it open. if you would an closing shift then you would fold the kids menu's and put crayons in them while greeting guests and sitting them at a table. You had to know your table numbers in order to be by yourself and if a customer did not want to sit at the table you were told then you had to go to the host stand to tell the person who is on board.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great ideas, poor management.
Server (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXMarch 25, 2019
TXRH tried making work as fun as they can with nightly competitions with rewards to motivate their staff. During gift card season (holiday season), they give even better rewards for those that exceed in selling gift cards for the company.

The idea TXRH has is great but their managers ruin everything. Very unprofessional and they love drama. Matter of fact, they sometimes start the drama since they’re allowed to hang out with employees outside of work. They have an “open door policy” yet everything you tell them will go around the restaurant in less than a day. It’s like a mini high school and the managers are the mean girls. If you get on their bad side or they hear negative rumors about you from other servers you will get horrible sections (2 tables). Favoritism is also very popular here. They don’t have a standard policy everyone has to abide by. Basically, if they like you they’ll allow it. If they don’t, good luck! Lots of drama, talking behind backs, exposing secrets. Not a healthy work environment at all. It’s very negative and toxic.

I went on a website that has a checklist of toxic work environments and TXRH checked off on every box! Managers are bullies here. They have no respect for employees and will tell you straight up you are replaceable in the snap of a finger!
Pros
Discounts, good money, good food
Cons
Drama, unprofessional managers, lack of policy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
texas roadhouse
HOSTESS/TOGO SERVER (Former Employee) –  Christiansburg, VAMarch 24, 2019
It was good experience, i worked there for 2 years. happy atmosphere kitchen and front of house always organized. the togo service was only problem. togo did get out of hand.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job to improve skills. Very fast paced.
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Cedar Falls, IAMarch 24, 2019
I really enjoyed this job. Everyone works well with each other and are very friendly. It is always busy so time flies when you are at work. Tip shares were also very good.
Pros
discounted food, long breaks, nice people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun yet stressful
Hostess (Former Employee) –  New Hartford, NYMarch 24, 2019
Working at Texas Roadhouse was my favorite job I’ve ever had, you meet new people who become your best friends. Unfortunately, not all managers are professional. There was only two managers that cared about how you are and how everything is going. Every other managers is more worried about talking bad about employees to other employees, and then try to start problems with you for notifying the owner. A lot of drama between back and front of us. Owner believes only back of house employees, if you’re front of house he doesn’t care about you. Kitchen managers are very inappropriate. Love the job i did, loved most my coworkers and some managers, really dislike how it’s ran. Definitely reminds me of high school.
Pros
Make more than minimum wage after tip share, 30% discount on food
Cons
not many hours, lots of drama, managers that don’t care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place of employment
Server/Trainer (Former Employee) –  Owensboro, KYMarch 23, 2019
Always made good money, the Andy's outreach program is fantastic. fun, caring, and fast paced. The management are loving and very empathetic. Would work there again any time.
Pros
Good service
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My overall thought on Greeley Texas Roadhouse
Servers assistant/ Busser (Current Employee) –  Greeley, COMarch 23, 2019
The Texas roadhouse in Greeley,Co is a wonderful workplace for people looking for good coworkers. My role was to clean tables and assist Servers. The management staff is always there to help when you need them and i cant complain about the hours. more or less, its an overall great place to work.
Pros
Discounted food
Cons
Small drama
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced environment with friendly co-workers and a country-themed background
Server (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, OHMarch 22, 2019
Texas Roadhouse was a fun place to work as far as the people I got to work with. There were no consequences for people that stood around and didn't help with side-work so a few of the harder workers were constantly picking up the slack for those that didn't want to put in any extra effort. Manager chose favorites, not on a professional level, and those were the ones that were chosen for career advancements, such as bar-tending or training. It was always very busy and I did thrive on the fast-paced atmosphere. Talking to and getting to know the regular guests were the best part of my day. Uniforms were very comfortable to wear. The hardest part was taking care of all my guests needs while running food, making sure the restaurant was clean (i.e. picking up trash off the floor, taking piles of dishes off ledges and computer terminals), and doing running side-work that was meant to be the responsibility of 5 or 6 other servers, by myself. At the end of the day, it was a hard day's work that was very gratifying.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Line Cook/Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Springfield, OHMarch 22, 2019
fast paced fun place to work however business was very busy sometimes disorganized back of house low pay for volume and quality of food being produced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Server (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVMarch 22, 2019
i really loved working here, it was super fun and super busy. food was great . nice coworkers, mangers were cool and funny, i really did love working here, this was my favorite job, i would go back if i could,
Pros
good food 30%off busy fun
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The good and the bad vvvv
FOH member (Current Employee) –  Stroudsburg, PAMarch 21, 2019
Pros: Flexibility, good with their people, make decent money, and it’s a fun atmosphere all around.

Cons: No breaks, only open for dinner time, and no benefits or vacation unless you work full-time and have been there for over a year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Legendary
Server (Former Employee) –  Fairborn, OHMarch 20, 2019
Exciting and quick! I met many great people through Texas Roadhouse. They provide a fun atmosphere for workers and guest enjoy it as well. They make fun incentives each day to make you push harder for the sales, but not just for the store, for yourself and that I truly appreciate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast and fun place to work.
Server (Former Employee) –  Milton, FLMarch 20, 2019
TXRH is all about service with heart. They take their guests very seriously. It’s a very fast paced workplace. Employee discounts are given but not much more than that.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Dishwasher/Busser (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAMarch 20, 2019
This was a very busy restaurant everyday. It was always work to do and it was a friendly environment. The coworkers and management team were awesome and the customers also.
Pros
Free lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere with the ability to rise in the company but poor management at times
Hot Prep (Former Employee) –  Pooler GeorgiaMarch 19, 2019
Texas Roadhouse was a fantastic place to work but due to poor management it can be difficult to stay long term. Many opportunities are present to move up in the company if your willing to put up with long hours and hard work
Pros
Trainer Meals, promotion opportunities, clean environment
Cons
Long hours, lack of breaks, poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, and fun workplace
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Ames, IAMarch 19, 2019
Clock-in, start the job that you were schedule to do that day, clock-out. Each day was different depending on what task you were assigned that day. I learned how to help better my team work skills. The hardest part of the job was doing things at a very fast pace. The most enjoyable part of the job was the contests and the meeting and talking to new people everyday. Management was great they made sure you knew what you were doing and helped with any problems.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Texas Roadhouse
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Palm Bay, FLMarch 19, 2019
In costumer service you often deal with guests who are unbearable. Well when you add cheap steak in the mix it get even worse! Guests are the worst I've ever seen, managers generally don't have your back, and it is a very high volume stressful environment. Do not expect to be moved up if you start as a host, I worked for the company for 3 years with no advancement. GO in as a server, you'll actually make money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seemed nice
WAITER (Former Employee) –  Middletown, DEMarch 19, 2019
restaurant is nice and quiet somedays and packed others, management seemed rough or new, no benefits, enjoyed co workers while there, would recommend to others.
Pros
keep tips
Cons
dead end job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Texas Roadhouse. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 4,695 reviews
51.8K
41.5K
3934
2254
1191

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

2.6Personal Development

3.6Career Opportunities

2.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight