Texas State Technical College Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Instructor and Teaching Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXApril 2, 2018
Excellent people to work with, but poor upper management. Once a month pay is kind of hindering but ok once you get used to it. Little recogniton for going the extra mile.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waste of time
Diesel Instructor (Former Employee) –  Red Oak, TXMarch 25, 2018
Unless you thoroughly enjoy wiping the color brown off of your nose every second of every day, this place is terrible to work at. The fastest way to get a major promotion is learning how to breathe through your nose, requires very little knowledge or intellect, if any at all, and you must suck at teaching in the field you are supposed to be an expert of and TSTC will not fire you, but rather give you a position that requires a lot of education and respected degrees necessary because they do not like to fire those that suck at their field. I wish I could tell you that this review is just some frustrated employee passed over, but that is not the case here at all. Students are denied training, learning, and testing over any equipment within the last decade because certain head-sheds were wasting the college's money on frivolous items never needed. It gets much worse and all I can advise is do not waste your time, unless the first sentence is your personal life motto and choice.
Pros
Teaching students how to learn, know, and present their craft
Cons
Everything except the previous pro
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The BEST family orientation job!
Admissions Technician (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXFebruary 15, 2018
My manager/department was very understanding of life situations with children. Family is important within the entire campus.
A lot of events are family oriented, was able to work and bring my kids with me.
Pros
Alot of family events, great PTO, great benefits
Cons
Unlucky to have unprofessional management temporarily
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job with Work/Life Balance
Solutions Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Harlingen, TXJanuary 30, 2018
This is a good place for someone to work just out of college or that is looking to learn and grow.

There are not many opportunities for advancement but there are plenty of opportunities that allow their employees to attend college classes and help them grow. Whether it's for their current position, a future position, or personal enhancement.

The work/life balance is great. Mgmt believes that family comes first.
Pros
Medical/Dental coverage, time off during the holidays
Cons
Low pay, little career advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Student Worker (Current Employee) –  Harlingen, TXJanuary 22, 2018
Good place to go to always had something to do and your always on your feet. Best part is that its a great place to learn and to meet great people who will teach you the correct way to do things.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life
Avionics instructor (Current Employee) –  Waco, TXJanuary 10, 2018
Excellent work culture. Relationship with practically all employees and management is extremely friendly and cooperative. Very pleasant atmosphere. On campus recreation center with workout rooms and weights. Good cafeteria. Very good culinary arts program with working dining facilities and constantly changing menu.
Pros
reasonably priced on campus housing
Cons
work away from family
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviroment
Radiation Protection Instructor (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXNovember 30, 2017
Staff works well together. Workers would give you the shirt off their back. Students are a kick to work with. Students want to learn you will make a differences. Management committed to staff development.
Pros
Definitely a great experience
Cons
Hot Humid weather
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked to study at TSTC better than other schools
Mechatronics Technology Student (Current Employee) –  Harlingen, TXNovember 27, 2017
The attention by the professor is more personal and the pay attention to the students. I really recommend this school to people that I know, specially when they are looking for better opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Communications Officer (Current Employee) –  Harlingen, TX 78550November 22, 2017
Friendly
Great Customer Service
Educational Benefits
Health Benefits, Coworkers are very friendly, Everyone gets along very well with everyone. Students are very nice and understanding.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Dual Enrollment Student Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXNovember 16, 2017
I am not interested in discussing the privacy of the Texas state facility at this time. I believe it is very confidential and not appropriate for me to share the details.
Pros
Great environment
Cons
My job was temporary
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report

Want to know more about Texas State Technical College?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TSTC Employment
Academic Advisor, Upward Bound (Current Employee) –  Harlingen, TXNovember 9, 2017
Working at TSTC can be either fast paced or slow and relaxed depending the department that the person works under. Holidays, benefits and state employee discounts are provided.
Pros
holidays, benefits, state employee discounts
Cons
outdated buildings
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My tenure
DIRECTOR OF LIBRARY SERVICES (Former Employee) –  Marshall, TXOctober 11, 2017
i really enjoyed my time at TSTC. I wish I could return. TSTC has a good system for students who are not the traditional student. tstc has tapped into the community needs and resources and has formulated it inside the educational system.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and fun
Student Worker (Current Employee) –  Waco, TXOctober 6, 2017
Working as a student worker is fun. The annual campus events that are thrown are a blast. Although it is only a temporary job with no advancement. There is no latter to climb.
Pros
work experience, event enjoyment
Cons
time, pay wage, etc.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cafeteria
Cafeteria Worker (Former Employee) –  Harlingen, TXSeptember 13, 2017
Cafeteria server responsible for serving lunch to Students,Teacher's. cleaning up the cafeteria and preparing the kitchen.and the reason for leaving was my Graduation day.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organizational chaos
Instructor (Current Employee) –  Marshall, TXSeptember 8, 2017
TSTC is trying to change its culture and operating structure. Many of the expectations are unrealistic. People in executive positions make poor decisions and don't realize the trickle down effect their decisions have on faculty.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't Recommend -Not a good place to work
Instructor (Current Employee) –  Waco, TXAugust 30, 2017
I do not recommend. CEO is bad. All administrators are bad. Almost all the employees don't like their supervisor. They cut costs, when things are needed.
Pros
Teach students
Cons
so many, poor wage, awful supervisor, awful CEO
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good school
ELECTRICAL CONSTRUCTION STUDENT (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXAugust 16, 2017
I have never worked for Texas State Technichal College but this is where i went to school. And it was a really fun school with a cool rec center to hang out with a lot of activities to chooce from
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and casual workplace.
Internship (Current Employee) –  Red Oak, TXJuly 31, 2017
Was a short and fun work experience that was accompanied by minimal stress and good learning experiences. The hardest part would be moving the heavy equipment but other than that just fine.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The upper management and lower managment and over all office
Staff (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXJuly 17, 2017
Awful place to work unless you find a dept that has a professional ethical management. You have campuses that supervises other campuses and therefore workflow is not managed correctly. Lower mgmt. get by with longer lunches, working on outside interests, siding with co-workers. Co workers can be rude to students and get by with it and that should not be tolerated as that is not what TSTC stands for.
Pros
Great Health, Sick and Vac Retire Pkg- if you can last.
Cons
Poor Mangmt. they all need train.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Students are great
Lead Instructor (Former Employee) –  Waco, TXJuly 10, 2017
I loved this job. If the school could keep the politics out of the way that they deal with the students, this place would be THE premier technical training facility in the US. Learn to let your people be who they are and stop micro managing. Beleive in the strength of your faculty.
Pros
Making students succesful
Cons
Politics
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Texas State Technical College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 128 reviews
560
440
313
28
17

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.5

2.2Personal Development

2.5Career Opportunities

2.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight