Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 181 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative Work Environment
Senior Editor (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXJuly 18, 2018
Supervisors micromanage, are dishonest, and create an extremely negative environment. There is an incredible amount of time wasted in meetings that could be accomplished by email.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s ok.
Medical Technologist (Current Employee) –  Lubbock, TXJuly 14, 2018
My co-workers are nice, but one is chronically lazy and so the rest of us have to work harder to compensate. My boss knows this and I have told him how unfair it is, but nothing really changes. I’m just very tired of dealing with it. I have performed many things that are outside of my job description and I don’t get raises to recognize my hard work.
Pros
Able to organize my day, autonomy.
Cons
Time clock, unequal workloads
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Senior Medical Secretary (Current Employee) –  El Paso, TXJuly 12, 2018
Texas Tech University has great benefits. A typical day at TT is fast pace. The only negative is the fact the salary is low and you get paid bi-monthly.
Pros
Excellent Benefits
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productivity
Medical Secretary/Admin Asst. (Current Employee) –  El Paso, TXJuly 10, 2018
I enjoy working for the Pediatric dept. The productivity of each department, and the paperwork is time consuming and information is either duplicated or triplicated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All of the staff and supervisors are helpful in every thing you learn.
Senior Outreach Worker (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXJuly 8, 2018
I was very happy working at a Texas Tech even though it was a temporary job under a grant funding.
I learned a lot and enjoyed working with people that I helped get a free Breast Screening.
Pros
Good working Environment.
Cons
No complains
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Institution with Learning Opportunities
Coding & Reimbursement Specialist (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXJuly 6, 2018
The building of the new facility gave us a new office to ourselves but it was a cubicle environment so sometimes it was hard to concentrate when reading documentation.
Pros
Friendly people
Cons
Parking was far from building
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Lubbock Employer
Administrator (Current Employee) –  Lubbock, TXJuly 5, 2018
Not the perfect employer, but should be high consideration for anyone looking to work in the Lubbock area. Wide variety of positions, primarily healthcare/research/practice but many ancillary support services available as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pamio/cmi unit
Correctional LVN (Current Employee) –  Amarillo, TXJuly 3, 2018
Most of the time you just round and pass meds. The doctors treat you good. The inmates are locked up most of the time so your pretty safe. The teamwork is good.
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my co workers
Coding & Reimbursement Specialist (Current Employee) –  El Paso, TXJune 28, 2018
The people I work with are amazing. They are what makes it worth going to work. Management is great. In my job, we are responsible for coding and billing visits as well as following up and appealing any denials. We should be compensated more for all the different hats that we wear.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment with many employment opportunities
Patient Services Trainee (Current Employee) –  Lubbock, TXJune 24, 2018
TTUHSC is composed of many health care clinics, from family medicine to specialty clinics such as Ophthalmology, Dermatology, Radiology, etc. As a Patient Services Trainee, there is always something new to learn. The organization is proactive in keeping students, as well as faculty and staff, up to date with new information.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great institution, Depending on the department, management is biased.
Patient Services Specialist (Former Employee) –  TexasJune 5, 2018
Great benefits. PTO and medical benefits as well as retirement; it being a state institution. The management where I worked at was biased and dpended on gossip too much. Had there been a review and replacement of management, I would've continued to work there.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Pay/management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my coworkers but stressful working environment
Patient Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Odessa, TXJune 5, 2018
I worked in the busiest clinic at Tech so it was often stressful and the duties expected of you were never ending and constantly being added to although pay rarely/never increases.
Pros
paid vacation, free health insurance for employee
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opinion
DENTAL ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  TexasJune 4, 2018
A great place to work and the benefits were awesome! I would definitely work with TTHSC again, if given the chance! I have worked in dentistry for 20 years but I want the chance to work in mental health.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Patient Service Specialist III (Former Employee) –  Midland, TXMay 31, 2018
One of the best companies I have ever worked for. Supervisors were fair and helpful. Benefits and time off were above expectations. Great workplace environment .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a full time student, but not a good job for anyone else
IT Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXMay 30, 2018
Management sucked, communication was lacking severely. Job was too relaxed for my taste and although it was a relaxed job where a student could get classwork done, the pay days were not enough to even pay for my groceries.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn, management skills are questionable
Clinical Dietitian (Current Employee) –  El Paso, TXMay 27, 2018
Working with physicians is always an excellent way to learn. Management is questionable, however. Supervisors are not trained well in leadership; some have none, others are a bad example to lead.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Standardized Patient (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXMay 23, 2018
This is an amazing place to work. You get to experience what it is like to be a medical student. Teachers use you as a tool to help teach the future doctors of the world.
Pros
great pay super fun job
Cons
no advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to get work experience
Medical Assistant (Current Employee) –  TexasMay 23, 2018
I will refer people tocome work for texas tech i enjoy working for thia company i have overall grown in the medical field have workewith adults, and specialty clinics, and also with pediatrics general
Pros
good benefits
Cons
not enough pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not reviewing.
Senior Business Assistant (Current Employee) –  Lubbock, TXMay 21, 2018
I will not review this job....it is my experience that this always finds a way to get out and I will not lie nor will I say anything that might get back to
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ottimo posto di lavoro
ATTIVITA' DI VOLONTARIATO (Former Employee) –  TexasMay 16, 2018
Ottimo posto di lavoro, esperienza lavorativa ottima!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 181 reviews
574
455
332
213
17

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture