TGF Hair Salon Employee Reviews

Showing all 28 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive envvironment
Stylist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 12, 2018
active, fast pace
different styles, Technics, coloring etc.
management was great
workplace was multi-culture
slow pecks
doing before and after effect on a person stles of hair that makes them feel better
Pros
free snacks
Cons
No healthcare benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Stylist/ manager (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TXJuly 6, 2018
Great atmosphere along with many opportunities to expand career. Meeting a lot of great stylists and clients. A place to want to be. Management and. Or potato on offer stylisys a great deal from discounts to retirement. Do offer great benefits. Some days can be long and busy. Sometimes maybe understaffed. But overall exactly what you’d want to feel successful. Great being around different stylists to learn from and see amazing work they do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job out of beauty school
Stylist (Former Employee) –  Spring Branch, TXApril 9, 2018
Worked for Tgf for over a year as my first job out of beauty school.

Pros:
Great walk in traffic
Tips everyday
Clientele builds fast
Paid time off

Cons:
No advertisement (you are expected to advertise for them)
Sliding pay scale. (Meaning I would do over $2800 in service sales and only be paid $580 every 2 weeks for that work)
Unless you have kids you’ll be expected to close constantly like I did (which to be fair i didn’t mind but they couldn’t work around me asking for ONE day shift twice a month)
Paid time off was only an AVERAGE of what you worked a week (I averaged around 32 hours)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Stylist (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 4, 2018
I loved working here.. Management was receptive and helpful. I learned a lot and the environment was peaceful and relaxed. We had many chances for education in the salonl.
Pros
People
Cons
Not available
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management team not good
Manager/Stylist (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXSeptember 17, 2017
I got tired of the micro managing and management wouldn't allow me to full fill my job as a manager and was constantly cut throating me when it came to me running my team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working for TGF
Hair stylist (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 20, 2017
i love my job the manger is very accommodating. i have learned alot about hair colors and cut on all hair types.it is a very safe place to work at.the hardest part is working with trying get you clients to understanding you work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Stylist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 31, 2017
The Supervisors did not know how a salon works ,they were all about numbers .I know for a fact one of the area supervisors was stealing product from our salon.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it sucks
Hair Stylist/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  The Woodlands, TXFebruary 25, 2017
it was horrrrrrrrible within my first year I had two different managers which both were extremely unprofessional and two different supervisors.....
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to start off, not a great place to stay
Stylist/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 1, 2016
Work was hard and very competitive. We didnt really get send to and classes like I was told when hired! Management was always changing or quitting and it was ridiculous! I would not recommend to work here!
Pros
getting experience
Cons
not regular breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the ins and out of the company
HAIR STYLIST (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 16, 2015
This company is a great place to start out when getting right out of school. However, you only get out what you put into the experience; getting to know the company. The only downside is there is not a lot of advancing available.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
all types of clients
Manger Stylist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 22, 2015
this company had all different types peoples walking in and out the door. I was able to meet and greet everyone. this was a very fun place to work.
Pros
busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have gained experience in the hair salon.
Receptionist/Shampoo tech. (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 9, 2015
I have learned a lot about keeping your hair healthy. I have also learned about hair color and how to keep the color vibrant.
Pros
Free hair products.
Cons
not enough hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Receptionist
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 24, 2015
Daily bank deposit, Counting the teal, cleaning up after all haircuts, doing laundry, ordering supplies, greeting customer and scheduling appts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer services and productive
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 12, 2015
Most of handing customer services and introduce new product to new clients.
Discuss promotion each months and help a manager order supplies and products
Leaned interact between each other and been more patient in work
Everything in workplace is in order and organization.
Maintain goals in teamwork and support co-work
The hardest part of the job is when goals running put out of time, everybody must work hard and overtime to catch deadline
The most enjoyable part of the job is when the goal done
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned so much working as the receptionist
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Cypress, TXApril 15, 2015
I had recently just graduated from cosmetology school when i was hired as the receptionist for TGF Haircutters.Working at this salon taught me quite a bit, but the main thing it taught me was that I dont ever want to do hair. All I would hear is customers complaining abot their hair cut or color. The hair stylist were very good at what they did but they would never give the client what they asked for. So, because of all the unhappy clients I was the one who got yelled at because it was my job to charge them for the services weather they were happy with them or not. The manager would conviently have somewhere to go everytime that she saw a client was upset, so lucky me had to deal with it. I tell you this12 years later after working there so I dont know if its under new management or not. But I sill wont do hair because of it.
Pros
It was next to Wing Stop
Cons
Everything!!!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work customers are great
Styles (Current Employee) –  Orting, WAFebruary 27, 2015
My typical day at work is opening the shop making sure everything is ready to do hair when customers come in greet them and find out what kind of service they need then we do said service my co-works and i work as a team help each other in any way we can. My manger is great the hardest part of my job is when a client wants a hair style or hair color that we cant do the best part of my job is when we make someone who comes in filling not so happy with themselves and we take the little extra time on them and they walk out filling like a million bucks.
Pros
flexible work hours
Cons
no health care, no 401K no retirment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager
Manager (Current Employee) –  Texas City, TXSeptember 10, 2014
Computer
Ordering of Merchandise
Inventory (Bi-weekly cycle count and Inventory)
Timekeeping
Bookkeeping
Licensed Operator
Directs activities of staff.
Scheduling staff hours.
Salon Goal Setting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hair stylist
Hair Stylist (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXSeptember 1, 2014
fun and productive environment, great costumers and i enjoyed the whole job experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hair Salon Expereince
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 16, 2014
I worked here as a kid, it was stressful and lots of things to do, compensation was not great and you always had to work weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the people I worked with
Stylist (Former Employee) –  Leander, TXFebruary 1, 2014
They pay minimum wage, but the people I work with made the day wonderful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at TGF Hair Salon. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 28 reviews
56
47
38
25
12

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture