The Alternative Living Group Employee Reviews

Showing all 12 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack Ethics; Not compatible with 21 Century Business Standards.
Medicaid Service Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYJune 29, 2018
This company need progressive restructuring to come up to date with functioning as a serious advocate model for the disabled population and a leader in employee relations. An outside HR intervention organization is necessary to undo the corruption and employee abuse. I would not recommend ALG until it was appropriately corrected by authorities on all services provided. ALG struggles with boundaries and what is or is not appropriate for business.
Pros
Insurance
Cons
Poorly trained executives, managers, no lunch breaks, travel without company phone, violence, forced billing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Direct Support Professionals Role
Consumer Directed Serviced (Current Employee) –  Albany, NYJune 21, 2018
I think working here has it's benefits my ultimate role is serve a person with a disability to live a happy and full-filling life. Help to achieve the person's interests and personal goals.
Pros
Working with people
Cons
No breaks, paid time off, or vacations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part time job
DISABILITY SUPPORT WORKER (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYMay 23, 2018
I Loved working with the individuals at Alternative living group. The work was very family orientated. The pay was great and the hours were so flexible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better leadership
Assistant Residential Manager (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYMarch 9, 2018
This company is not focused on making sure the employees are provided with the proper guidance and direction to be successful. The individuals are not really benefiting from the company.
Pros
Free medical insurance
Cons
Lack of communication, no teamwork, overworked
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inspiring mission and wonderful company culture
Manager (Current Employee) –  Albany, NYJuly 24, 2017
I've worked at ALG for many years now and never cease to be amazed by the hard work the employees put into providing quality services to the individuals we serve. In addition, the agency truly cares about its employees. I would definitely recommend working for ALG.
Pros
Employee health and dental are free, lots of paid time off
Cons
Competitive field, have to be a fast paced worker and handle stress well
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job!
CSS Worker (Current Employee) –  Albany, NYJuly 7, 2017
This is a great pastime job! You are able to work with individuals that need your help. Such a rewarding job and workers at ALG are very nice and helpful!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home setting with clients
Direct Support Professional (DSP) (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYMarch 13, 2017
ALG works with individuals that require your assistance and guidance, it can be a great place to work, there are care plans to follow for each individual you care for, reading up on each of them is manditory and beneficial to your work tasks, the job provides you with all the training you will need, consistent hours and bi-weekly pay
Pros
Stable 35 - 40hrs Eating with the clients?
Cons
Not many
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment to work
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Albany, NYFebruary 3, 2017
I have been the assistant manager for the past six years ,I have great support from management and working with the individuals is very rewarding.
The main goal of the agency is to help the individuals we serve become more independent with they daily living.
Pros
Paid lunch break
Cons
Free health insurance for individual
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Care for the individuals I server (Current Employee) –  Albany, NYJuly 6, 2016
great place to attempt to grow and possibly build a stable career. I had a great time while working there and contemplate working there again all the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work/ team players
Developmental Therapy Aide (Former Employee) –  NYDecember 13, 2015
Fun, loving, and productive environment. Enjoy working with peers and residents. I learned that patience is a virtue and it pays off.
Pros
Trips with residents
Cons
mandatory ot
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
big turnover
Assistant Manager Residential Group Home (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYAugust 20, 2013
not sure where they find there employees much favoritism many lazy co-workers
Pros
great benefits
Cons
little pay crazy hrs crazy workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Alternative Living Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 12 reviews
54
41
33
21
13

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.0Culture

The Alternative Living Group Reviews by Location