The Animal Medical Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 15 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming place at first but once there awhile it gets really ghetto.
Floor Technician (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 6, 2019
Not a place to work very long. There's no growth or advancement. It's rumor fueled and catty amoungst the staff(general service Dept) co-workers go into the supervisor office and gossip about the fellow co-workers and that's how your judged not bassed off your work but what someone's opinion of you is to management. Very backstabbing and cutt-throat.
Pros
Free pizza from time to time
Cons
Healthcare, pay, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging
Veterinary Technician (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 23, 2018
Obtaining medical history and patient records; including anesthetic procedures, educating clients on immunization protocols and prevention, collecting samples for various laboratory analysis, analyzing cytologies, and monitoring patients while under anesthesia or hospitalization.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with the animals was great, great bosses
Head Veterinary Technician (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCJune 27, 2018
never a dull moment, fast paced and fulfilling. I learned animals are at the mercy of people and some animals have it better than some people do. I had two bosses, they both were very different but worked together great, great team work. The work place was quite cultural. The hardest part of the job of course was when we had to put one of patients to sleep due to illness or loss of quality of life, or when we would loose an animal we tried so hard to save, and the most enjoyable part of the job was when a sick animal would get well and be able to go home. Just taking care of the animals was very enjoyable for me and rewarding.
Pros
great staff, good hours, very rewarding
Cons
loosing lives some times, dealing with uncaring owners
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would be a great place to work
Communications Specialist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 10, 2018
This would be a great place to work but management doesn't care about the staff. Morale is very low across the company. Confidentiality does not exist there. Once you share any information with management, everyone will know.
Pros
Discounted pet care
Cons
Management hires friends and creates positions for them
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A hellhole Dont work here
Medical Records / Cashier Representative (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 21, 2017
The mgt is catty, petty ignorant.HR is in cahoots with them. miserable time for me. Keep mouth shut / stay to yourself. A very miserable time for me.
Pros
Pet discount
Cons
The job
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work horibble managment
Client Service Representative (Cashier) (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 30, 2017
Everyone is friendly and loves pets but everyone also moves in clicks, the managers don't get along, don't work the same, and give their workers attitude.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prejudice is rampant!!
medical records clerk (Current Employee) –  2nd floorNovember 24, 2015
These are my observation only; that is, that Animal Medical Center lacks in diversity especially amongst its support staff. Mostly the lack of diversity in race and age.
Pros
Nice place to work
Cons
Lack of diversity for race and age
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work with Animals
Receptionist/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Fort Oglethorpe, GANovember 1, 2015
Fun to work with Animals. Busy, Fast Paced Office. Busy phones. Long hours on weekends. Vet Technicians help with answering phones.
Pros
Animal care discounts
Cons
no human healthcare insurance benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated employees who love their work
Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 1, 2015
I absolutely love working at the AMC. Everyone is so smart and passionate about providing quality veterinary medicine. I really hope to continue growing professionally here.
Pros
Culture, People, Good Benefits
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Pharmacy Technician/Dispensary (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, NYAugust 30, 2014
learned a lot about various pets needs
what meds are good for what medical conditions
different food and allergy diets their are for pets
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Appointment scheduler/Cashier (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 7, 2014
coworkers were okay long job was boring. lack of respect for each other.
Pros
great health care good 401 k plan great pension
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great working place with wonderful people
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 17, 2014
A day at work would be sometimes quiet or busy. I learned how to perform janitorial duties using aseptic technique. Management was ok but it could have been better. my co workers were very good and helpful and we always worked great as a team to get our task done. There were really nothing hard about my job. The most enjoyable part of my job was coming to work everyday and being around wonderful people i work with.
Pros
easy job
Cons
no union
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 12Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average
Controller (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 5, 2013
It's a great hospital for animals. I have been here for nearly 8 years.
Pros
reduced pet care charges
Cons
no advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Senior Cashier (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 27, 2012
The center is nice to work if you love pets. customer service a must. like co-workers, but never call back to work again
Pros
see great pets!!!
Cons
they never returned your phone calls!!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Animal Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 15 reviews
54
42
34
21
14

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
2.7Compensation/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
2.3Management
2.8Culture